Exemplar Errant Seneschal

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Exemplar Errant Seneschal

Protectorate Exemplar Solo

Elevation to the rank of seneschal among the Exemplar Errants is no simple promotion. One of the superlative few chosen to command his brother knights must be a veteran of numerous missions on foreign soil. His most formidable asset may be his understanding of Menoth’s purpose for him on Caen. His brother Errants know he has a special duty, and so great is their belief in the Creator and their Seneschal that if the enemies of the Temple strike him down they will volunteer their own souls to take his place in Urcaen.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Exemplar Errant Seneschal
Missing Info
ExemplarErrantSeneschal.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR
MAT 8
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.
  • Call to Sacrifice [Exemplar Errants trooper] - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose a non-disabled friendly Exemplar Errants trooper model within 5" of this model to be destroyed. If another model is destroyed as a result of Call to Sacrifice, remove 1 damage point from this model.
  • Leadership [Exemplar Errants] - Friendly Exemplar Errants models in this model's command range gain Unyielding. (as below)
  • Unyielding - This model gains +2 ARM against melee damage rolls.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.

Weapons

  • Heavy Crossbow - 10" range, POW 10 ranged weapon.
  • Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon.
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions

Recent Changes

2018.07 Exemplar Errata

  • Decreased points by 1, changed Assault to Quick Work, added Pathfinder

Thoughts on Exemplar Errant Seneschal

Exemplar Errant Seneschal in a nutshell

The Exemplar Errant Seneschal is an elite Exemplar Errant that buffs all the Errants near him and essentially joins in their dodging damage mechanic thanks to his call to sacrifice. At 3pts he's now the Exemplar Interdiction equivalent of the Allegiant - a cheap scenario piece who contests or camps a flag and is hard to remove.

Combos & Synergies

  • Exemplar Errants gain Unyielding if he's nearby. Which makes them tough enough to brawl with most infantry although not to take a charge.
  • Exemplar Errants with unyielding and either Arcane Ward and especially Defender's Ward will make you fairly survivable and enemy must first hit DEF14 and then crack ARM20, both is manageble, but you can rely on dice rolls averaging out when couplet with classic Errant shenanigans.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model.
  • Anything that prevents healing prevents him surviving.
  • Doesn't help them to survive shooting. Even with Unyielding they will die fairly often to charges- get's really usefull with other specific buffs (see above)
  • Exemplar Warder Elias Gade can hog flags just as well and provides much better fire support.

Tricks & Tips

  • Keep the Seneschal near the middle of the Errants to spread the Unyielding.
  • He is slow for a combat solo - deploy him with the flags he's going to go after in mind.

Other

Trivia

Released in Warmachine: Protectorate of Menoth (April 2010)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Call to Sacrifice      (Edit)

  • This ability is optional.
  • This ability will be blocked by "anti-heal" effects (such as Grievous Wounds or Entropic Force).
  • This ability will not trigger if the model is disabled by damage rolls not coming from an ennemy attack (like Electro Leap, a continuous effect, or a friendly attack).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Leadership      (Edit)

  • If you have two Leaders handing out the same buff, then sometimes they stack (Bronzeback) and sometimes they don't (Exemplar Bastion). (Infernal Ruling)
  • See specific models for case-by-case clarifications.

Rules Clarification : Unyielding - None yet. (Edit)