Erebus

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
As of 2022.08 Warmachine University has turned into an archive for Mk3 rules (3rd Edition).
Refer to the Privateer Press website for all modern Mk4 (4th Edition) related content.

This site has been kept online for any players who want to continue using Mk3 rules and/or anyone who wants to compare Mk4 Legacy models to Mk3 models.
Privateer Press have an official wiki that covers all their main game systems, and my understanding is that Warmachine Mk4 will be on the PP wiki.

More information can be found on the Talk:Main Page area of this wiki.

Cryx Logo.jpg Erebus

Cryx Character Heavy Warjack

Mark IV Status: Prime - This model is available in one Prime Army, Dark Host. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

The lives Erebus has claimed leave the helljack steeped in the spiritual detritus of a thousand bloody deaths. Invisible to most, this spiritual effluvium envelops the machine, lashing out at those who strike its blackened carapace. No weapon of man can repel Erebus, any more than the sharpest steel can stop the inevitable slide into the grave.

Basic Info

Erebus
Missing Info
Erebus 2017.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 13
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Cold Imm symbol.jpg Immunity: Cold
  • Overtake - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic melee attack during its Combat Action, after the attack is resolved it can immediately advance up to 1".
  • Poltergeist - When an enemy model misses this model with an attack, immediately after the attack is resolved you can choose to push the enemy model d3" directly away from this model.
  • Bond [ Scaverous ] - If this model begins the game in Scaverous's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. When this model destroys a living enemy model while bonded to Scaverous and in his control range, Scaverous gains the destroyed model's soul token.

Weapons

Death Claw (x2)
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
1 6 16 1 each side

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Erebus

The 2011-2017 "Upgrade Kit" version of the sculpt

Erebus in a nutshell

Erebus is a Slayer with mainly defensive bonuses. Between an extra point of defense, an extra armour point Poltergeist, and immunity to cold-based stationary, enemies will almost always be boosting to hit or risking getting pushed out of range. The extra point of armor will make him surprisingly resilient since your opponent is going to use so many resources on ensuring that they hit.

Erebus loses the third attack from his headbutt however makes up for it by having auto-apply stationary (as opposed to critical stationary) for both of his attacks and 'Overtake'.

Combos & Synergies

Scaverous

Scaverous does not particularly care about his own character jack, and skips taking him as often as not.

  • The buffs that Scav can give a warjack (Knowledge of the Damned and Death Ward) are just as good on any other warjack; and Scaverous would often prefer Deathjack, Barathrum, or even a Asphyxious4-Toro to fulfil the role of "beatstick heavy".
  • Erebus is slightly pillow-fisted and Scav's only damage-fix is the costly Feast of Worms spell.
  • The soul hoovering from the Bond is nice, but doesn't ignore soul denial or soul proximity rules. In fact Scaverous needs to be the closest eligible model, not Erebus, which can make hoovering them up even more tricky.

Other casters

Other casters can use Erebus in the Black Industies theme, or if you run out-of-theme.

  • Lich Lord Venethrax can give Erebus Countercharge. If he manages to hit his target, he can unceremoniously end their activation.
  • Lich Lord Terminus can give Erebus Berserk via the Ravager spell. Combined with Erebus' Overtake The result is killing potential with no actual upper limit on how many troops you can kill, a very valuable tool particularly on Terminus' feat turn.
  • Skarre2 has Death Ward (same as Scaverous) and Black Spot which, in an ideal situation, would allow Erebus 10 attacks. 10 attacks combined with Overtake means he can realistically slaughter a unit of infantry. Lastly, Skarre's Future Sight ability increases Erebus' focus efficiency significantly.
  • Bane Witch Agathia can provide Erebus with Hellwrought, which make him harder to kill and gives him an-out-of-activation attack, which is particularly valuable given his auto-apply stationary.
  • Karchev & Deathjack - Unyielding, Full Throttle and with Abbatoir you can tag a model engaging you with stationary and then move away during Erebus's activation.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Erebus is somewhat pillowfisted. He has only 2 attack compared to a Slayer's 3 and no access to combo strike.
  • He is expensive for his combat ability.
  • He is harder to kill than a Slayer (and 30% more expensive), but he's still easy to kill.
  • Models with 2" reach could miss him, be affected by Poltergeist, and still be in range for another attack.

Tricks & Tips

  • The main things to do with Erebus are make him very hard to hit and threaten freezing free strikes; his offence is worse than a Slayer never mind a Seether.
  • Scaverous needs to be the closest eligible Soul Taker for the bond to work - it doesn't have the "regardless of proximity" clause.

Other

Trivia

  • Originally released in the Wrath expansion book (2011).
  • Erebus was originally sold as an "upgrade kit", which meant you needed to purchase the regular plastic Slayer model and then you attach the Erebus bitz to it.
    • As of 2017, he was repackaged in a new multi-jack kit that also includes the bits for a Slayer.
  • His name comes from the Greek god of Dusk or Nightfall. Interestingly, Erebus' daughter is named Hemera.

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deathjack2 - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack1 - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Blackbane's Ghost Raiders - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Ol' Grim - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Erebus's bond

  • Scaverous has to be the nearest eligible model to collect souls via Erebus's Bond. The Bond lacks the "regardless of proximity of other models" clause.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • If a model is somehow thrown at itself (which can happen with Durst1's feat) it would not move, it would be knocked down, and it would take a standard power attack damage roll but it would not take an additional die for colliding with itself. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Incorporeal vs Slammed/Thrown models ( Edit )
    • Incorporeal models cannot be moved by someone trying to slam them.
    • Slammed models can move through Incorporeal models.
      • If they have enough movement to get past them, no dramas.
      • If they land on them, you move the Incorporeal model out of the way as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
      • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (i.e. it's a flag) then you move the slammed model out of the way, also by the rule of Least Disturbance.
      • For the purposes of Collateral Damage, only the model(s) you contacted before you applied the rule of Least Disturbance count as contacted.
    • The same logic applies to Throws.
  • Collateral Damage
    • Collateral damage cannot be boosted and is not considered damage from an attack or model. Refer page 33 of the 2021.08 version of the rules pdf. As a result:
      • It doesn't trigger stuff that relies on being hit by an enemy (such as Shock Field) or damaged by an enemy (such as Vengeance).
      • It doesn't get bonus damage from stuff that adds to a model's damage roll (such as Signs & Portents or Prey).
      • It doesn't matter if the attacker has crippled weapon systems or aspects.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Freeze      (Edit)

  • Remember Stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the page on Stationary for a refresher.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter and/or Overtake     (Edit)

  • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
  • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
  • An important difference:
    • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
    • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
  • If you make a free strike during your Combat Action (for instance the enemy used a special rule to move during your Combat Action) you can trigger Overtake on that free strike. It still counts as being during your Combat Action. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Poltergeist      (Edit)

  • If the attack is out of range, Poltergeist is still triggered. This is because an out of range attack misses automatically, and an auto-miss is still a miss.
  • If a single attack misses multiple Poltergeists (for instance a Thresher), then you get to resolve the pushes in any order you choose (after the last thresher attack is resolved).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).