Initiate Tristan Durant

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Durant1)
Jump to: navigation, search

We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Initiate Tristan Durant
Protectorate Character Solo

Initiate Tristan Durant is quite young and far from mastery, his face still bare of the mask of authority worn by full priests and his warcaster armor an unfamiliar burden. Yet Tristan stands ready to lead his battlegroup in defense against any who threaten the faithful of Menoth. He is gifted with the ability to see beyond the physical and intends to relentlessly pursue those deemed heretics or blasphemers. Once this warrior of the creator locates his quarry, he will not hesitate to cleanse the battlefield of them with the might of his blessed warjacks and holy fire.

Basic Info[edit]

Initiate Tristan Durant
Initiate Tristan Durant
SPD 5
MAT 5
DEF 14
ARM 15
FOCUS 4
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Battle Staff - 2" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.

Abilities[edit]

  • Battlegroup Controller - This model is not a warcaster (it's a solo) but has the following warcaster special rules: Battlegroup Commander, Focus Manipulation, Power Field, and Spellcaster. This model must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup at the start of the game.
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.

Spells[edit]

  • Fortify - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
Target warjack in the caster's battlegroup gains +2 ARM and cannot be knocked down, pushed or moved by a slam. This immunity is also passed to friendly models B2B with the jack.
Does fire damage. Also, on a critical hit, it inflicts continuous fire


Thoughts on Initiate Tristan Durant[edit]

Initiate Tristan Durant in a nutshell[edit]

Initiate Tristan Durant is the Protectorate's mini-warcaster, able to control warjacks and give them focus. And one upkeep spell for extra armour.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Durant runs one to two jacks, always supported by the Choir of Menoth.

  • Vigilant because no one likes facing this guy with an ARM-buff.
  • Crusader - cheap heavy to load with Focus.
  • Redeemer - Durant can afford to give it the focus it wants.
  • Templar - Durant and a Templar under Fortify can happily sit on a Zone at ARM 23 and Immovable forcing your opponent to deal with them directly.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Big target with little defensive tech. And if you lose him, his warjacks go inert.
  • With the changes in mk3 making it much easier for warcasters to run large battlegroups, models that take warjacks outside of the caster's battlegroup need to bring something really nifty (to offset the points cost, the loss of battlegroup buff spells from the main warcaster, and the risk of the controller dying and leaving jacks autonomonous/inert). Tristan does not have anything particularly nifty.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • It can be tempting to B2B your fortified warjack for the ARM bonus, but be careful that doesn't lead you to being splattered by AOEs and or Electro-Leaps that target the warjack.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Original released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion book (2014)
  • A limited edition scuplt was released as part of the Warmchine: Tactics Kickstarter

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack
Elias Gade - Hand of Silence - Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Severius0 - Covenant
Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
    • Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is not a warcaster
  • Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
  • When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight      (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fortify      (Edit)

  • If an attack causes a push/throw/etc, it may still target a Fortified model. All damage and effects will still trigger as normal except the movement.
  • Place effects (such as Telekinesis) can still move Fortified models.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Immolation      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.