Dozer & Smigg

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1341 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
  • Dozer & Smigg

Trollblood Logo.jpg Dozer & Smigg

Trollblood Dire Troll Character Heavy Warbeast

Outfitted with a crudely rigged bombard salvaged from a Khadoran Destroyer, Dozer is an impossible fusion of nature’s fury and mechanical destruction. From his perch atop Dozer, Smigg operates the wildly inaccurate bombard with surprising effectiveness and is revered as an ace by other pygs. So spectacular are their battlefield rampages that other blitzers are inspired by their example and strive to make every attack count.

Basic Info

Dozer & Smigg
Missing Info
DozerAndSmigg.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 12
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS 10
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 17
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Bond [ Gunnbjorn ] - If this model begins the game in Gunnbjorn's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Gunnbjorn and in their control range, it gains boosted blast damage rolls.
  • Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per turn. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Regeneration [d3] - This model can be forced to remove d3 damage points once per activation. This model cannot use Regeneration during an activation it runs.
  • Snacking - When this model boxes a living model with a melee attack, it can choose to RFP the boxed model. When it does, this model can remove d3 damage points.

Weapons

Bombard
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
14 1 4 14
  • Arcing Fire - When attacking with this weapon, this model can ignore intervening models except those within 1" of the target.
  • High-Explosive - Blast damage caused by this weapon is POW 10.
Claw (×2)
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 3 15

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Lucky Shot

1 6 - - Turn No
Target friendly Faction model gains +2 to AOE ranged attack rolls. When the affected model's AOE ranged attacks deviate, you can reroll the direction and/or distance of the deviation. Each roll can be rerolled only once as a result of Lucky Shot. Lucky Shot lasts for one turn.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2019.12 Dynamic Update

  • Points drop to 17 (from 18)
  • The Bombard lost Inaccurate, effectively giving Smigg +4 RAT.
  • The Bombard gained High Explosive

Thoughts on Dozer & Smigg

Dozer & Smigg in a nutshell

Dozer & Smigg are a combined arms warbeast who also offer a support role while advancing and shooting into the enemy. They're effectively a variant of the Dire Troll Blitzer that trades in the Slugger for a Khador Destroyer's Bombard. This gives Dozer & Smigg a longer range, and potentially more damage to multiple targets if working with either iteration of Gunnbjorn.

It could also be argued that Dozer & Smigg are the hardest to kill troll heavy trading 4hp for +2 Def vs Mulg the Ancient. The two warbeasts do very different things, but if you are simply looking for a hard to kill anchor don’t dismiss this dynamic duo.

Combos & Synergies

  • Dire Troll Mauler, or Pyre Troll for the melee damage buff to let Dozer & Smigg fight more effectively.
  • Pyg Lookouts or solos in Kriel Company can provide an additional an additional +2 rat, bringing you to RAT 10, never hurts.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • 17 points makes Dozer & Smigg one of the most expensive warbeasts.
  • POW 15 fists are lightweight in melee against most heavy warjacks and warbeasts.
  • it’s difficult not to compare him to the Dire Troll Bomber who costs the same, has better offence at the cost of utility and defence. The bombers animus is also more widely appreciated. This leads to most people preferring double bombers with either version of Gunny, but there is something to be said for Dozer + Bomber.

Tricks & Tips

  • Considering he's got a bond with Gunnbjorn1, Dozer and Smigg can really benefit from the spells Gunny can throw at him and turn that bombard he carries into a threat. Under the effects of Snipe, Guided Fire and Lucky Shot and the aiming bonus you get a Rat 10 Rng 18 arcing fire AOE with boosted attack and boosted blast damage. Alternatively if he gets into melee and kill something, Gunny's Field Marshall Kill Shot allows him to shoot his bombard twice per turn.
  • Move in and use the dual attack to blow up Paingiver Beast Handlers, the Choir of Menoth, or other squishy support models.
  • You can declare a trample power attack and advance your SPD in inches +3 and then still shoot thanks to dual attack.
  • Cycle the animus from a Dire Troll Mauler, Pyre Troll, Slag Troll, or even Rök, to kill something in melee, then switch to Lucky Shot to blow something up far away.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Exigence (2014)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
  • If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Bulldoze      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

(A) People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
(B) Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.

Bulldoze - General

  • Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly, refer to the section on moving models, below.
  • You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
  • The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model bulldozes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
  • Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes full advances, runs, charges, and slams, but doesn't include stuff like Reposition or Energizer.
  • You can't make free strikes against models you Bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
  • Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
  • An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
  • If you contact a model you want to Bulldoze while overlapping another model or an obstacle, then you can "pause" on top of that other model/obstacle while resolving the Bulldoze, then continue your movement off the other model/obstacle. (Locked thread)


Bulldoze - Charges / Slams

  • If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane but it does not move far enough, you can't Bulldoze again. You will continue your charge, contact it again, and stop.
  • You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
    • Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
  • If you Bulldoze your charge target out of your melee range, this doesn't break the "once in your melee range the target must stay in your melee range" rule. Bulldoze is an exception. (Infernal Ruling)


Bulldoze - Moving the models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A. But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:

  1. Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
  2. If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
    • And in this situation, a model beside the pushed model is effectively behind it unless you're pushing at a perfect tangent.
  3. A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you fail a charge, then you do not get to make ranged attacks.
  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • Dual Attack doesn't let you mix initial attacks with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
    • You could theoretically make a special melee attack and then buy additional ranged attacks (or vice versa) ... but the core rules say "The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any" so the special attack would have to explicitly allow a swap - and I'm unaware of any that do so.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.

Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Snacking      (Edit)

  • You can use Snacking to RFP your target even if you're at full health. (Locked thread)
  • Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
    • Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
    • Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
    • Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
  • You can snack friendly models.
  • You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
  • If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcing Fire      (Edit)

  • Arcing Fire lets you ignore models but not terrain. You don't ignore clouds, forests or buildings.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : High-Explosive      (Edit)

  • Deadly Precision vs High Explosive (Edit)
    • The +2 POW from Deadly Precision would not apply to high explosive POW (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Artillerist and/or Lucky Shot and/or Spotter     (Edit)

  • This ability doesn't work on weapons with AOE (★) weapons (such as Old Witch2). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Roll both direction and distance before choosing which you want to reroll (if any), then reroll those.
    • This means that if you choose to re-roll only one die, and after re-rolling that one die you now want to re-roll the other die ... too bad.
    • (Mk2 2010 Infernal Ruling) which Dark Legacy confirmed in 2021 via Facebook (which I won't link to)
  • If you have two rerolls, you repeat the above process twice. Roll, choose which to re-roll (if any). If you still don't like the result, choose which ones to re-roll a second time. You can even change which one you re-roll.
Again, confirmed via Facebook (which I won't link to)