Doctor Alejandro Mosby

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1251 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Dawnguard Destors (1 year review) Dawnguard Destor Thane (1 year review) Defenders of Ios (1 year review) Bump in the Night (Casters)


CG Logo.png Doctor Alejandro Mosby

Crucible Guard Character Command Attachment - (Ranking Officer)

Doctor Alejandro Mosby is an alchemist obsessed with his work, foregoing all comforts in his latest efforts to unlock new discoveries. Mosby, who supports the Guard as head of its surgical division, has become obsessed with the effect of alchemical concoctions on the body, human or otherwise. Soldiers given to his care receive treatment with wary apprehension, as the man has a reputation as a dangerous lunatic. He views the battlefield as the ideal test bed for his latest creations, exposing his troops to all manner of combat stimulants without restriction. That a significant number of his mercenaries who survive the fighting subsequently expire does not deter the doctor in the slightest.

Basic Info

Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Missing Info
Morely.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 12
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Attachment [Small- or Medium-based Mercenary] - This model can be added to a small- or medium-based Mercenary unit.
  • Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Crucible Guard models instead of Mercenary models.

Abilities

  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Breather - This model does not suffer gas effects.
  • Field Work - Alejandro can use one of the following special rules at the start of his unit's activation. Each model in the unit gains the benefits listed while in formation.
    • Coagulum of Entropy - Affected models gain Immunity: Corrosion. When an affected model is hit by a melee attack, the attacking model suffers the continuous corrosion. Coagulum of Entropy lasts for one round.
    • Fortemorphic Elixir - Affected living models gain +2 STR and gain Overtake. Lasts for one round. (Overtake - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic melee attack during its Combat Action, after the attack is resolved it can immediately advance up to 1".)
    • The Good Stuff - Affected living models gain Tough and cannot become knocked down but suffer -1 to attack rolls. Lasts for one round.
  • Heal [d3+2] (★ Action) - Remove d3+2 damage from a living Faction model in B2B.
  • Revivifier (Minifeat) - Alejandro can use Revivifier only once per game at any time during his activation. While in Alejandro's CMD range, friendly Crucible Guard warrior models gain Tough. Additionally, they pass Tough checks on a 4+ (instead of a 5+). Revivifier last for one round.

Weapons

  • Combat Syringe - 0.5" reach, doesn't do a damage roll.
    • Anaesthesia - A living model damaged by this an attack from this weapon becomes stationary for one round.
    • Needle - Instead of suffering a damage roll, a living model hit by this weapon automatically suffers 1 damage point. This weapon cannot damage non-living models.

Theme Forces

As a Merc unit attachment, he can be in the theme that allows Merc units:

Thoughts on Doctor Alejandro Mosby

Doctor Alejandro Mosby in a nutshell

Doctor Alejandro Mosby is a ranking officer - a model who takes control of a unit of Mercenaries and makes them Crucible Guard while he's alive. He also gives that unit a little more "oomph" with his drugs.

There are three different reasons you'll include a Ranking Officer:

  1. You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from your CG caster onto a Mercenary unit.
  2. You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from a Mercenary unit onto your own forces.
  3. You want to include a Mercenary unit anyway, and they will get better with the drugs.

Combos & Synergies

  • Steelhead Halberdiers - cheap enough, Tough helps with delivery/jamming, +2 STR means they hit at POW13 while charging. Syvestro's Transmutation pushes their STR even higher and DEF to above average.
  • Horgenhold Forge Guard - weaponmasters love STR buffs and with other CG (de)buffs they can hit extremely hard.
  • Press Gangers - Advance Deployment is great, bonus STR and CG (de)buffs let them hit reasonably hard and overtake facilitates usage of Gang. Shanghai is situationally useful for RFP and recursion.
  • Greygore Boomhowler & Co. - premiere jamming unit with no-KD 4+ tough.
  • Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr - Lukas' best buddies and one of the cheapest ways how to bring Mosby. With Syvestro, Morely and Lynus can heal Revived heavy infantry. Beware RFP as it's their only strength in comparison to the units above.
  • Thorn Gun Mages - don't benefit from Mosby's melee buffs, but let him hang out in the back, which can be useful for Lukas.
  • Horgenhold Artillery Corps - the same as Thorn Gun Mages.
  • Herne & Jonne - Artillerist for all your AOE needs. They also of course love CG buffs and debuffs. A Scattershot buffed by Artillerist and e.g. Hot-Shot against a rusted target's got to hurt.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • With no defensive mechanism outside of Tough, Mosby is easy to kill and without him melee units lose a lot of their oomph.

Tricks & Tips

  • His mini-feat applies to all friendly faction models within 7" of Mosby, not only his unit.

Other

Trivia

"Excuse me, I...mustache you a question."
  • Released with the Faction release (2018.06)
  • PP originally called the model Doctor Adolpheus Morely but he was renamed in 2018.11 and given new artwork.
    Why, you ask? There was a bit of scandal about references to Hitler: his original artwork had a shadow that looked suspiciously like a Hitler mustache, his name contained "Adolph", and lastly "Dr Morely" is similar to "Dr Morell" (who was Hitler's personal physician).
    PP denied any intentional correlation.

Other Crucible Guard models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Baldwin - Locke - Lukas - Mackay - Syvestro

Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos

CG Mechanik - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - Prospero - Rocketman Ace - Trancer

Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Anaesthesia      (Edit)

  • Remember Stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the page on Stationary for a refresher.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Needle      (Edit)

  • Although it can't damage non-living models, the weapon can still hit them and thus let you apply on-hit effects (like Agathon's Dark Banishment).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Ranking Officer      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

    • General
      • If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
        For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
      • A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly Faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
      • You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
      • You can't add a Ranking Officer to a unit that already acts as a Partisan for your Faction.
    • Gaining abilities
      • The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Cylena1 giving her unit Hunter).
      • Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
        This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
      • If you add a RO to a unit with Ambush, the RO can Ambush too. (Locked thread)
    • Ranking Officer death
      • The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly-Faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
      • The merc unit will keep any friendly-Faction spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
      • If the merc unit is supplying a buff to 'friendly-Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap Factions' too.
        For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same Faction as her, not whatever was friendly-Faction at the time she cast it. (Infernal Ruling)
      • If the Merc unit got a Faction-specific theme benefit (such as Cygnar models getting Immmunity Electricity in Storm Division) then they keep that benefit even after the Ranking Officer dies. (Infernal Ruling)
    • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
      • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
      • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

    • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
    • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
      • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
      • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
        For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
      • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
        Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
        But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
        Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

    • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
    • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
    • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

    Rules Clarification : Breather - None yet. (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Field Work      (Edit)

    • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
      • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
      1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
      2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
        • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
        • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
      3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
      4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
      6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
        (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
      7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
      8. Units: See below.

      • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
      • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

      Units with "Any Time" abilities
      • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
      • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
        Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • So, for example:
        • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Coagulum of Entropy      (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Corrosion      (Edit)

    • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Fortemorphic Elixir      (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter and/or Overtake     (Edit)

    • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
    • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
    • An important difference:
      • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
      • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : The Good Stuff      (Edit)
    Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Heal and/or First Aid     (Edit)

    • This ability doesn't target, so you can use it on models behind you.
    • When Heal is used as a magic ability, it bypasses anti-spell stuff that hinge on the word "target" (such as Spell Ward or Arcane Vortex).

    Rules Clarification : Revivifier - None yet. (Edit)