- Buried Treasure - When this model begins an activation dug in, it gains 1 loot token.
- Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
- Money is Power - This model can have up to 3 loot tokens at any one time. During its activation, it can spend them to boost attack or damage rolls. This model can boost one roll for each token spent.
- Bazooka - 12" range, POW 14 ranged attack
- Damage Type: Magical
- Momentum - A small- or medium-based model directly hit by this attack is slammed d3" directly away from this model. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the POW of this weapon. In addition to suffering a normal damage roll, large-based models hit by this attack become knocked down.
- Dagger - 0.5" reach, POW 2, P+S 8 melee attack
- Other Factions
- Mercenary/Minion models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.
- Aside from that, there are a few themes that will change what Faction this model counts as (and thus what "friendly Faction only" buffs it can receive). They are:
Thoughts on the Dez
Dez in a nutshell
Dez brings a very powerful gun with Momentum that also happens to be boostable if she begins her turn dug in (she starts the game dug in). A dug in model remains dug in until it is moved, placed or is engaged, so if you can get her to a good firing spot early, she can wreak some havoc.
Combos & Synergies
- Snipe is probably the best spell to make her shine. Anything that gets her further up the table on the first turn for a better dig in position is also good.
- In Soldiers of Fortune she can receive the Mark Target bonus, making her RAT 8.
- She can move, dig in and still shoot under Rahera's feat.
- Gorten can provide Rock Walls for her to slam her targets into. He also loves it when she shoots him in the back while under Solid Ground as this gives him an extra d3" of threat range on his feat.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Most of her downsides are related to the Dig In / Loot mechanic:
- She is mediocre if she runs out of loot tokens, so she needs to be Dug In as much as possible.
- You can't shoot and Dig In during the same activation.
- The usual drawback of Dig In - enemy models that run past will make you un-dug (they don't need to even stop in melee).
- Dez is not good at melee.
- As a range combat solo she competes with other choices such as Kell or Ashley.
Tricks & Tips
- You should always start the game Dug In so she starts with 1 loot token.
Other Theme Forces
Crucible Guard (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth (Edit)
Other Mercenary models
| Mercenary Index (Edit)
| Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
| Warcaster attachments
Doctor Stygius -
Madelyn Corbeau -
| Lesser Warlocks
|| Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
| Non-character Units
Cephalyx Mind Bender -
Cephalyx Mind Slaver -
Cephalyx Overlords -
High Shields -
Artillery Corps -
Forge Guard -
Idrian Skirmishers -
Kayazy Assassins -
Kayazy Eliminators -
Legion of Lost Souls -
Ogrun Assault Corps -
OoI Resolutes -
OoI Vigilants -
Precursor Knights -
Press Gangers -
Sea Dog Pirates -
Deck Gun -
SH Cannon -
SH Halberdiers -
SH Cavalry -
SH Mortar -
SH Riflemen -
SH Volley Gun -
Tactical Arcanist Corps -
Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) -
Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)
| Character Units
Croe's Cutthroats -
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters -
Blythe & Bull -
Herne & Jonne -
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt -
Lynus & Edrea -
The Commodore Cannon -
The Devil's Shadow Mutineers
| Non-character Solos
Cephalyx Agitator -
Death Archon -
Gobber Tinker -
Menite Archon -
Morrowan Archon -
Ogrun Bokur -
Powder Monkey -
SH Arcanist -
SH Ironhead -
SH Gunner -
Swamp Gobber River Raider
Thamarite Advocate -
Thamarite Archon -
| Character Solos
Alten Ashley -
Anastasia Di Bray -
Balthazar Bamfist -
Black Bella1 -
Black Bella2 -
Bloody Bradigan -
Bosun Grogspar -
Brun Cragback & Lug -
Captain Crawtooth -
Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI -
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath -
Dirty Meg -
Doc Killingsworth -
Doctor Stygius -
First Mate Hawk -
Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 -
Flugwug the Filcher -
Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One -
Grand Master Gabriel Throne -
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One -
Harlowe Holdemhigh -
Hermit of Henge Hold -
Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter -
Kell Bailoch -
Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress -
Lord Rockbottom -
Major Harrison Gibbs -
Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile -
Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor -
Princess Delores Graciela -
Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger -
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord -
Rorsh & Brine -
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer -
Savio Montero Acosta -
Saxon Orrik -
Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye -
Stannis Brocker -
Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage -
Thor Steinhammer -
Underboss Vizkoya -
Viktor Pendrake -
Weird Wendell -
Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
| Battle Engines
Hammerfall Siege Crawler -
| Independent Warjack
Malvin1 & Mayhem1
| Theme Forces (Edit)
| Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
|This index was last updated: 2021.11
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Buried Treasure - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Dig In and/or Foxhole Buddy (Edit)
- Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
- Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
- Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
- If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can use Dig In while you're in someone's back arc. You are engaging, but not engaged.
Rules Clarification : Money is Power - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Momentum (Edit)
- Huge-based models with Momentum don't get the +2" slam distance that normally applies when huge-based models slam smaller ones. Because that bonus movement only applies to a Slam Power Attack and Momentum is an effect of the weapon, not a Power Attack.
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification: : Slam (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- If you slam someone via a Power Attack the distance they move depends on relative base sizes.
- If you slam someone via a weapon or spell, the distance they move will be as per that weapon's/spell's rules text. Sometimes it doesn't depend on base size.
- Obstacles stop slams, but they don't stop throws.
- Obstructions stop both.
- If three models are B2B and in a triangle formation, and you slam one toward the other two, it will contact both those two models simultaneously. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can add model special rules (such as Gang) to the damage roll.
- Power Attack Slam
- You don't add any special rules on your model, unless it specifically refers to Power Attack Slam (such as Hard Head)
- You can use an "any time" ability after resolving the slam movement but before the slam attack roll. (Infernal Ruling)
- The range of a Power Attack Slam is irrespective of your weapon range:
- A Power Attack Slam made by a colossal or gargantuan has a 2˝ melee range.
- A Power Attack Slam made by any other model has a 0.5˝ melee range.
- You can boost the damage roll.
- Weapon Slam (ie Smite)
- You use the weapon's full P+S, not the attacker's base STR.
- You can add weapon special rules (such as Weapon Master) to the damage roll.
- You can boost the damage roll (and if you charged, it is auto-boosted).
- Dual Attack & Slam/Trample ( Edit )
- Power Attack Slam and Trample combine your Normal Movement and Combat Action, and how this works with Dual Attack is:
- Slam: You must resolve the movement, the attack, and moving the slammed model. Only then can you make initial ranged attacks.
- Trample: You must resolve the movement, the attacks, and the free strikes. Only then can you make initial ranged attacks.
- (Infernal Ruling)
- Incorporeal vs Slammed/Thrown models ( Edit )
- Incorporeal models cannot be moved by someone trying to slam them.
- Slammed models can move through Incorporeal models.
- If they have enough movement to get past them, no dramas.
- If they land on them, you move the Incorporeal model out of the way as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
- If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (i.e. it's a flag) then you move the slammed model out of the way, also by the rule of Least Disturbance.
- For the purposes of Collateral Damage, only the model(s) you contacted before you applied the rule of Least Disturbance count as contacted.
- The same logic applies to Throws.
- Collateral Damage
- Collateral damage cannot be boosted and is not considered damage from an attack or model. Refer page 33 of the 2021.08 version of the rules pdf. As a result:
- It doesn't trigger stuff that relies on being hit by an enemy (such as Shock Field) or damaged by an enemy (such as Vengeance).
- It doesn't get bonus damage from stuff that adds to a model's damage roll (such as Signs & Portents or Prey).
- It doesn't matter if the attacker has crippled weapon systems or aspects.