The worshipers of the clockwork goddess have conceived of the most technologically advanced machines in existence. Armed with impressive firepower and fueled by energy sources well beyond the understanding of even the greatest minds in the Iron Kingdoms, the vectors of the Convergence of Cyriss turn hard targets into shrapnel and smash through infantry formations with whirring blades and spiked fists. Endless swarms of servitors dart among these complex constructs while the mortal priests of the machine cult risk their flesh in service to their goddess to keep these machines at peak performance.
- For the core rules on how Theme Forces work, see this article.
An army made use the Destruction Initiative theme force can include only the following Convergence models:
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Convergence.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Convergence] rule.
- Mercenary units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments.
Full model list
The models allowed in Destruction Initiative
This list was last updated: 2021.11 (Edit)
- All Convergence warcasters
- All non-character Convergence warjacks
- Up to one Mercenary solo
- Up to one Mercenary unit
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- Servitor solos in this army gain Shield Guard.
- Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary. The Shield Guard special rule can only trigger once per attack roll.
No changes since 2021.10
Thoughts on Destruction Initiative
Destruction Initiative in a nutshell
This is Convergence's warjack-centric theme.
Free Shield Guards are good at the very least, and great when properly used. Consider them as a replacement Steelsoul Protector (who has already proven the worth of a single-wound Shield Guard model).
Overall, it is a powerful theme force indeed; and it appears to be replacing most competitive Convergence lists.
Lack of units
Your only unit options are the Optifex Directive, who are a support unit, and Asphyxious4 (who technically uses up your Mercenary unit slot). This means the theme will struggle to capture circular zones in Steamroller.
Servitors disappear from the table at alarming speed when you start using them as Shield Guards. And your Vectors tend to lose their efficiency when they lose servitors.
Limited anti-infantry capability
The TEP is great at killing infantry, but even it has its limits. You will suffer when facing an infantry theme force, especially infantry which can easily crack vectors (such as the Banes in Dark Host).
Competes with Clockwork Legions
Clockwork Legions is nominally an infantry theme but it can take up to 3 light vectors for free so, depending on your strategy and list-building choices, you may actually be better building a warjack-centric list in the "infantry" theme.
You'd pick Destruction Initiative if you want to flood the table with shield guards, you need the Servitor support (for Flares etc), and/or you want access to the battle engines.
List Building Tips
It's Vectors all the way down starting, as ever, with a Corollary.
For your first set of free Servitors, grab Attunement Servitors (the ones that lower enemy DEF). Or possibly your arc nodes.
The TEP is fantastic in this theme. The Permutation Servitors it spawns are solos, which means they also gain Shield Guard from the theme. That's three free Shield Guards that will come back every turn, so long as the TEP stays on the table. The TEP also nearly gives another pack of free theme servos by itself by virtue of theme benefits.
Similar logic applies to the convergence colossals. Both spit out servos, while paying for more through theme benefits. This makes them a excellent choice when playing in theme, and buffs the already strong Prime Axiom.
Starting a 25 point Brawl list
In 2021.02 Phillip Melvin, one of the LOS authors, put together this list for the Brawlmachine format. It was then updated for the 2021.10 errata. He even wrote about it's playstyle and expanding it beyond 25 points, which you can read here.
- Orion1: [+28 WJP]
- Destructotron 3000: [Free] (6 pts)
- Widget2: [4 pts]
- Elimination Servitors: [3 pts]
- Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex: [2 pts]
- Optifex Directive: [3 pts]
For more Brawlmachine list ideas, see Category: Brawl List
- Forge Master Syntherion
- He doesn't really need infantry, so doesn't mind that restriction. DI allows what infantry he does want: It has ADO for an Arc Node, a buttload of servitors, and of course Optifex Directives.
- His Synergy spell loves Vectors: You'll want a couple of lights to land hits and get the buff to max, then a few heavies (including a Prime Axiom, of course!) to hit last and hit hard. More Vectors = more free Servitors.
- As Synth doesn't really do anything for the TEP, he prefers a Prime Axiom.
- Axis, the Harmonic Enforcer
- Probably the most benefited 'caster. Cram your army full of melee vectors, ice it with TEP, and add some light vectors to support charges. One or two Diffusers should fit the bill.
- Axis' army tends to have hard time dealing with heavy guns, but you can have max 15 shield guards which can, depending on what you choose, either countercharge, or puncture, or repair your army (let's not count attunements, but you know they're important. Right?).
- Axis does like to take some infantry, which he'll miss out on, but so far in Mk3 most opponents go jack-heavy so that's not so much of a problem.
- Iron Mother Directrix
- Directrix always favored Elimination Servitors, and now they're free. You'll have a great time poking enemy 'Jacks with Backlash + Puncture.
- If you're playing a poke-to-death strategy, it is good idea to add some Galvanizers as cheap arc nodes so that you can easily get Backlash where you want it.
- Or you can just field an Axiom to max out poking.
- A TEP, guarded by heavies and supported by her Servitor's Aperture Beam, is a pain in the ass for your opponent.
- Unpopular Casters
- Released 2016.12
- Mk2 theme forces "The Great Machine" and "Carrier Group" were the equivalent Vector-heavy theme force - and "Destruction Initiative" succeeds those forces.
Other Convergence Models
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian (Edit)
- You can't use this ability vs spells.
- You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
- Shield Guard only
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
- For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, so there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- Freely: If the Partisan is on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want plus another Mercenary unit/solo. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example Jaws of the Wolf allows "Kayazy models/units" so Partisan Kayayz can be used freely).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models/units" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria, so they can be used freely). (Infernal Ruling)
- Limited: If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one Mercenary/Minion" slot, so you can only have the one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Lanyssa can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
- Models with the Man-Sized rule count as small-based models for the purposes of being a Requistion Option. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
- A non-character unit with a character attachment (i.e. Captain Karli) still counts as a non-character unit. (Infernal Ruling)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- With reference to special abilities that themes give to models, Ranking Officers, adding new models, and/or taking control of models:
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list or put a new model into play. A model already in play will not lose or gain any theme benefits mid-game based on any changes of faction status or otherwise. (Infernal Ruling)
- However, if the theme gives a benefit to models "at the beginning of the game" (such as Devourer's Host letting models begin the game with 1 corpse token) then this benefit does not apply to new models that are put into play mid-game. (Locked Thread)
- Example 1: Sons of the Tempest says "ATGM units in this army gain Pistoleer". If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Pistoleer while under their control even though it's currently not "in the army".
- Example 2: Storm Division gives Immunity:Electricity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
- Example 3: Stange Bedfellows gives solos Swift Vengeance. If Nemo4 creates a new solo mid-game, that solo will have Swift Vengeance.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Creator's Might (Edit)
- Elias Gade is allowed in Creator's Might. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can spend the "Two Vassal solos" requistion option on one Vassal Mechanik and one Vassal of Menoth. Warroom has a bug and tells you that you can't. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Wild Hunt (Edit)
- The animus benefit doesn't apply to enemy warbeasts. (Infernal Ruling)
- The animus benefit doesn't stack with the Druid Wilder's Herding ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler2 uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
- Boomhowler3 does not use up your minion slot on account of having the Champion keyword.
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)