Theme - Destruction Initiative

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Destruction Initiative)
Jump to: navigation, search
Convergence Logo.jpg Theme - Destruction Initiative

Convergence Theme Force
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

The worshipers of the clockwork goddess have conceived of the most technologically advanced machines in existence. Armed with impressive firepower and fueled by energy sources well beyond the understanding of even the greatest minds in the Iron Kingdoms, the vectors of the Convergence of Cyriss turn hard targets into shrapnel and smash through infantry formations with whirring blades and spiked fists. Endless swarms of servitors dart among these complex constructs while the mortal priests of the machine cult risk their flesh in service to their goddess to keep these machines at peak performance.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Destruction Initiative theme force can include only the following Convergence models:

  • Convergence warcasters
  • Non-character warjacks
  • Priest models/units
  • Convergence weapon crew units
  • Servitor solos
  • Convergence battle engines
  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Convergence.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Convergence] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments.

Full model list

The models allowed in Destruction Initiative are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.10   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Convergence warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Convergence warjacks

Battle Engines

Solos

Units

Mercenaries

  • Up to one Mercenary solo
  • Up to one Mercenary unit

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point on either:

Theme Bonuses

  • Servitor solos in this army gain Shield Guard.
    Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.

Recent Changes

2019.01 Spoilers from the "Art of PP" Kickstarter

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Convergence structures removed from list of allowed models. (As of 2019.07, no convergence structures exist so that is moot.)
  • Can now take optifex units/solos for free
  • Theme no longer grants +2" deployment zone

2019.11 Strange Bedfellows CID

  • A bunch of new models released
  • A few old models errata'd.


Thoughts on Destruction Initiative

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Destruction Initiative in a nutshell

This is Convergence's warjack-centric theme.

Free Shield Guards are good at the very least, and great when properly used. Consider them as a replacement Steelsoul Protector (who has already proven the worth of a single-wound Shield Guard model).

Overall, it is a powerful theme force indeed; and it appears to be replacing most competitive Convergence lists.

Theme weaknesses

Lack of units
With only a single unit available, and that one being a support unit, means you will almost never be able to capture circular zones in Steamroller 2018.

Self-Destruction Initiative

Servitors disappear from the table at alarming speed when you start using them as Shield Guards. And your Vectors tend to lose their efficiency when they lose servitors.

Limited anti-infantry capability

The TEP is great at killing infantry, but even it has its limits. You will suffer when facing a infantry theme force, especially Dark Host.

Few free theme points

If you aren't planning on flooding the place with shield guards and don't need Flare or to channel you get more free points in Clockwork Legions and picking up your Corollary and a Galvanizer or two for free.

List Building Tips

It's Vectors all the way down starting, as ever, with a Corollary.

For your first set of free Servitors, grab Attunement Servitors (the ones that lower enemy DEF). Or possibly your arc nodes.

The TEP is fantastic in this theme. The Permutation Servitors it spawns are solos, which means they also gain Shield Guard from the theme. That's three free Shield Guards that will come back every turn, so long as the TEP stays on the table. The TEP also nearly gives another pack of free theme servos by itself by virtue of theme benefits.

Similar logic applies to the convergence colossals. Both spit out servos, while paying for more through theme benefits. This makes them a excellent choice when playing in theme, and buffs the already strong Prime Axiom.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly. It starts with the mk2 Battlebox, and gets two free packs of Servitors as shield guards.

Caster Thoughts

Forge Master Syntherion

  • He doesn't really need infantry, so doesn't mind that restriction. DI allows what infantry he does want: It has ADO for an Arc Node, a buttload of servitors, and of course Optifex Directives.
  • His Synergy spell loves Vectors: You'll want a couple of lights to land hits and get the buff to max, then a few heavies (including a Prime Axiom, of course!) to hit last and hit hard. More Vectors = more free Servitors.
  • As Synth doesn't really do anything for the TEP, he prefers a Prime Axiom.

Axis, the Harmonic Enforcer

  • Probably the most benefited 'caster. Cram your army full of melee vectors, ice it with TEP, and add some light vectors to support charges. One or two Diffusers should fit the bill.
  • Axis' army tends to have hard time dealing with heavy guns, but you can have max 15 shield guards which can, depending on what you choose, either countercharge, or puncture, or repair your army (let's not count attunements, but you know they're important. Right?).
  • Axis does like to take some infantry, which he'll miss out on, but so far in Mk3 most opponents go jack-heavy so that's not so much of a problem.

Iron Mother Directrix

  • Directrix always favored Elimination Servitors, and now they're free. You'll have a great time poking enemy 'Jacks with Backlash + Puncture.
  • If you're playing a poke-to-death strategy, it is good idea to add some Galvanizers as cheap arc nodes so that you can easily get Backlash where you want it.
  • Or you can just field an Axiom to max out poking.
  • A TEP, guarded by heavies and supported by her Servitor's Aperture Beam, is a pain in the ass for your opponent.

Unpopular Casters


Other

Trivia

  • Released 2016.12
  • Mk2 theme forces "The Great Machine" and "Carrier Group" were the equivalent Vector-heavy theme force - and "Destruction Initiative" succeeds those forces.

Other Convergence Models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2019.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guardand/or Shadow Guardian     (Edit)

  • You can't use this ability vs spells.
  • You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
  • Shield Guard only
    • You can link Shield Guards together. Model A is hit, Model B uses Shield Guard to take the hit from A, then model C uses Shield Guard to take the hit from B, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
    • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
    • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]