Protectorate Deliverer Unit
Designed to shower hidden enemies with its deadly payload, the Sunburst ballista shears through the flesh of men or erupts explosively against the iron hull of a warjack and spreads secondary blasts over a wide area. The Sunburst is a painful reminder that there is no place to hide from the Lawgiver's swift hand.
- Sunburst - 16" range, 4" AOE, POW 15 gun
- Damage Type: Fire - This weapon does fire damage.
- Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in the Maintenance phase of its owner's turn until the fire expires.
- Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon.
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Man-Sized - This model is on a large base, but is treated as being on a small one.
- Mobile Artillery - When this model moves, it gains 1" additional movement for each Grunt nearby.
- Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.
- The Grunts have SPD 4. No special abilities
Thoughts on Deliverer Sunburst Crew
Deliverer Sunburst Crew in a nutshell
The Deliverer Sunburst Crew drops medium AoEs of fire on the enemy. And is good at that. No fuss, just fire. Let it burn!
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Incoming fire has right of way and the Sunburst is an easy target.
Tricks & Tips
- Don't worry about setting your own fire immune troops on fire.
Originally released in Warmachine: Escalation (2004)
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Man-Sized (Edit)
- Despite being mounted on a large base, the model counts as a small-base for any and every rule. (Infernal Ruling)
- This includes Ranking Officers being able to join them. (Infernal Ruling)
- This includes abilities that only work vs small-based models (such as Consume, Trampling over them, etc). Those work just fine vs Man-Sized models.
- When drawing LOS it blocks LOS across the full width of its base (some players think you should swap it for a small proxy base when trying to draw LOS past the edge of its base ... don't do that).
- Since it only counts as a small-based model, it only blocks LOS to other small-based models. You can see medium and larger bases through it just fine.
Rules Clarification : Mobile Artillery - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Take Up (Edit)
- The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)