From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?

Cryx Logo.jpg Deathjack

Cryx Character Heavy Warjack

For more than 200 years the necromechanikal horror called the Deathjack has haunted the wilds of Western Immoren. Striking without warning, this infernal machine voraciously devours souls and leaves nothing but death and destruction in its wake.

Basic Info

Missing Info
Deathjack 2018.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
STR 12
M.A. 7
DEF 13
ARM 19
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Skulls of Hate - The Deathjack can have up to 5 focus points at any time instead of the normal limit of 3. During your Control Phase, after focus allocation the Deathjack gains 1 focus point for each of its non-crippled arm systems.
  • Snacking - When this model boxes a living model with a melee attack, it can choose to RFP the boxed model. When it does, this model can remove d3 damage points.


  • Necroclaw (x2) - 1" reach, POW 6, P+S 18 melee weapons
  • Horns - 1" reach, POW 3, P+S 15 melee weapon
    • Hard Head - This model can add this weapon's POW to its head-butt and slam power attack damage rolls.


Necromancy (★) Stats vary every time

While the Deathjack is in its controller's control range, it can spend focus points to cast its controller's spells. The Deathjack cannot cast upkeep spells or spells with a RNG of SELF or CTRL. Use the Deathjack's Magic Ability score when making magic attack rolls. Deathjack does not need to use his Combat Action to cast spells, and can cast more than one.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on the Deathjack

Classic sculpt

The Deathjack in a nutshell

Deathjack is a contender for the strongest jack in the game. He is fast, accurate, decent DEF/ARM/hitpoint stats, generates 3 focus each turn (and can be allocated another 2), and has a damage output is on par with a colossal (up to seven P+S 18 attacks and a P+S 15 chaser). On top of all that, Deathjack can cast spell off of your caster's spell card (with some restrictions).

All this comes at a downside: his points cost. His points-to-resilience ratio is extremely low, and he is a top priority for your opponent (even if they've never seen Deathjack in action he looks like something they don't want to let live, what with looming over his base covered in spikes, blades, and skulls).

Deathjack is a flexible problem solver, but he is not something you put in the frontline to start a piece-trade. In truth, Deathjack is more of a 2nd warcaster than he is a warjack and you should treat him as such. Put him in the second line, casting spells as support, and don't let things get up close and personal until they need to.

Deathjack is worth it with casters that have a powerful nuke spell worth casting in multiples (like Hellmouth), or casters with threat extension buffs (like Overrun, Locomotion, Telekinesis).

Combos & Synergies

When considering whether or not to use Deathjack, seek two qualities in your caster:

  • Something to increase his threat range (Infernal Machine, Overrun, Ghostwalk, Countercharge).
  • Have a good spell for Deathjack to cast (Mortality, Stranglehold, Deadweight, Hellfire, etc).
  • A Warwitch Siren is always useful to get rid of Disruption on your jack, and fill it up with a focus, so it can still charge and get stuck in.
  • Special mention to Mortenebra 1 for Interface plus Tune Up from Derilyss, and Mortenebra 2 due to her feat and Field Marshal ability.
  • The Black Ogrun Ironmongers officer packs Curse, which gives DJ a to-hit buff on both his melee AND spells.
  • The Hermit make him hit either harder or more accurately with spells. Mad Visions is also great for a model that is so very high on the enemie's priority list to take down.
  • Aiakos2 loves anything that can take his spells and cast them for him (with even better M.A. than him in Djs case). In return he gives DJ a speed, to-hit, and damage buff in his feat, Assail, Carnage and Scything Touch respectively (remember that you need to cast ST on another model if you want to benefit from both Assail and ST).

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Infamous and feared; it is a high priority target.
  • It is still a Cryx jack, and armies in Mk3 are prepared to deal with an ARM 19 heavy.
  • No native Pathfinder; vulnerable to targeted damage (Sniper, Precision Strike) and Disruption

Tricks & Tips

  • If you want to have DJ cast spells on the first turn, what you can do is advance deploy him facing backwards at his spell target, cast the spell, then trample towards the enemy. You don't need LOS for a trample.
  • Deathjack's Necromancy ability can be damned powerful. If you aren't ready to commit Deathjack into the field, use him as a glorified arcnode. With only committing two focus from your caster, you can cast heavy duty spells such as Hellmouth, Scourge, and still have a little left over to boost the attack to protect your investment.
  • He is better than an arc node, since he can cast spells even while he is in melee.
  • Deathjack has some really impressive combat output while his arms and cortex are uncrippled, and can operate near-autonomously. Whether or not you'll need an extra focus from your caster to get the job done depends on your target. As a rule of thumb, with DJ's intial attacks, it will take him on average...
    • 1 focus to kill a Slayer chassis warjack.
    • 2 focus to kill a Ironclad chassis warjack.
    • 3 focus to kill a Crusader chassis warjack.
    • 5 focus to kill a Juggernaut chassis warjack.



  • Originally released in Warmachine: Apotheosis (2005)
  • Original (2005) sculpt by John Winter
  • Resculpted in 2018

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0


Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker


Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine


Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hard Head      (Edit)

  • You can add the POW even if the weapon system is crippled.
  • Hard Head doesn't get applied to collateral damage, because that is a separate type of roll. Refer page 45 of the mini rulebook.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Necromancy      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Important Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Spell Slave and Geomancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Necromancy is different to the other two, the text has been coloured purple.

Who does the casting

  • It is the Deathjack that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like the warcaster getting an extra spell during their own activation.
    • Nor is it anything like an arc node.
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Deathjack that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Deathjack is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no affect on what the Deathjack can do.

When/how does the Deathjack cast

  • Deathajck uses his Magic Ability to cast spells, but because it is neither a (★ Attack) or (★ Action) it means he can cast spells as an "Any Time" ability.
  • The Deatjack must pay the full COST of the spell.
    • Since it pays the full cost of a spell, it is affected by stuff like Lamentation.

What spells can the Deathjack choose to cast

  • The Deathjack cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • Unlike Spell Slaves and Geomancers, it can cast spells with a COST more than 3.
    • It can cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because it's in the battlegroup.
    • In addition to this, the Deathjack is limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Often it will be able to cast a spell fine, but the benefits won't be fully applicable to the Deathjack.
      • Deathjack cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Deathjack that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      • Deathjack cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Focus. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Focus Manipulation' rule, which only warcasters have.
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.

How can they boost the spell

  • The Deathjack can spend focus to boost, just like with a regular attack.


  • The Deathjack doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Deathjack cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your control range, and he doesn't have a control range.
  • The Deathjack can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But he will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Deathjack for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)
    • A Soul Trapper cannot remove these souls from Deathjack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not only are warjacks in the caster's battlegroup, they are also in each other's battlegroup. In other words, all the warjacks are in Deathjack's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This means DJ can cast spells like Locomotion. Also, he can cast it on the same target as Mortenebra2 because the spell is limited to "target warjack once per activation" not "target warjack once per turn."
    • Despite having a battlegroup, DJ can't cast spells like Overrun because he doesn't have a control range.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Skulls of Hate      (Edit)

  • Short version: You get 3 focus for free and can allocate another 2.
  • Long version (Refer to Control Phase, pg 29 of pdf).
    • First you gain 1 focus from Power Up (Step 2)
    • Then you allocate focus from your warcaster (Step 3). You can allocate anything from 0 to 4 focus.
    • Finally you gain 1 focus from each Skull, up to your limit of 5 (Step 5)
  • The Skulls don't care about CTRL range. So if you're out of control range, you'll get zero from Power Up, zero from allocation, and 2 from the Skulls.
  • Shaking effects occurs simultaneously with getting the Skull's focus.
  • The Deathjack's focus limit is always 5, regardless of whether the arms are crippled or not.
  • Disruption will prevent you getting focus from the Skulls.
  • Fail-Safe does not let you ignore your crippled arms for the purposes of getting focus. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Snacking      (Edit)

  • You can use Snacking to RFP your target even if you're at full health. (Locked thread)
  • Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
    • Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
    • Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
    • Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
  • You can snack friendly models.
  • You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
  • If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.