Protectorate Heavy Warjack
One of the first warjacks developed by the Protectorate after the Cygnaran Civil War was the Crusader, a massive warjack boasting heavy armor and capable of crushing attacks. It has served as the foundation for several masterpieces of war. The Templar, for one, smashes enemies with overwhelming force from an unassailable position behind its thick shield. Of more recent production, the Vanquisher wields a great “blazing star” spiked ball in one hand and a flame belcher in the other. This weapon sends an oil-filled cannonball that bursts and ignites on impact.
- Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee attack.
- Inferno Mace - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee attack.
- Critical Continuous Fire - A model critically hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll each turn until the fire expires.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
Analysis of the Crusader
Crusader in a nutshell
The Crusader is a cheap, durable workhorse - a heavy 'jack whose cost is comparable to most Protectorate light warjacks (and lower than some). This low cost allows the Crusader to be taken in Week 2 of a Journeyman League, giving Menoth a viable heavy 'jack where other factions may only be able to take a light.
Combos & Synergies
There aren't any particular combos for the Crusader. Anyone who wants a cheap jack wants it and it has very few tricks. It's never a bad option.
- Amon - with Mobility up, the Crusader runs 12" through terrain - not something you would expect from a SPD4 jack
Drawbacks & Downsides
Tips & Tricks
- Harbinger - under Crusader's Call you can get further with charge than with running.
- Even though it is simplicity incarnate, it can still throw models, while his fist is not crippled.
Changes from Mk II
Aside from a 60% increase in point cost - a low increase, compared to many other models - the Mk3 Crusader is effectively identical to its Mk2 version.
Originally released in Warmachine: Prime (2003)
Themes for non-character warjacks (Edit)
Other Protectorate Models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- Throw - General ( Edit )
- See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
- Throw - Power Attack
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
- Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
- Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)