Crucible Guard Rocketmen

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


CG Logo.png

Crucible Guard Rocketmen
Crucible Guard Unit
Captain
Command Attachment
Gunner
Weapon Attachment

Squads of Crucible Guard rocketmen streak across the skies, giving the Crucible Guard an edge against a more numerous foe. Rocketmen assault the flanks of an opposing force, picking off strategic targets with their carbines or dropping devastating gravity bombs into packed enemy formations. Able to fly over traditional defenses, rocketmen squads are tactically versatile soldiers unlike anything before seen in the modern militaries of the Iron Kingdoms.

Basic Info

Crucible Guard Rocketmen
Missing Info
Rocketman.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR {{{str}}}
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 11
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +1CA +1 each WA
COST 9 / 15 +4CA +2 each WA
1.5 each (min)
1.5 each (max)
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Everyone

  • Flight - This model ignores (almost) all terrain when moving. This model can move over other models, and ignores intervening models when declaring charges.
  • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapon(s) even while in melee, but with limitations. Click the link for the full rule.
  • Breather - This model does not suffer gas effects.
  • Strafing Run (Order) - Affected Rocketmen gain +2 SPD and Reposition [5"] this turn. (Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.)

Captain only

  • The Officer has +1 MAT, RAT, and 5 hitboxes.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Defensive Action (Order) - Until the start of their next activation, affected Rocketmen gain +2 DEF and do not suffer blast damage.
  • Granted: Dodge - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Dodge. (Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model can immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.)
  • Tactics: Swift Hunter - Models in this unit gain Swift Hunter. (Swift Hunter - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic ranged attack, immediately after the attack is resolved it can advance up to 2".)

Gunner only

  • 'Jack Hunter - This model gains an additional die on its melee and ranged damage rolls against warjacks.

Weapons

  • Carbine - 10" range, POW 10 gun.
  • Gravity Bomb - 4" range 3" AOE, POW 12 ranged weapon
    • Cumbersome - This model cannot attack with this weapon and with another weapon on the same activation.
    • Sky-Dropped - Attacks with this weapon ignore cover and elevation. Models with Flight don't suffer blast damage from this attack.

Captain only

  • Carbine (x2) - As above, but double the fun
  • Gravity Bomb - As above

Gunner only

  • Slug Gun - 4" range, POW 14 ranged weapon

Theme Forces

  • Crucible Guard
    • Magnum Opus
    • Prima Materia. The Rocketmen are one of the few models not allowed in this theme.

Thoughts on Crucible Guard Rocketmen

Crucible Guard Rocketmen in a nutshell

Rocketmen are the swift moving air assault forces of the Crucible Guard. Using Carbines to skirmish with opposing troops until it’s time to rocket forward and utilize manually dropped bombs to take out harder targets. Speed and defense should be prioritized over armor and durability. Hit and run tactics should be emphasized over directly fighting.

The Crucible Guard Rocketmen are skirmishers who rival the Crucible Guard Infantry in their role of anti-infantry shooting. Flight and speed gives them a lot of mobility, and high DEF can be really useful.

Thoughts on adding the Attachments

  • UA is nearly mandatory for that great +2 DEF/Blast immunity order.
  • WAs are good against Warmachine armies and better if you can debuff the enemy, but they aren't really worth it against Hordes.

Combos & Synergies

  • Aurum Adeptus Syvestro and his Transmutation spell plus UA's order pushes their DEF to abusive level, add immunity to blast damage and you've got yourself one hell of a screening unit.
  • Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg loves his infantry (even the rocket-propeled kind) and they may serve as a great more mobile element in his gunline.
  • Application of Rust makes their WAs very scary against enemy warjacks.
  • Ashlynn D'Elyse can give them Quicken which makes them very hard to hit, and more importantly can give them a base speed of 11 or get them 18 inches up the board turn one.
    • In fact, Ashlynn runs them so well in resistance, she wants to take two full units with all the attachments!
  • Hermit of Henge Hold really turns these guys up to 11 (or more accurately, 12). Rocketmen don't care as much about the -2 ARM as other units due to their high DEF-skew (what can hurt them will hurt them regardless of ARM 11 or 9), and as such the Hermit's -2 ARM aura works as an almost purely positive benefit for the Guard player.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • Their low ARM mean that anything that hits them kills them.
  • Overall damage output of the unit isn't that high and relies mostly on debuffs.
  • WAs are useless in some matchups.
  • The unit can get expensive.

Tricks & Tips

  • You can only use one Order per turn. You've got 3 to choose from: run/charge; extra mobility; or extra survivability.

Other

Trivia

Released in the Crucible Guard CID (2018.03)

Other Crucible Guard models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Aurum Legate Lukas di Morray - Aurum Adeptus Syvestro - Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg - Aurum Lucanum Athanor Locke - Captain Eira Mackay
Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos Rocketman Ace - Mechanik - Trancer
Prospero - Gorman - Hutchuck
Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2018.11

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Cumbersome - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sky-Dropped      (Edit)

  • If you lose Flight (via Turbulence for example) then you can damage yourself with this weapon.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Breather - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Strafing Run      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Defensive Action - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • If you shoot at a model with Dodge that's in melee and miss, Dodge will trigger regardless of whether you then hit the random new target or not.
    • The Dodge movement occurs after making the attack against the new target.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter and/or Overtake     (Edit)

  • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
  • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
  • An important difference:
    • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
    • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
  • Blood Boon & Overtake (Edit)
    As of 2019.03, this interaction is only available to Iona the Unseen   [Show/Hide]
    • Overtake is resolved at Step 12. Blood Boon is resolved at either Step 12 or 14 depending on whether you cast an offensive spell or not.
    • You can choose whether to trigger Overtake or Blood Boon first.
    • If you decide to cast a spell before resolving Overtake, that's fine. But if you choose an offensive spell, then you've skipped ahead to Step 14 and you've lost your chance to use Overtake.
    • (Infernal Ruling for all of the above)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : 'Jack Hunter      (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors