Crucible Guard Infantry

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
CG Logo.png

Crucible Guard Infantry
Crucible Guard Unit
Officer & Standard
Command Attachment

The backbone of the Crucible Guard armed forces, these units serve as security and rescue workers for the Order of the Golden Crucible when not needed on the battlefield. Equipped with alchemically treated protections and the Crucible Arms Model 609, a brilliant invention capable of firing multiple types of ammunition, these brave soldiers are able to adapt to any situation.

Given their role as rescue workers in hazardous situations, Infantry units are often assigned an experienced officer to augment their coordination and an alchemical lantern, used to easily locate the unit in the midst of battle and to disrupt enemy enchantments or to ward civilians away from danger when off the battlefield.

Basic Info

Crucible Guard Infantry
Missing Info
CG Infantry.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +2CA
COST 9 / 15 +4CA
1.5 each
N/A
FA 3
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Officer only
    • The Officer has +1 MAT, RAT, and 5 hitboxes.
    • Support Fire (Minifeat) - This model can use Support Fire once per game at any time during its unit's activation. This activation, models in its unit gain Dual Shot. (Dual Shot - If a model with Dual Shot uses its Normal Movement to aim, it can make one additional ranged attack this activation. )
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Granted: Reposition [3"] - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Reposition [3"]. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
  • Standard
    • Standard Bearer - While this model is within 5" of the unit commander, the unit commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is destroyed, you can choose a Grunt in this unit within 1" of it to be destroyed instead. Effects on this model expire, and it gains the effects on the chosen Grunt. Remove the Grunt from the table instead of this model. This model has the same number of unmarked damage boxes as the chosen Grunt.
    • Mage Static - While this model is in formation, enemy magic attacks targeting a model in its unit suffer -5 RNG.

Weapons

Everyone except the Standard

Standard

  • Sword - As above

Theme Forces

  • Crucible Guard
    • Magnum Opus
    • Prima Materia. CGI are one of the few CG models not allowed in this theme.

Thoughts on Crucible Guard Infantry

CGI in a Nutshell

The Crucible Guard Infantry are a fairly generic rifle-wielding infantry unit (akin to Trencher Infantry or Hollowmen), with their main draw being that they can choose between damage types. This ability (which provides a choice of Magical with crit upkeep removal, Fire with crit continuous, or Corrosian with crit continuous) makes Crucible Guard Infantry great at dealing with a wide variety of targets. The addition of CRA and the Dual Shot provided by the UA makes Guard Infantry a staple of their gunline and often one of your most productive sources of ranged damage. Worth additional note is RNG 12" on their guns, which is 2" above comparable troops from other factions.

Thoughts on adding the CA

You will almost never see Crucible Guard Infantry without their UA, as pretty much every abiloty on both the Officer and Standard Bearer is highly relevant. In order of increasing importance, these abilities are:

  • Mage Static: Usually relevant especially for a unit which tends to attract blasts.
  • Minifeat: The minifeat allows for some very interesting plays, as you put one or two grunts forward with the rest of the unit acting as a buff via CRA. This plus the Repo often means that Guard Infantry can reliably maintain 10" between them and the enemy well into the latter stages of the game.
  • Reposition 3": Almost always relevant every turn the Infantry are on the table, it is Repo which turns the unit up to 11. With the naturally longer range of their rifles, being able to gain an additional 3" of space every turn is unbelievably useful. Another common use for the Repo is to open up lanes for models in front to fall back (such as a unit of Alchemists or Gorman after lobbing a grenade) while allowing space for models behind (such as a Vanguard protecting a Dragon's Breath with Shield Guard) to advance.

Combos & Synergies

  • Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg is probably the best Warcaster for CG Infantry. Veteran leader amps their RAT to respectable 6, Deceleration protects them against blasts, Snipe pushes their range to 16", his Battle Plans can give them either Tactician or boosted To-Hit rolls and they can benefit from all these at the same time. Add his Feat and you got yourself a very scary unit.
  • Retaliator is their best friend, as Oil give CG Infantry boosted damage rolls at range.
  • Aurum Legatum Lukas di Morray is a great guy for these soldiers. Mirage for extra threat range/aiming potential, Iron Flesh to push their ARM into half decency (but mainly the blast immunity), Burning Ash to push their "hit & run" playstyle into a far better place and Disintegration to augment their damage output.
  • Aurum Adeptus Syvestro gives them Transmutation to push their DEF into the "Hard to hit" realm and Pathfinder. The "signs & portents" feat is also nice for general accuracy/damage but also crit fishing.
  • Captain Eira Mackay has Flare for stealthy solos removal, Concealment while near her and Run & Gun on feat turn to amp up their mobility.
  • Any model with Rust or Ice Cage can boost their accuracy and damage. The Suppressor just so happens to bring both!
  • Dragon Breath's Rocket lays an AoE of no Tough AND -2 ARM. Infantry can then mop the floor with any survivors/multiwound infantry.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • Less than average DEF, average ARM but no way to improve their own defensive stats, and 12" RNG won't save you from 14" rifles on other infantry.
  • Ammo types are merely an added extra most of the time as you will not be needing them every game.
  • The Rocketmen have the same range when you add SPD+RNG and better defensive stats.
  • If you want to utilise CG Infantry to it's full potential, you need to bring Retaliator, making the full package very pricy, and when the jack is destroyed the Infantry lose a lot of their strength.
  • Fire immune models with high armor mostly shut down the infantry.

Tricks and Tips

  • Do not forget to Reposition away from the enemy to be safe from most melee/low range guns retaliation!

Other

Trivia

Released with the Faction launch (2018.06)

Other Crucible Guard models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Baldwin - Locke - Lukas - Mackay - Syvestro

Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos

CG Mechanik - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - Prospero - Rocketman Ace - Trancer

Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
  • If your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (ie a Menoth warjack with Passage), you can first choose the correct Attack Type (ie Magical Damage vs Passage) and then that allows you to target it. The Attack Type selection and target declaration both occur at Step 1 (Refer Appendix A). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood of Urcaen      (Edit)

  • The anti-spell part of this rule functions identical to Dispel, so see below.
  • You choose your Attack Type during Step 1 of the Attack Sequence. So, if your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (such as a Menoth warjack with Passage), then you can choose an Magical Damage attack type and target it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dispel      (Edit)

  • Dispel can't be used versus upkeeps that are not "on" a model/unit (such as Rock Wall, Void Gate, etc), because you can't "hit" them.
  • Because Dispel causes spells to expire on a hit, it will prevent spells that trigger on a hit from triggering at all.
    • For instance, the defensive animus Spiny Growth causes any model that hits the target to suffer d3 damage. This damage will not occur if it's hit by a Dispel weapon.
  • Anti-Upkeep vs a unit (Edit)
    • If an upkeep is on a unit, then all you need to do is make it expire off any member of the unit and the spell will expire from the entire unit.
    • It doesn't matter if the target is in formation or not. (Locked thread)
    • However, if an upkeep is on a single model within a unit (such as Scything Touch) then you need to dispel it off that particular model to make it dispel. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Pyrocatalyst - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Vitriolic Trajectile - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee ... unless the target is a huge-based model or the attacker has War-Tempered.
  • If you give the attack-leader a buff to their attack (such as Guidance) then that buff applies to the combined attack (even though the other participants don't have the buff). (Locked thread)
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Breather - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Corrosion      (Edit)

  • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Support Fire      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Shot      (Edit)

  • You can't Aim if you start your activation in melee. So you will never benefit from Dual Shot, even if you have Gunfighter and/or your squad mates disengage you before you start your Combat Action.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Up      (Edit)

  • The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mage Static      (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here