Croe's Cutthroats

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Infernal Logo.jpg Croe's Cutthroats

Mercenary, & Infernal Partisan, Character Unit

As a murderous band of mercenaries, Croe’s Cutthroats prefer stealth and guile over confrontations of brute strength. Many of their enemies have fallen to the poisoned weapons utilized by their unseen hands.

Basic Info

Croe's Cutthroats
Missing Info
CroesCutthroats.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 5
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 11
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE 6 or 10
COST 10 or 16
1.6 pts each
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Mercenary - This unit will work for Cryx, Khador, Infernals, or Protectorate.

  • PartisanInfernals ] - When included in a Infernals army, this model/unit is a Infernals model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.

Abilities

  • Entire Unit
    • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
    • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
    • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
    • Backstab - While completely within the back arc of an enemy model, this model gains an additional die on its attack and damage rolls against that model.
    • Prey - After deployment but before the first player's turn, choose an enemy model/unit to be this model/unit's prey. This model gains +2 to attack and damage rolls against its prey. When the prey is destroyed or removed from play, choose another model/unit to be the prey.
    • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.
  • Leader
    • The Leader has +1 MAT & +1 RAT.
    • This model is not a character and it can be Field Promoted. You murdered the wrong Croe.

Weapons

Leader
Hiss
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
10 1 - 10
Two-Handed Sword
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 5 10
Grunts
Crossbow
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
10 1 - 10
Murder Weapons
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 3 8

Theme Forces

  • Infernals
    • Dark Legacy. They don't use up your "Up to one Mercenary unit" slot in this theme.
    • Hearts of Darkness. They can be included no matter which warcaster leads the theme.
  • Other Factions
    • As a merc unit they can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's themes. See #Other Theme Forces.

Recent Changes

No changes since 2019.08

Thoughts on Croe's Cutthroats

Croe's Cutthroats in a nutshell

The Cutthroats are a serious harrassment unit, with advance deployment, stealth, prey, pathfinder and a fantastic reposition 5 - which allows them to move 11" a turn while still taking a moment to slow down, admire the scenery, recentre their karma, and shoot someone in the back of the head.

Their mobility makes them a significant threat and a serious problem for your opponent, however they depend on positioning to pull off either Prey, Backstab, or preferably both. Without those bonuses their hitting power is distinctly average, but you're paying a premium price for them. They excel best with a caster that can turn enemy models around (such as with Telekinesis) and thus ensure they get their Backstab bonus.

Combos & Synergies

Casters

  • Fiona the Black. They can be her Cultists, as with Pathfinder, Repo and Stealth the shoudld reasonably get into places were channelling is interesting, and she bring as much needed damage buff, making them potentially POW 14 weapon masters against their Prey target.
  • Accuracy buffs like Fortune from Macbain or Deadeye from Damiano make them competent shooters from the front arc, able to shoot and back up.
  • Rahera's feat lets them shoot again, really leveraging the Prey bonus.
  • Scaverous loves them because he can TK targets around for them to back stab and they fuel his Void Archons. Targets affected by Feast of Worms also don't like being shot at by their guns.
  • Thexus similarly brings TK and loves a 10 man unit to fuel his Void Archons.
  • Agathon can use Dark Seduction in the same way as TK. Ambushing Cultist can also be used to sandwich the opponent.
  • Lukas - They can only play together in Hearts of Darkness because Croes don't work for Crucible Guard, but Lukas has TK so there is natural Synergy there. disintegration also cranks up their damage and Iron Flesh pretty much eliminates their weakness to blasts as it puts them at ARM 17 against them, which is enough to shrug off low-powered explosions (Gunnbjorn2 is still a problem though).
  • Ashlynn2 - Hand of Fate ups their damage output trmemndously and with True Path they can throw down in melee, too. Artifice gives them a spot to hide.
  • Malakov2 and Crosse1 have Discombobulate to unlock Backstabs from the front.

Non-casters

  • Any Ambush model/unit. Your opponent is forced to either expose their back arc to Croe, or to the ambushing unit.
  • Any ranged damage buff, such as Fiona, Hermit or Aiyana & Holt. With Backstab they start to hit hard enough to hurt heavies.
  • Nemo4 can bring a few of them back every turn.
  • Alexia1 or Alexia2 love them as fuel for their respective collection mechanics.
  • Boomhowler3 - What's better than Repo [5]? Well, how does Repo [11] sound? Use Hoof It to make Croes speed around the table.
  • As a 10 man unit of living dudes they're a great soul battery for Void Archons. Especially in Cryx, who don't have many friendly souls around in non-Scourge themes.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Unless they are getting the Prey or Backstab bonus, they are below-average combatants with an above-average points cost.
  • Even with the Backstab bonus, it can be surprisingly hard to take down enemy lights that are not your prey target as they are still only "boosted" POW 10s. Not including Croe (because he throws the math off), it takes about 7 grunts to kill a 'typical' light (DEF 12, ARM 17, 26 HP) and 16 grunts (impossible) to kill a 'typical' heavy (DEF 10, ARM 19, 32 HP).
  • Opposing armies can negate Croes by counter-deploying something cheap vs the Croes and running straight at them. Croes can't afford to ignore the cheap unit while they get in a position for Backstab, and are 'trading down' if they engage the cheaper unit. So the massively appreciate it when something Like a Void Archon spray or Orin1's chain lightning unjams them.
  • Incoming fire has right of way - and they die heavily to blasts.
  • There are many units out there that shoot things in the face quite well and don't need to circle around back.
  • Most of the time they're operating on the side of the board, trying to circle around the enemy army to get into the back arc. If your opponent has anything at all with Ambush, they're screwed.

Tricks & Tips

  • Remember that Croe (the Leader) does not have the Officer rule. As such, when the Leader model is destroyed, he simply field promotes with one of the Grunts.
    • If he is RFP'd, field promotion does not occur. Instead you pick a Grunt to become a unit commander.
  • Prey something that doesn't have Advance Deployment or Ambush. That way you can see where your Prey target deploys before you put the Croes down, and can counterdeploy to suit.
  • One trick your opponent might use against you is to "hide" the Prey target. Especially if you Prey an enemy unit, then don't quite kill the last trooper - you can expect that trooper to run for the hills to prevent you changing Prey targets. As a consequence it can be wise to take Croes as a minimum sized unit, the logic being you have less points "lost" if/when you can't reach your Prey target.


Other

Trivia

  • Released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
  • In Mk1 the field promotion rules didn't exist, but Croe had a special ability to let him replace anyone in his unit when he died. Which is, for all intents and purposes, the same thing.
  • Nicknames: "Croes", without a genitive apostrophe, yeah even though there is only one guy named "Croe" in the entire unit.

Other Theme Forces

Cryx (Edit)

Khador (Edit)

Protectorate of Menoth (Edit)

Other Faction models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11
Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Battlegroup
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment (1) Lord Roget d'Vyaros
Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Light Lamenter - Shrieker Colossal Guardian of Souls - Harvester of Souls
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros (Attachment) - Lynda the Forgotten - Nicia2 - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - Runewood2 - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s

This index was last updated: 2021.07

(1) - Note that an Infernal Master Attachment is not part of the battlegroup, they are merely listed there for convenience.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unique Leader Model      (Edit)

Sometimes a special rule is on the Leader & the Grunts, but is worded so it only works on the Leader (for example Deathbound on the Revenant Crew of the Atramentous).
Either way, if you fail to trigger Field Promotion then you lose the Leader model and you lose the ability. There are two ways to fail Field Promotion:
  1. If the Leader model is RFP'd before it reaches destroyed.
  2. If the Leader model dies while under your opponent's control.
  • When that happens, you choose a Grunt model to become the unit commander but it does not become a Leader model.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Silencer - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Backstab      (Edit)

  • Backstab always applies on a free strike, because free strikes are always in the back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Backstab applies to magic and ranged attacks, too.
  • For a caster with Backstab that uses an arc node to attack their target: Backstab doesn't care about the point of origin of the attack, and does not interact with Arc Nodes at all.
In other words, if your arc node is in the target's back arc & but the caster is not, then Backstab doesn't apply. And vice versa, if your arc node is in the front arc & you're in the back arc, then Backstab will apply.
  • Models with Circular Vision aren't immune to Backstab. They still have a back arc, and backstabbers can stand in it.
  • As of November 2021, Steamroller objectives no longer have facings, and cannot be backstabbed.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
  • Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
  • If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prey      (Edit)

  • When you declare your Prey target, it has to be used on a model that is currently on the table. You can't use it on models that are in Ambush, Burrow, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Prey bonuses apply to "non-attack" damage, such as Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you hit your Prey target, but your attack is "shifted" to a non-Prey model (via Shield Guard etc) then you don't get the damage bonus vs the new target.
  • If a model with Prey can return to play, then:
    • If the Prey target is still alive when the Prey-er returns, then it stays as your Prey target.
    • If the Prey target died while the Prey-er was off the table, you get to pick a new Prey target when you return to play.
    • This is based on a MK II ruling.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.