The Covenant of Menoth

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Covenant of Menoth)
Jump to: navigation, search

Protectorate Character Solo

The Covenant of Menoth is a call to war. For two millennia it lay hidden and was studied in secret only by select priests. As the Crusade’s flames spread, however, its passages echoed through Immoren once again, strengthening the Lawbringer’s loyal warriors and striking down the arcane tricks of His enemies. It is a devastating weapon of the True Faith.

Basic Info[edit]

The Covenant of Menoth
TheCovenantofMenoth
SPD 5
DEF 10
ARM 12
CMD 10
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Abilities[edit]

  • Ancient Shroud - When a damage roll vs the Covenant exceeds its ARM, it only suffers 1 damage regardless of the total rolled.
  • Magic Ability [ - ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Flames of Wrath (★ Action) - Choose a friendly Faction model/unit. While in the Covenant's CMD range, the model/unit's melee and ranged direct hits cause continuous fire.
    • Lawgiver's Creed (★ Action) - Enemy models can't cast spells while within the Covenant's CMD range.
    • Power of Faith (★ Action) - For one round, friendly Faction models within 5" of this model cannot be knocked down or made stationary.
  • Man-Sized - This model is on a large base, but is treated as being on a small one.
  • Spell Ward - This model cannot be targeted by spells.


Thoughts on The Covenant of Menoth[edit]

The Covenant of Menoth in a nutshell[edit]

A reasonably costed solo that provides buffs, blocks line of sight and charge lanes well, and is hard to kill.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Good at blocking line of sight to small based models. Combine it with a Devout and a small based caster has a nice pocket to sit behind with no knock down or no spells, and a shield guard. This can be a decent way to move up the field except against lists with lots of guns or good AOEs.
  • While not the powerhouse combo it was in MKII, combining with Rhupert Carvolo for tough and no knock down is still decent for most infantry.
  • While the other two modes are generally better, Flames of Wrath can still be decent on something like Exemplar Errants crossbows or Idrian Skirmishers guns.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Flames of Wrath only works on direct hits, so no blast damage fire.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • When taken in The Creator's Might, the covenant's no spells (Lawgiver's Creed) can be a serious issue for your opponents, simply because a CMD of 10 and being able to move 5" + 3" reposition gives it a potential 18" range from start of activation to get their caster into no spells range. This forces your opponent to spend 5 attacks (typically) getting rid of it or move back out of its range, which is particularly effective against Warlocks, since they need to be close enough to force their warbeasts.
  • Against an "all jacks" or "all beasts" theme it can be very efficient, because typically these themes won't have much infantry, and multiple beast/jack attacks will need to be devoted to killing it. The difference between a jack/beast activating and killing a 12 point jack vs a 4 point solo can make a real difference in attrition.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack
Elias Gade - Hand of Silence - Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Severius0 - Covenant
Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ancient Shroud      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flames of Wrath      (Edit)

  • There is no range limit when you choose the friendly model/unit.
  • The model/unit you choose doesn't need to be in LOS (refer to "LOS & Targeting" in the core rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.

Rules Clarification : Lawgiver's Creed - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Power of Faith - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Man-Sized      (Edit)

  • Despite being mounted on a large base, the model counts as a small-base for any and every rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes Ranking Officers being able to join them. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes abilities that only work vs small-based models (such as Consume, Trampling over them, etc). Those work just fine vs Man-Sized models.
  • When drawing LOS it blocks LOS across the full width of its base (some players think you should swap it for a small proxy base when trying to draw LOS past the edge of its base ... don't do that).
  • Since it only counts as a small-based model, it only blocks LOS to other small-based models. You can see medium and larger bases through it just fine.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.