Corruptor

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1251 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Dawnguard Destors (1 year review) Dawnguard Destor Thane (1 year review) Defenders of Ios (1 year review) Bump in the Night (Casters)


Cryx Logo.jpg Corruptor

Cryx Heavy Warjack

The fiendish inventiveness of Cryxian necrotechs has resulted in many machines perfected to employ the killing arts. The Slayer is a swift, hulking beast of bone and black iron that relishes murdering anything in its path. The Reaper can fire its harpoon to sink deep into flesh or steel before reeling in its victim with frightening speed to within range of its vicious helldriver spike. The Corruptor is the culmination of Cryx’s pioneering work in caustic compounds and necrotic poisons, a helljack armed with venomous weapons designed to consume both body and soul.

Basic Info

Corruptor
Missing Info
Corruptor.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 7
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Immunity: Corrosion

Weapons

  • Necrojector - 1" reach, POW 6, P+S 16 melee weapon.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make a Throw Power Attack.
    • Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
      • Burster - When this attack boxes a living or undead model, center a 5" AOE on the boxed model, then RFP the model. Models in the AOE are hit and suffer an unboostable POW 10 corrosion damage roll. This damage is not considered to have been caused by an attack.
      • Distillation - When a living enemy model is destroyed by this attack while this model is in its battlegroup controller’s control range, immediately after the attack is resolved remove d3+3 damage points from this model’s battlegroup controller.
      • Psycho Venom - When a living or undead enemy model is boxed by this attack, you can choose to take control of it. If you do, remove 1 damage point from it, causing it to no longer be boxed. You can then immediately change its facing. For the rest of the turn, this model’s battlegroup controller can channel spells through the affected model as if it were a model in its battlegroup with the Arc Node advantage. The affected model cannot activate. At the end of the turn, the affected model is destroyed.
  • Necrocannon - 12" range, POW 14 ranged attack

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.06

Thoughts on the Corruptor

Corruptor in a nutshell

It's a flexible, multipurpose jack; with a focus on anti-infantry. It can swap between melee and guns depending on what's needed, but generally it tries to stay out of melee if possible.

Combos & Synergies

  • Skarre likes them for the heal. Especially since the Necrosurgeon can no longer heal her.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The main drawback are lists with an empahsis on jacks or beasts. With to many warnouns stomping around, the Corruptor struggles sometimes to trigger any of its special rules.
  • If it is given a buff that triggers on destroying an enemy model (such as Black Spot or Overrun) that buff can't trigger from Burster or Psychovenom. This provides a level of skornergy with Skarre 2 and Mortenebra.

Tricks & Tips

  • None of the attack types ignore Tough, so choose a target you're sure you'll be able to kill.
  • Psycho Venom
    • Don't Meatnode someone who is in melee range of his friends. As soon as it comes under your control they'll be enemies to him, they'll engage him, and they'll prevent him from being an Arc Node.
    • It's easy to create an Meatnode too far away with the gun; stay aware of your control range.
    • Psycho Venom has some niche applications at the destroyed step, because the model is still under your control:
      • If you PV a Leader model, your opponent doesn't get to promote a Grunt to a Leader. Which is useful if the Leader has different wargear, such as the Trollblood Krielstone.
      • If you PV an enemy warbeast your opponent can't reave fury from it.
      • If your opponent collects souls from his own models, he won't get a soul from a PV'd one. (On the other hand, if your opponent collects souls from enemy models they will get a soul from a PV'd model.)
    • However once the PV'd model is past the destroyed step, control goes back to your opponent; and the model is still eligible for return to play stuff like Revive.
  • Burster
    • Burster isn't blast damage.
    • Burster doesn't require you to kill an enemy model, so in a pinch you can shoot your own troops in the back.
      It's a bit iffy though, because to catch anyone in the AOE your own troop is probably in melee, and you'll suffer -2 to hit (-4 for being in melee, but +2 for being in the rear arc).

Other

Trivia

  • Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Cryx (June 2010)
  • From 2010 to 2017 it was sold in a multi-jack kit with the Slayer and Reaper (old resin-plastic).
  • From 2017 onwards, it is sold in a multi-jack with the Reaper and Malice (new better plastic).

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
  • If your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (ie a Menoth warjack with Passage), you can first choose the correct Attack Type (ie Magical Damage vs Passage) and then that allows you to target it. The Attack Type selection and target declaration both occur at Step 1 (Refer Appendix A). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Burster      (Edit)

  • Due to the way it is worded, the Burster does full POW to all models in the AOE. It is not blast damage and it is not halved.
  • Not considered an attack / Pure damage roll (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Some attacks create a "secondary damage" roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap); while other abilities just tell you to make a "pure damage" roll without mentioning attacks at all (such as Vent Steam). In terms of interacting with 'attack triggers' (such as Vengeance) "secondary damage" and "pure damage" work the same.
    • When one attack triggers a secondary damage roll, the original attack and damage is definitely an attack and triggers stuff normally.
    • Secondary/pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Secondary/pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Secondary/pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Distillation      (Edit)

  • With the Coven, since their are 3 warcasters that share control of the Corruptor, what you do is choose one witch to get the heal. It doesn't get divided between them. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Psycho Venom      (Edit)

  • You don't get to activate the model you take control of. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Once he is under your control, the meatnode is an enemy to his old army. If they're close enough, they will engage him in melee and prevent you using him as an arc node.
  • See also the Channeler rules clarifications.
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Corrosion      (Edit)

  • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)