Conservator

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1321 articles and 89% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Convergence Logo.jpg Conservator

Convergence Heavy Warjack

The arcane displacer drive represented a major breakthrough in vector design. Freed from the hampering influence of gravity, heavy vectors equipped with this technology—such as the Conservator, Assimilator, and Modulator—gain unparalleled freedom of movement. The Conservator is equipped with heavy shields and low-traction gyros that allow it to intercept attacks.

Basic Info

Conservator
Missing Info
Conservator WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 10
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 18 / 20 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 12
N/A
N/A
FA U
(★) ARM 20 with the double Buckler bonus.
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack used by the Convergence. It swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node, and this changes how it gets access to focus. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's. Click here for a full rundown
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Hand of Vengeance - When one or more friendly Faction warrior models are destroyed or RFP'd by enemy attacks while within 5" of this model, this model gains +2 to melee attack & damage rolls for one round.
  • Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.

Weapons

Theme Forces

Convergence

Other Factions

  • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
  • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Thoughts on Conservator

Conservator in a nutshell

A cheap, tough and mobile melee vector. Useful for protecting important models and throwing, the Conservator is also the cheapest credible melee heavy that the Convergence has to offer (the Monitor having the punching power of a light warjack).

Combos & Synergies

The Conservator is best when you can trigger its hand of vengeance. This means that you want infantry or servitors to go with it.

  • Obstructors : Conservators' best friend, convergence's proud shield wall meatshield can easily trigger its hand of vengeance. It is quite normal watching a blind AoE taking out some obstructors, and thus triggering hand of vengeance.
  • Reductors : A bit expensive, yet still can trigger him.
  • Transverse Enumerator : Cyriss' only UA. She's the one conservator will protect normally, guaranteeing shield guard when facing an AOE, or Iron sentinel. One of main reasons why conservators are sitting around infantry babysitting.
  • Enigma Foundry : An extremely important, expensive solo who needs the conservator around. The solo itself does not have any melee weapon, and due to its utility the enemy will try everything to take it down. Shield it well.
  • Transfinite Emergence Projector : Shield Guard keeps the TEP safe from long-range guns, and Hand of Vengeance triggers when a Permutation Servitor is destroyed.

Caster Synergies

  • Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer : His feat turn is a real boon to an otherwise pillow-fisted melee heavy. Conservators make a good lure to run out front of your line and threaten countercharges. Keep an Inverter close by to put the hurt on anyone foolish enough to charge the Conservator.
  • Iron Mother Directrix : Imperil from her servitors buffs his damage output. And thanks to her field marshal, conservator is one hard arc node to play with.
  • Father Lucant, Divinity Architect : While losing the benefit of cheapest shield guard vector, positive charge can max out conservator's punching power and accuracy.

In Destruction Initiative you get a lot of free Servitors that get Shield Guard, allowing you to have a very easy way of activating Hand of Vengeance. You should be able to have Hand of Vengeance up just about every single turn if you make sure your Servitors are near something the opponent wants to kill, and your Conservator near said Servitor (This is easy to do when you entire army is nothing but Conservators!). This puts them at effectively P+S 17. For a 12 point Warjack with 20 armor, you can't get much more bang for your buck. Pair this with Syntherion's Synergy spell, and you are on a fast track to P+S 20.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Conservators' base P+S is terrible.
  • Hand of Vengeance requires your opponent killing your troops. They can simply not play your game.

Tricks & Tips

  • Throw away anything you can't deal with (I.E. if you don't have hand of vengeance up)
  • You can intentionally let a warrior model die to free strikes, and trigger its HoV.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.

Vectors in non-Convergence factions

  • If Aurora2, Nemo4, or Asphyxious4 die while controlling a Vector:
    • The Vector remains whatever Faction it started the game as.
    • If the Vector is re-activated by a 'Jack Marshal, its new MAT/RAT score will be 0. If the 'Jack Marshal then dies, the MAT/RAT remains 0.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Hand of Vengeance - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian     (Edit)

  • You can't use this ability vs spells.
  • You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
  • Shield Guard only
    • You can link Shield Guards together. Model A is hit, Model B uses Shield Guard to take the hit from A, then model C uses Shield Guard to take the hit from B, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
    • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
    • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)