|Warmachine||Warcaster||"Junior" Warcaster||'Jack Marshal||Warjack||Colossal||Vector||Monstrosity|
|Hordes||Warlock||Lesser Warlock||Warbeast||Gargantuan||Warbeast Pack|
|Infernals||Infernal Master||Master Infernalist||Horror|
This article goes over the core rules of colossals. The content is a repeat of the core rulebook (2018v1.pdf), plus some explanatory notes aimed at new players.
Warjack Special Rules
Make sure you are familiar with the base warjack rules, before trying to wrap your head around the Colossal rules.
- Main article: Warjack
Colossal Special Rules
The colossals are the largest and most powerful warjacks ever to stride the battlefield. As a result of their great size and raw power, there are a number of special rules that apply to colossals but not to smaller warjacks.
A colossal is a huge-based (120 mm) warjack. See below for what being Huge entails.
Controlling a Colossal
Colossals must be assigned to a battlegroup and cannot begin the game under the control of a ’jack marshal (p. 74). A colossal can never be controlled by a ’jack marshal. If a ’jack marshal reactivates an inert (p. 59) colossal, the colossal becomes autonomous (see “Autonomous Warjacks,”) instead of coming under the ’jack marshal’s control.
Your opponent can never take control of your colossal .
A colossal can advance only during its Normal Movement. A colossal can never be placed.
Ranged Attacks While in Melee
A colossal can make ranged attacks while in melee.
Damaging a Colossal
The huge-based warjacks known as colossals have two damage grids—right and left—but otherwise suffer damage like a smaller warjack.
When a colossal is damaged, the damage grid to be marked is determined by the origin of the damage suffered (see “Point of Impact & Origin of Damage,” p. 40). If the origin of damage is in the colossal’s right field of fire, the attack will damage the colossal’s right damage grid. If the origin of damage is within the colossal’s left field of fire, the attack will damage the colossal’s left damage grid.
If the colossal suffers damage from an attack and the attacker is completely within the colossal’s back arc or any part of the attacker’s base is directly in front of the colossal, the attacker chooses which damage grid takes the damage. If the origin of damage is in the colossal’s back arc or directly in front of the colossal and the source of the damage was not an attack, randomize which damage grid takes the damage.
When a colossal suffers damage without a point of origin, such as from a continuous effect, roll a d6 to determine which damage grid takes the damage. On a 1, 2, or 3 the damage is marked on the colossal’s left damage grid. On a 4, 5, or 6 the damage is marked on the colossal’s right damage grid.
Once the damage grid taking the damage has been determined, randomize which column takes the damage.
If all the damage boxes in column 6 of a colossal’s damage grid are filled, continue recording damage in column 1 (or, if column 1 is filled, the next column of that grid that contains an unmarked damage box). If all the damage boxes in a colossal’s grid are filled, continue recording damage on the other grid. Roll a d6 to determine where to apply this damage.
Note that on a colossal, the L and R system locations refer not to just the arm on that side but to the entire suite of weapons on that side. For example, if the R system is crippled, all weapons in location R suffer the effects under Crippled Weapon. Some colossals also have an S system, or superstructure. In addition to any effects of a crippled superstructure listed in a colossal’s rules, all weapons in location S suffer the effects under Crippled Weapon when the S system is crippled.
Huge Based model
- Fields of Fire (pg 39) - The front arc is divided into Left and Right. Weapons in the left can only target models on the left and vice versa.
- Note that you can draw LOS from either arc; See also this diagram
- Slam distance (pg 46) - If you Power Attack Slam something non-huge based, it's slammed an extra 2".
- Doesn't apply to non-Power Attack Slams, such as the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
- Concealment & Cover (pg 50) - This model never gains the DEF bonus from concealment or cover. It can get other effects (such as Prowl) though.
- In Melee
- (p 51) - This model never gains the target-in-melee DEF bonus.
- (p 52) - If a ranged/magic attack misses, it is not rerolled against another model in the same melee, it just misses completely.
- (p 65) - CRA can target this model even when it's in melee.
- Clouds (p 60) - Clouds never block LOS to this model.
- Elevation (p 78) - This model never gains the elevation DEF bonus.
- Forests (p 79) - Forests never block LOS to this model.