Clockwork Angels

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Convergence Logo.jpg Clockwork Angels

Convergence Unit

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Convergence of Cyriss. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

Clockwork angels are fast and deadly strike forces that utilize the innovation of true flight to remain in constant motion, eagerly disrupting all who would dare to oppose the will of Cyriss. Relying on their speed, maneuverability, and the devastating precision of their polynomial beams to surgically cripple enemy forces, the clockwork angels leave their foes weakened and vulnerable to the finishing blows of other Convergence elements.

Basic Info

Clockwork Angels
Missing Info
ClockworkAngels WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR 5
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 3
UNIT SIZE 3
COST 5
1.7 each
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

Binomial Beam
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
10 1 - 10
Binomial Blade
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 5 10

Command Attachment

They can have a Transverse Enumerator. Her info has been omitted for brevity.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Clockwork Angels

Clockwork Angels in a nutshell

Angels act as a substitute for cavalry in the Convergence army, thanks to their high speed, reposition and brutal charge. They can hunt solos, or harass soft targets, with surgical strikes from their Binomial Blades, but do not expect them to last very long in a protracted combat. Fundamentally, they are the combat unit most likely to be seen in competitive Convergence lists because they do things the vectors simply can't.

Combos & Synergies

  • Aurora1 - the only caster who can keep up with them. Her spells support them wonderfully, plus they can activate her Flank bonus.
  • Aurora2 - loves flying models, she can protect them on the advance with flying high and increase their output with dual attack and her feat
  • Prefect Hypatia - apparition increases their threat range by 2 and gives them a nice disengage if they have survived a round in melee.
  • Lucant - Deceleration brings their ARM up to 'doesn't die from blasts', and under his feat, they are actually somewhat survivable. Positive Charge helps their attacks hit home.
  • Axis - provided they live long enough to see use of his feat, they can deliver quite potent charges from afar.
  • Void Archon - There aren't many ways to get models with souls into your Strange Bedfellows lists to fuel them reliably, so a full slew of angels is very good for this alone.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Their armor is tinfoil - they die to blasts and magic attacks.
  • They are usually too fast to take advantage of the Enigma Foundry's support
  • One wound and small numbers means the unit can easily be wiped out in one turn
  • The Negation Angels are generally more tactically versatile due to gang and paralysis and with both being requisition options the increased cost for Negation angels is less relevant. The Clockwork Angels are harder to pin down due to reposition, but this doesn’t really help when one of their favourite casters Aurora2 can grant the much improved repo5 to all flying models within 9 of her.

Tricks & Tips

  • Spread out. It is their most useful tool against blast damage and electro leaps.
  • Their only defense is their speed and high DEF. Look for concealment or cover all the time, and launch hit&run raids from there.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector - Widget, Mathlete Archeologist

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge  and/or Brutal Charge     (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Blade Shield - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
  • Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
  • If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Soul Vessel      (Edit)

  • The only thing the Soul Vessel rules does is, the model produces a soul when it is destroyed as if it were a living model.
For similar logic, things that prevent living models from generating souls (such as Annihilator) also prevent Soul Vessels from generating souls. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A Soul Vessel is not a living model for the purposes of anything except soul generation & collection. Special rules that interact with living models but which aren't soul-related (such as Bloodthirst or Poison) don't do anything vs Soul Vessels.
For example: An attack that RFPs living models (such as Snacking) would normally prevent that living model from generating a soul token; but Snacking doesn't work vs non-living. So a Soul Vessel doesn't get Snacked and will produce a soul token.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain.
    • Most hazards. The exception is they do ignore Acid Bath and Burning Earth as long as they don't land in them.
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although flyers can move over obstacles/models, and horses can pause to do impacts while charging, flying horses cannot make impact attacks while overlapping models/obstacles. You need to pause in a legal position.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee ... unless the target is a huge-based model or the attacker has War-Tempered.
  • If you give the attack-leader a buff to their attack (such as Guidance) then that buff applies to the combined attack (even though the other participants don't have the buff). (Locked thread)
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)