Chosen of Everblight

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Chosen)
Jump to: navigation, search

Legion Blighted Ogrun Unit

The Chosen of Everblight are a special strain of blighted ogrun transformed by the effect of blighted blood. Once a Chosen arises from its reshaping, it towers above all others of its race, become a fusion of both rider and mount. A layer of hardened scales covers the lower half of their muscular bodies. Packs of the Chosen bound across the battlefield in great leaps, ripping apart their foes with hooked talons or their pole cleavers. The Chosen feast on the bodies of the dead, allowing their draconic flesh to knit even mortal wounds.

Basic Info[edit]

Chosen of Everblight
Missing Info
ChosenofEverblight.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 7
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8 each
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 3 / 5
COST 12 / 20
4 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Pole Cleaver - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon.
    • Brutal Charge - This model gains +2 damage on charge attacks with this weapon.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 14 mount attack.

Abilities[edit]

  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks. Click the link for the full rules text.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Rapid Healing - When a model with Rapid Healing is damaged by an enemy attack, immediately after the attack is resolved remove d3 damage points from it.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.


Thoughts on Chosen of Everblight[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Chosen of Everblight in a nutshell[edit]

The Chosen are the heavy cavalry of Ogrun Forces (and the Legion in general, but since most of the games happen in theme forces, it is all the same). The Chosen are an aggressive and straightforward unit, who can weather incoming fire better than nearly any other models in the faction and still respond in kind. Once stuck in, they hit hard in combat, and their extreme resilience against weaker (POW 10) shooting/blows mean that they can go toe to toe with all but the toughest brawlers.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Chosen were purposefully developed for the Primal Terrors theme force. Its elements can support their advance wonderfully, plus a full unit of them will unlock a free solo right away. With the 2" extra deployment zone their slower speed can be mitigated, and along with the Hellmouth they can draw fire away from the rest of your armies while they advance.

  • Anamag - An Ogrun warlock developed for an Ogrun theme force, it is hardly a surprise that there's not a single spell or ability on her card that won't work with the Chosen. Buffed strength, buffed survival, and eligibility to trigger Ritual Slaughter even with Impact attacks - you can have it all. Best is the Feign Death from Bond of Gristle & Bone, making sure that even if the enemy gunline managed to bring a Chosen down to make a Tough roll, they can't hit him with follow-up attacks to finish off.
  • Thagrosh1 - If you expect an enemy who out-threats you, Death Shroud allows you to take the charge a bit more safely, making your Chosen effectively ARM19 in melee.
  • Ammok - Enjoy Rise from his sizable CMD area, and use his Unbinding to remove pesky upkeep spells from your cavalry.
  • Blightbringer - Does a +4 STR swing from Anamag's Fury's Strength and feat sounds good? Drop in Dragon's Breath for a whooping +6 bonus for your damage rolls.
  • Blighted Rotwings - Jam the enemy, and reap the benefits of an elite MAT8 on your attacks.
  • Warmonger War Chief - An excellent choice for a free solo in the theme, his Veteran Leader ability increases your accuracy further (as well as your chances with critical knockdowns). His Blood Drinker ability also complements nicely with Rapid Healing - providing a source of possible damage removal in your turn as well as in the enemy's.
  • Golab - If you do impact attacks against Tough infantry, and don't want to rely on the Crit Knockdown, fly Golab nearby to spread his Entropic Force aura

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Vulnerable to pop&drop techs, and tricks that deny Tough/healing (Grievous Wounds, Sniper, RFP attacks, etc)
  • Big and expensive targets.
  • They have no access to Tactics or Practiced Maneuvers. Position them carefully.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Rapid Healing triggers only after the attack is being resolved. If you've been killed (and failed your Tough check, if eligible), there will be no healing.
    • On that note, a passed Tough check will likely make you eligible for Rapid Healing, meaning that a supposed-to-be-killed Chosen can come back with 2-4 health boxes.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in the Primal Terrors CID (2018.01) Hmmm Dragon ogres anyone?

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Legion models[edit]

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2
Other Warbeast Controllers Beast Mistress
Lesser & Packs Lesser Warbeasts: Shredder - Harrier - Stinger - Warbeast Packs: Blight Wasps
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy Angelius - Carnivean - Neraph - Ravagore - Scythean - Seraph
Azrael - Golab - Proteus - Typhon - Zuriel
Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel
Blackfrost Shard
Solos Beast Mistress - B.N Shepher - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Forsaken - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - B.O. Warmonger War Chief
Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Fyanna the Lash - Craelix
Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge      (Edit)

  • If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rapid Healing      (Edit)

  • A warlock with Rapid Healing can transfer damage to a warbeast, then still trigger Rapid Healing because they're still considered to have been damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)