Category:Chain Lightning

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Chain Lightning)
Jump to: navigation, search
COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Chain Lightning

3 10 - 10 (Electric) - Yes
A model hit by Chain Lightning suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll, and lightning arcs from that model to d3 consecutive additional models. The lightning arcs to the nearest model it arced to within 4" of the last model it arced to, ignoring this model. Each model the lightning arcs to suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attack. Chain Lightning damage rolls are simultaneous. Edit this spell template
Chain Lightning

(★ Attack) 10 - 10 (Electric) - Yes
A model hit by Chain Lightning suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll, and lightning arcs from that model to d3 consecutive additional models. The lightning arcs to the nearest model it arced to within 4" of the last model it arced to, ignoring this model. Each model the lightning arcs to suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attack. Chain Lightning damage rolls are simultaneous. Edit this spell template


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Chain Lightning      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Spells that "arc" (Edit)
    • For spells that cause damage to "leap" or "arc" to adjacent models (Chain Lightning, Eruption of Spines, Ashes to Ashes, etc) ...
    • The damage is from a spell, so it is magical damage. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Steamroller flags are models, and so are eligible to be leaped to/from (although they won't be damaged by the spell). (Infernal Ruling)
      • Check whether your spell specifies "enemy model" or just "model", because as of Steamroller 2017 flags are not enemy or friendly.
Not considered an attack (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
  • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
  • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
  • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
  • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:
  • Damage Type (Edit)
    • This spell does elemental damage in addition to magical damage, not instead of magical damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Pages in category "Chain Lightning"

    The following 6 pages are in this category, out of 6 total.