Cephalyx Overlords

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Cryx Logo.jpg Cephalyx Overlords

Mercenary, & Cryx Partisan, Cephalyx Unit

As little as surface dwellers know of the cephalyx, they know even less about the subterranean race's cruel overlords. These dark beings project an alien menace as they hover in the shadows and mentally direct lesser cephalyx in enigmatic errands. That overlords control cephalyx society seems clear, though the details of their hierarchy remains as mysterious as their telepathic communication. With their bulbous and distended heads protected behind smooth shells of leather and brass with multiple glowing eyes, overlords appear even more inhuman than their slaver counterparts.

Basic Info[edit]

  • Mercenary - Will work as a Cryx Partisan
  • Partisan [Cryx] - When included in a Cryx army, this model/unit is a Cryx model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
  • Selective - this model can only be included in a Mercenary force that is using a Cephalyx theme.
Cephalyx Overlords
Missing Info
Cephalyx-Overlords.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD 7
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE 3
COST 8
2.7 each
N/A
FA 3
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Anatomical Precision - When this model's melee damage roll fails to exceed the ARM of the living model hit, that model suffers 1 damage point. A model disabled by a melee attack made by this model cannot make a Tough roll.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Influence (★ Attack) - 10" range, magic attack that does no damage. Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model hit. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.
    • Psychic Assault (★ Attack) - Range Spray 8 POW 12 Magic Attack. This attack ignores LOS.
  • Veteran Leader [Drudge] - While in this model's command range, other friendly Drudge models gain +1 to attack rolls.

Weapons[edit]

  • Prosthetic Blade - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.

Theme Forces[edit]

  • Cryx
As a Mercenary unit, Cephalyx Overlords can go in every Cryx theme but it uses your "Up to one Merc" slot (most of the time).


Thoughts on Cephalyx Overlords[edit]

Cephalyx Overlords in a nutshell[edit]

Cephalyx Overlords have three uses:

  1. A nasty spray to kill enemy infantry.
  2. Influence (which is situational but can be awesome).
  3. And most importantly Veteran Leader (if you're using them in a Merc force; in a Cryx force it tends to be their least important use).

If you're using them in a Mercenary force, you'll be using the Operating Theatre theme and so you'll be able to get at least one unit of Overlords for free (although two free units is possible).

Combos and Synergies[edit]

  • Mercenary
    • Given that, in an Operating Theatre force, Drudges form the backbone of your army, these guys are integral to getting the most out of both your Bender and Slaver units.
  • Cryx
    • You can field them alongside the Cephalyx Slaver unit for the Veteran Leader synergy, as both are Cryx Partisans.
    • Scaverous likes a unit of them on his feat turn. 3 sprays with boosted attack rolls? Yes please.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • The Selective rule means that, unlike most Mercenary units, these guys:
    • Cannot be taken in a pure Mercenary force (out of theme)
    • Cannot be taken in a Faction theme force, even if it allows "up to one Mercenary unit."
    • Basically, if you purchase these models, the number of different lists you can potentially field them in is much smaller.
  • Paper mache armor; POW 11 hits kill them on average damage rolls.
  • If your opponent has "spot removal" tools, they can snipe out the Overlords before they achieve anything useful.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Keep the unit spread out and mixed in with the Drudges. That bonus really helps.
  • Given that you can cast spells in melee, you'll often be better using a Pyschic Assault spray than you would a single melee attack.
    • It depends on who is in your face, though - sometimes that Anatomical Precision bonus can be game-changing.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Other Faction models[edit]

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates
Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02
Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae
Non-Casters "Junior" Warcaster Crosse1
'Jack Marshal Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender -

Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator

Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - River Raider

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Steelhead - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Partisan      (Edit)

  • Partisans are normally "friendly Faction" to other Mercenary models. However, when taken in the [Partisan Faction] it is "friendly Faction" to that Faction and not to any other Mercenaries that are in that force.
    • For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
  • When taken in a Mercenary army, Partisan units may not take attachments from their [Partisan Faction] (eg Nyss Hunters can only take a Retribution Soulless Escort when they're fielded in a Retribution army). (Locked thread)
  • When taken in their [Partisan Faction], they can't have a Ranking Officer attached.
  • Partisan warcasters
    • If you have a Partisan caster, you must choose whether your army is a Mercenary force or a [Partisan Faction] force. What warjacks the caster can take are then limited by your choice.
    • Partisan casters can be taken in [Partisan Faction] theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
    • Partisan casters can be fielded in multiple-caster games. (Locked thread)
      See also the Category: Partisan for what happens if you mix and match Partisan casters and Merc casters in multi-caster games.
  • Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
    1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
    • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
      • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
      • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Selective and/or Limited Employment     (Edit)

  • Selective models that can work for a faction can, indeed, work for that faction ... despite Selective's poorly worded "this model can only work in a Mercenary Theme Force" clause. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When working outside their theme, they can have non-theme attachments (eg Madelyn). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blight Storm and/or Anatomical Precision and/or Affliction     (Edit)

  • With an AOE, only the model directly hit by the AOE will take auto-damage, other models in the AOE take normal damage.
  • You don't get auto-damage on stuff which isn't an attack, like Electro Leap and Flak Field.
  • If someone is immune to damage, you can't trigger the auto-damage vs them. Because you never got a damage roll in the first place. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When this ability is triggered by a spell (ie Blight Storm or Affliction) then that does not change the source of the damage to the caster, nor change the damage type to magical.
    It merely changes the result of a damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Influence      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Psychic Assault      (Edit)

  • Ignore LOS (Edit)
    • Since you ignore LOS, you can target models in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
    • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)