From LOS Warmachine University
See also 101 - Card Icons
Incorporeal for newbies
- This model can walk through walls, terrain, models, and just about anything else.
- It can't be damaged except by things which have Damage Type: Magical.
- But it can be hit by "mundane" weapons, and it can still get knocked down, blinded, etcetera from attacks that hit it.
- When this model makes a melee or ranged attack it loses Incorporeal until its next activation.
- Incorporeal gets complicated if you lose it while overlapping another model and/or terrain - see the rules clarifications.
|| Incorporeal - This model treats all non-impassable terrain as open terrain while advancing. It can move through obstructions and through other models if it has enough movement to move completely past them. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle, an obstruction, or another model. Other models, including slammed, pushed, or thrown models, can move through this model without effect if they have enough movement to move completely past it. This model does not count as an intervening model. This model is immune to continuous effects and non-magical damage. This model cannot be moved by a push, slam, or throw. When this model makes a melee or ranged attack, before the attack roll is made it loses Incorporeal until the start of its next activation. This model cannot make free strikes while Incorporeal.
Rules Clarification: : Incorporeal (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|Damage & Debuffs
- All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
- If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
- "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
Incorporeal models moving
- If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
- If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
- If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
- Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
- If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
- If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
- (Infernal Ruling)
- Charging through models (Edit)
- You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
- Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
- Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
- You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
Moving through an Incorporeal model
- A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
- The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
- A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
- If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
- Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
This category has the following 5 subcategories, out of 5 total.
Pages in category "Incorporeal"
The following 13 pages are in this category, out of 13 total.