Category:Cavalry

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

Cavalry for newbies

A Cavalry model which charges

  • Can "pause" mid-charge and make Impact Attacks (see below) with its Mount.
  • It cannot use its Mount during its Combat Action.
  • If it makes a successful charge it gets a boosted to-hit roll and a boosted damage roll against its charge target.

A Cavalry model which doesn't charge

  • Can use its Mount during its Combat Action as an extra initial melee attack.

A unit of Cavalry that gets the Press Forward order:

  • Since each model is moved one at a time, the "pause" to do Impact Attacks is done one at a time. So it goes, move model A, pause to do Impact Attacks, finish moving model A. Then move model B, pause to do Impact Attacks, etc.
  • Models in the unit that move less than 3" don't get to make Impact Attacks and don't get to use their Mount as an extra initial attack.

Impact Attacks:

  • If you charge more than 3", and get in B2B with a model, you can "pause" to make Impact Attacks.
  • You have to pause in a legal position, not overlapping obstacles or other models.
  • Once paused, if your charge target is in your Mount's melee range, you have to turn to directly face your charge target. And you count as making a successful charge.
  • Once paused (and turned to face your charge target if applicable), you make an attack with your Mount vs every model in the Mount's range (friendly and enemy).
  • Once you finish these Impact Attacks, you continue your movement towards your original charge target (if you haven't already reached it).
    If the Impact Attacks didn't kill everything in your charge lane, and you don't have a special rule letting you move through them, then your charge movement will stop when you contact them.

See also the Rules Clarifications section below for some corner-case interactions.

Official Rules

Cavalry symbol.jpg Cavalry

In addition to all the standard rules for models of their types (battle engine, warcaster, etc), cavalry models have the following additional rules in common.

    Mount Attacks    

A cavalry model’s Mount not only provides transportation but also is a weapon in its own right. Mount attacks are melee attacks with a 0.5˝ melee range. A cavalry model using its Combat Action for melee attacks can make one initial attack with its Mount just as with any other melee weapon.

Mount attacks are resolved normally except that the STR of the cavalry model is not added to Mount damage. The damage roll for a Mount attack is 2d6 plus only the POW of the Mount.

Mount Melee Attack Damage Roll = 2d6 + POW of Mount

Mounts are indicated by a horseshoe icon in their stat bars.

    Cavalry Charge    
Cavalry models gain boosted charge attack rolls.

    Impact Attacks    

A cavalry model cannot make an initial melee attack with its Mount during an activation it charged. Instead, a charging cavalry model uses its Mount to make impact attacks. If a charging cavalry model contacts another model during its charge movement and has moved at least 3˝, it can stop and make impact attacks with its Mount (see “Mount Attacks,” above) against all models in the Mount’s melee range. The cavalry model makes these attacks even if it is out of formation. Impact attack and damage rolls cannot be boosted. Impact attacks are simultaneous. After resolving the impact attacks, the charging cavalry model resumes its charge movement. The charging model does not resume its movement if it is pushed, slammed, thrown, or placed while it was stopped. It cannot make further impact attacks during this charge. If the charging cavalry model did not move at least 3˝ before contacting the other model, it does not make any impact attacks and must stop its movement at that point.

If the cavalry model chooses to make an impact attack against its charge target, before making any impact attacks the model turns to face the charge target and its charge movement ends. If the impact attack destroys the charge target, it does not result in a failed charge.

Dragoons

Main article: Dragoon

Dragoons are a special kind of Cavalry model that have a mounted version and a dismounted version. Essentially they have two damage tracks and when the first is filled you replace the horse with the man. They generally lose 1 or more special abilities while dismounted.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Cavalry model with no melee weapon
    • If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
    • You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
    • Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't attack it. You can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
    • If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

See Also

Pages in category "Cavalry"

The following 64 pages are in this category, out of 64 total.