Castigator

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Protectorate Logo.jpg Castigator

Protectorate Heavy Warjack

The Reckoner was heralded as the first warjack entirely of Menite design. It lights the way for the faithful with its cannon as it charges across the battlefield and then smashes anything still standing with its club. Based on the same design, the Castigator brings Menoth’s Fury to its enemies with its flaming fists and the ability to ignite the surrounding air with flesh-cremating heat. The Sanctifier is employed in battle to ensure the spirits of the righteous are ushered to Urcaen; as battle wears on, it becomes a vessel for Menite souls, fueling its power even as it protects the righteous.

Basic Info[edit]

Castigator
CastigatorPlastic.jpg
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 6
DEF 10
ARM 19
HP 32
COST 12
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Flame Fist (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapons.
    • Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in Maintenance phase of owner's turn until the fire expires.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.

Abilities[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for non-character warjacks (Edit)


Thoughts on Castigator[edit]

Castigator in a nutshell[edit]

The Castigator is a good "beat-stick" type of 'jack, having high armor, enough movement to get it where you need it, and a few surprises for your opponent up its armored sleeves. With all of this, and being only a few points more than a stock Crusader, the Castigator is a heck of a bargain.

Some players consider the P+S to be a bit "pillow-fisted", but to make up for that it has two automatic continuous fire attacks (other warjacks are lucky to have one critical fire attack). This can give the Castigator a more consistent damage output versus opponents that can't be "one-rounded", and also you get TWO OPEN FISTS to throw things around with. "Hey Sorcha! Catch!"

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • The combination of Ashen Veil & Combustion makes the Castigator a fantastic choice when confronting Hordes armies, given that you're more likely to be facing living models.
  • The Castigator's fire immunity means that you can safely get the Castigator into the thick of the fight and still happily spray flaming death on your foes.
  • Warcasters like Malekus and Feora work quite well with the Castigator as it is a fire-themed warjack. Spells such as Ignite, and fire based feats, work really well with the Castigator's continuous fire fists.
  • Durst with Bulwark up or Harbinger with Awe makes this DEF 14 against living
  • Choir's Battle Hymn works on Combustion and Combustion can be boosted. Since the castigator is not a popular warjack a sudden autohitting boosted pwr 14 will surprise many opponents

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • While a good jack overall, the Castigator is missing out on any kind of ranged attack. Then again, it's not designed to fill that role.
  • Being a SPD 5 warjack with melee-only weapons, it is susceptible to opponents that can slow it down or otherwise keep it out of melee. Be wary of things that can push it around or knock it down (like Arcane Tempest Gun Mages and their Thunderbolt shots).

Tips & Tricks[edit]

  • Combustion can't be used after charging, because it is not tied to a melee weapon.
  • Combustion is best used after your opponent just swamped you with infantry. Also, since it isn't tied to any System, you can always use Combustion no matter how much they just beat you up.
  • Combustion is great vs models that otherwise can't be targeted by melee attacks.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
  • The Castigator is sold as a plastic multi-set with options to assemble a Reckoner or Sanctifier.

Other Protectorate Models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack
Elias Gade - Hand of Silence - Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Severius0 - Covenant
Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veil and/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combustion      (Edit)

  • You cannot use Combustion after charging.
    Because when you charge you must make either A) initial melee attacks, B) a special melee attack, C) a non-melee special attack that explicitly says you can use it after charging (such as Rain of Death).
    Combustion is a non-melee special attack and it doesn't say it can be used on a charge.