Captain Jonas Murdoch

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg Captain Jonas Murdoch

Cygnar Trencher Character Command Attachment - (Ranking Officer)

Jonas Murdoch is a tough-as-nails trencher captain who can take even the worst mercenary scum and whip them into soldiers any Cygnaran officer would be proud to lead. Under his command, a mercenary unit functions as part of the army of Cygnar

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

As of 2019.09, PP has removed

Basic Info

Captain Jonas Murdoch
Missing Info
Murdoch.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Attachment [Small- or Medium-based Mercenary] - This model can be added to a small- or medium-based mercenary unit.
  • Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Cygnar models instead of Mercenary models.

Abilities

  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Trencher - He's a Trencher model, but other models in his unit are not.
  • Go to Ground (Minifeat) - Once per game, models in this unit can gain cover and immunity to blast damage and will not block LOS for one round. The effect on each model ends after one round or if that model moves or is placed or engaged.
  • Granted: Assault - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Assault.

Weapons

  • Carbine - 10" range, POW 10 ranged attack
  • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee attack

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • He was removed from most themes


Thoughts on Captain Jonas Murdoch

Captain Jonas Murdoch in a nutshell

Captain Jonas Murdoch is a ranking officer - a model who takes control of a unit of Mercenaries and makes them Cygnaran while he's alive. He also gives that unit Assault and can protect them from incoming fire.

There are three different reasons you'll include Murdoch:

  1. You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from your Cygnar caster onto a Mercenary unit.
  2. You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from a Mercenary unit onto your own forces.
  3. You want to include a Mercenary unit, and they will get better if you give them Go to Ground and/or Assault.

Combos & Synergies

"Friendly Faction" buffs

  • Aiyana (and Holt too, I guess) - She can hand out a +2 damage buff or magic weapons to Cygnar models, as long as Murdoch is with her. It's a 12 pts package all together, but if you need it it's worth it.
    • Go to Ground also puts her DEF up to stellar levels, and eliminates her inherent weakness vs blast damage.

Mercs that want Murdoch

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model.
  • If he goes so do his ability - and the unit is no longer Cygnaran

Tricks & Tips

  • Go to Ground the turn before you charge in.
  • Even after Murdoch's death you can spend focus to upkeep friendly spells that are already in play on the mercenary unit - you just cannot re-cast it on them, or change for another one, as they're now only friendly models instead of friendly faction.

Other

Trivia

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
    • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
    • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
      For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
    • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
      Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
      But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
      Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Ranking Officer      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

    • General
      • If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
        For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
      • A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly Faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
      • You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
      • You can't add a Ranking Officer to a unit that already acts as a Partisan for your Faction.
    • Gaining abilities
      • The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Cylena1 giving her unit Hunter).
      • Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
        This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
      • If you add a RO to a unit with Ambush, the RO can Ambush too. (Locked thread)
    • Ranking Officer death
      • The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly-Faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
      • The merc unit will keep any friendly-Faction spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
      • If the merc unit is supplying a buff to 'friendly-Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap Factions' too.
        For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same Faction as her, not whatever was friendly-Faction at the time she cast it. (Infernal Ruling)
      • If the Merc unit got a Faction-specific theme benefit (such as Cygnar models getting Immmunity Electricity in Storm Division) then they keep that benefit even after the Ranking Officer dies. (Infernal Ruling)
    • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
      • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
      • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Go to Ground      (Edit)

    • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
      • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
      1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
      2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
        • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
        • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
      3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
      4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
      6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
        (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
      7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
      8. Units: See below.

      • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
      • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

      Units with "Any Time" abilities
      • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
      • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
        Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • So, for example:
        • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

    • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
    • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
    RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
    (Click Expand to read)

    General

    Step 1: Declare the charge

    1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
      • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
      • If no, continue to Step 2.
    2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
      • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

    Step 2: Move the charging model

    1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
      • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
      • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
    2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata.
    3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
      • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
    4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects. (after this, you can make the ranged attack).
      • Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
    5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
    6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    Tip lightbulb.png

    Tip !
    Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

    Step 3: Make the ranged attack

    1. The ranged attack is optional.
    2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
    3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
    4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
      • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
      • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
      • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

    Step 4: If you miss

    1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
    2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

    Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

    1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
    2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
      • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
      • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
    3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


    Units

    • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
    • Assault & CRA (Edit)
      • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

    Other

    • Warbeasts
      • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
    • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
      • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
      • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
        • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
        • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
    • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
      • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
      • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
        • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
        • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
        • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).