Theme - Call of the Wild

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Call of the Wild)
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Crucible Guard (one year review) Lukas (one year review)


Circle Logo.jpg Theme - Call of the Wild

Circle Theme Force
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt

Beast masters of the Circle Orboros are right to be proud of the powerful warbeasts they add to their order’s arsenal. When large numbers of these beasts are brought together, they can deal a decisive blow against the Circle’s many enemies. The warbeasts’ natural ferocity fuels them in battle to eradicate any opposition.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Call of the Wild theme force can include only the following Circle models:

Theme Bonuses

  1. This army can include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every full 25 points of living Circle warbeasts in this army, you can add one Circle solo or Shifting Stone unit for free.
  3. The COST of all animi cast by warbeasts is reduced by 1.
  4. Gain +1 to your starting roll


Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update
  • The Well of Orboros was released, and this theme's rules were immediately rewritten to allow it.


     
Models allowed in Call of the Wild   (Edit)  
This list was last updated: 2018.09

Warlocks

  • All Circle warlocks

Warbeasts

  • All living non-character warbeasts.
  • Brennos the Elderhorn
  • Other character warbeasts can be taken (Living or otherwise), but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
List of Beasts    
Light

Gargantuan

      Heavy

Character

Structures

Units

Solos

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Thoughts on this Theme Force

Call of the Wild in a nutshell

Ever go "Hmm I want to tear everything apart with packs of warpwolves"? Then this is the list! Also the animus cost bonus makes it very viable to start casting them like crazy. With Blackclad Wayfarers giving hunters mark your warbeasts are going to be extremely economical in thrashing things (as long as your support pieces live of course).

In terms of what models are available, there's a lot of overlap with The Bones of Orboros and Secret Masters, so any of the three themes are a good option to start a new Circle collection.

Theme's weaknesses and Overcoming them

  • No normal units aside from shifting stones and minions. This is bad when you need such units to win.
  • Running pure beasts in high point games gets tricky as opposed to pure jacks. Make sure that Fury is under control!

List Building Tips

  • The problem with the free models isn't what to take, but how many of which you want! Try to find your sweetspot of Stones, Stoneshapers, and Wayfarers. Wilder is a must though.
  • It may be useful to have a minion like Maximus to have a combat solo, or a Gremlin Swarm for contesting.

Building Call of the Wild at 25 points

Call of the Wild is a good list to start with - and if you can't think of anything to use here's a good place to start that manages to fit ten free points into a 25 point list.

Casters of Note

  • Tanith's feat is counterproductive for cost 1 animi (refer Infernal Ruling in the Rules Clarifications, below, for full explanation).
    • Animi that normally cost 3, will cost 2 on non-feat turns and cost 1 on feat turn.
    • Animi that normally cost 2, will cost 1 on all turns.
    • Animi that normally cost 1, will cost 0 on non-feat turns, and go back to costing 1 on feat turn.
  • Oh hi Kaya1, Kaya2, Kaya3. Whats that? You don't do anything to help infantry? Only Beasts? Oh my!
  • Taking Una2 prevents you from taking Una1, who is the only Circle Lesser Warlock available.

Other

Trivia

  • Spoiled 2017.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Models in this Theme Force

Refer to Category: Call of the Wild

Other themes

List of All Theme Forces       (Edit List)      
Cygnar Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith (Edit)
Khador Armored Corps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
Crucible Guard Magnum Opus - Prima Materia (Edit)
 
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)