Theme - Bump in the Night

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Bump in the Night)
Jump to: navigation, search
Grymkin Logo.jpg Theme - Bump in the Night

Grymkin Theme Force
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

The grymkin are not an organized military force. They do not come to battle in regimented formations; indeed, they attack with scarcely any perceivable order at all. When a mass of motley grymkin lumber to war in the service of their masters, they advance as a haphazard but terrifying horde. Descending upon a viceridden population, they indulge in their unique appetites as they demand their due of wicked humanity.

Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces are changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period between the end of 2019.07 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The Remixed version became officially available on the 26th July.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Bump in the Night theme force can include only the following Grmykin models:

Full model list

The models allowed in Bump in the Night are:   [Show/Hide]

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point pm either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Grymkin warrior models in the army gain Rise.
    • Rise - If this model is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.
  2. You can reroll your starting roll for the game. Your starting game roll can only be rerolled once as a result of this special rule.

Recent Changes

2019.02 Cornucopia special

2019.03 Grymkin New Models & Errata

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Theme no longer gives one unit of Murder Crows Ambush (but instead they have it innately).
  • Theme now gives a reroll to the starting roll.
  • The new RQ model, Weird Wendell, added to the list of allowed models.

Theme Rules - Old Version

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]

An army made use the Bump in the Night theme force can include only the following Grmykin models:

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. You may also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Grymkin.
    • These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Grymkin] rule.
    • Minion units in this army can include attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 20 points of Grymkin units and Grymkin battle engines in this army you can add free of cost either:
    • one Malady Man unit, or
    • one command attachment, or
    • one weapon attachment, or
    • one solo
    Free models/units do not count toward the total point value of models/units when calculating this bonus.
  3. Grymkin warrior models in the army gain Rise.
    • Rise - If this model is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.
  4. Murder Crow units in this army gain Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Thoughts on Bump

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Initial Thoughts on the Remix

Very little has changed on this theme other than the ability to take two Trapperkin as a free option and getting to reroll your starting roll. All the old guidance other than maximising points is still substantially accurate.

Bump in a nutshell

Bump in the Night is an infantry theme with an emphasis on skirmishing. Rise is directly relevant for Dread Rots and Piggybacks because of Tough, and is just generally useful for infantry looking to pick fights with heavy warjacks & warbeasts. All of the units and the Death Knell will contribute to free points, and it is thus generally advised to try and keep at least 60 of 75 points devoted to units (or the Death Knell) to maximize free slots. Ambush is extremely strong on the Murder Crows, so strong in fact that is generally advised to always Ambush with the Murder Crows. All but two models currently released for Grymkin can be played in Bump, with the most notable of the two exclusions being Gremlin Swarms due to their extremely potent scenario presence. Bump is thus a very open theme with lots of list building options, which only looks to expand as Wave 2 releases in the Spring of 2019.

Theme weaknesses

No Gremlins
Gremlin Swarms are one of the best scenario contesting models in the game. This is not a major weakness, due to the wide variety of skrimishing options available in Bump, but it is notable due to how effective these models are at triggering arcana or contesting enemy scoring positions.

No Lady
The absence of Lady Karianna Rose leaves you with no fury management outside your warlock. This again is not a major weakness for Bump, due to the strong incentive to include lots of units (or the Death Knell) instead of having a large battlegroup, as well as Grymkin warlocks generally high FURY stat.

Skirmish Focus
All of the currently released Grymkin units fall into either the Support or Skirmish category. Support units are very useful, but do little work by themselves, existing as they do to enhance other elements of the army. Skirmishers are generally good at occupying space, but not necessarily taking or holding that space. Dread Rots are cheap and hit well above their points thanks to Weapon Master. Hollowmen have Combined Range Attack & Blood Boon via the Lantern Man, giving them a reliable source of both damage and additional bodies for the unit. Neigh Slayers have Armor-Piercing, making them extremely effective at fighting up into large targets with high natural ARM. However all of these units lack for staying power, and can easily be taking off the table by almost every kind of attack in the game. While your troops might be cheap, they die like they are cheap.

Limited Shooting
While Bump does provide access to up to two units of Hollowmen, the lack of any kind of heavier ranged attacks means that the enemy has little to fear when engaging a Bump in the Night army at range. This is a big weakness of Grymkin in general, lessened somewhat by solo options such as Lord Longfellow and the Witchwood which can provide some ranged output to support the Hollowmen.

Slow Corpse Economy
Unlike Dark Menagerie, a Death Knell in Bump in the Night does not start the game with any corpses and thus does not start the game with its defensive aura switched on. This can be a problem in the initial engagement, especially at range, often putting a soft cap on how rapidly the Bump force can advance up the table on the first couple of turns. This problem will sort itself out thanks to the abundance of weak troops which will inevitably die, but it is absolutely worth considering when playing with the Death Knell or the Grymkin heavies.

List building tips

Bump in the Night is a very open theme, with five major units (and the Death Knell) to consider as well as numerous support options. The battlegroup is even more diverse thanks to Grymkin's wide variety of unique 'beasts. Like with Dark Menagerie, Bump in the Night lists thus tend to be built around what their warlock provides. Generally speaking Bump will focus on scenario play or attrition, lacking the kind of long range threats or movement shenanigans which make assassination lists work.

  • Murder Crows are a good choice, as they gain Ambush from the theme benefit allowing them to get into the enemy army where their combination of Gang & Prey can wreck havoc on larger targets
  • Hollowmen are in many ways the signature unit of Bump thanks to their unique role as Grymkin's sole ranged unit. That isn't to say that all Bump lists must include the Hollowmen, indeed it is often better to omit their inclusion to allow you to take another unit which hits harder in melee.
  • Neighslayers are extremely hard hitting thanks to Armor-Piercing, able to trade up with little effort into seemingly impregnable targets. Of special note is how they interact with the Heretic's Fury spell, as well as his Prey-like arcana.
  • Piggybacks are very resilient thanks to Tough & Impervious Flesh, much more so than their stats would suggest. They were the Grymkin unit most in need of help, which in Grymkin Wave 2 they got with the arrival of the Piggyback Officer. Generally speaking these big boys won't see play without the Officer, though builds which merely make use of the Death Knell do exist.
  • Dread Rots are the chaff of Grymkin. Only 1.2 points per model, they are an extremely cheap source of Weapon Master which if delivered can cause disproportionate damage to the enemy. However they do need a delivery mechanism, such as Zevanna Agha's 18" Windstorm.
  • The Death Knell, while a staple of Dark Menagerie, is less so in the theme which can provide it with an overabundance of corpses. The main issue with the battle engine is how long it can take before its defensive aura becomes relevant, and how much longer it can take for their to be extra corpses to pass to a Skin & Moans (or Cage Rager, or Grave Ghoul). The Death Knell is recommended, though not essential, when running lots of Dread Rots or Piggybacks (or both). +2 ARM on the Piggybacks pushes them to 19 (20 if Grymkin Wave 2 changes hold), which with Impervious Flesh makes them immune to unboosted POW 13s (or perhaps even 14s).

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Caster Thoughts




Released 2017.09

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser



Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler


Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters


Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rise      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]