The grymkin are not an organized military force. They do not come to battle in regimented formations; indeed, they attack with scarcely any perceivable order at all. When a mass of motley grymkin lumber to war in the service of their masters, they advance as a haphazard but terrifying horde. Descending upon a viceridden population, they indulge in their unique appetites as they demand their due of wicked humanity.
| An army made use the Bump in the Night theme force can include only the following Grmykin models:
Full model list
The models allowed in Bump in the Night
This list was last updated: 2019.01 (Edit)
- You may also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Grymkin.
- These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Grymkin] rule.
- Minion units in this army can include attachments, including a Ranking Officer
- For every 20 points of Grymkin units and Grymkin battle engines in this army you can add free of cost either:
- one Malady Man unit, or
- one command attachment, or
- one weapon attachment, or
- one solo
- Free models/units do not count toward the total point value of models/units when calculating this bonus.
- Grymkin warrior models in the army gain Rise.
- Rise - If this model is knocked down, at the beginning of your next Maintenance Phase it stands up for free.
- Murder Crow units in this army gain Ambush.
- Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
| 2019.02 Cornucopia special
2019.03 Grymkin New Models & Errata
Thoughts on Bump
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.
Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.
Bump in a nutshell
Bump in the Night is an infantry theme with an emphasis on skirmishing. Rise is directly relevant for Dread Rots and Piggybacks because of Tough, and is just generally useful for infantry looking to pick fights with heavy warjacks & warbeasts. All of the units and the Death Knell will contribute to free points, and it is thus generally advised to try and keep at least 60 of 75 points devoted to units (or the Death Knell) to maximize free slots. Ambush is extremely strong on the Murder Crows, so strong in fact that is generally advised to always Ambush with the Murder Crows. All but two models currently released for Grymkin can be played in Bump, with the most notable of the two exclusions being Gremlin Swarms due to their extremely potent scenario presence. Bump is thus a very open theme with lots of list building options, which only looks to expand as Wave 2 releases in the Spring of 2019.
Gremlin Swarms are one of the best scenario contesting models in the game. This is not a major weakness, due to the wide variety of skrimishing options available in Bump, but it is notable due to how effective these models are at triggering arcana or contesting enemy scoring positions.
The absence of Lady Karianna Rose leaves you with no fury management outside your warlock. This again is not a major weakness for Bump, due to the strong incentive to include lots of units (or the Death Knell) instead of having a large battlegroup, as well as Grymkin warlocks generally high FURY stat.
All of the currently released Grymkin units fall into either the Support or Skirmish category. Support units are very useful, but do little work by themselves, existing as they do to enhance other elements of the army. Skirmishers are generally good at occupying space, but not necessarily taking or holding that space. Dread Rots are cheap and hit well above their points thanks to Weapon Master. Hollowmen have Combined Range Attack & Blood Boon via the Lantern Man, giving them a reliable source of both damage and additional bodies for the unit. Neigh Slayers have Armor-Piercing, making them extremely effective at fighting up into large targets with high natural ARM. However all of these units lack for staying power, and can easily be taking off the table by almost every kind of attack in the game. While your troops might be cheap, they die like they are cheap.
While Bump does provide access to up to two units of Hollowmen, the lack of any kind of heavier ranged attacks means that the enemy has little to fear when engaging a Bump in the Night army at range. This is a big weakness of Grymkin in general, lessened somewhat by solo options such as Lord Longfellow and the Witchwood which can provide some ranged output to support the Hollowmen.
Slow Corpse Economy
Unlike Dark Menagerie, a Death Knell in Bump in the Night does not start the game with any corpses and thus does not start the game with its defensive aura switched on. This can be a problem in the initial engagement, especially at range, often putting a soft cap on how rapidly the Bump force can advance up the table on the first couple of turns. This problem will sort itself out thanks to the abundance of weak troops which will inevitably die, but it is absolutely worth considering when playing with the Death Knell or the Grymkin heavies.
List building tips
Bump in the Night is a very open theme, with five major units (and the Death Knell) to consider as well as numerous support options. The battlegroup is even more diverse thanks to Grymkin's wide variety of unique 'beasts. Like with Dark Menagerie, Bump in the Night lists thus tend to be built around what their warlock provides. Generally speaking Bump will focus on scenario play or attrition, lacking the kind of long range threats or movement shenanigans which make assassination lists work.
- Murder Crows are a good choice, as they gain Ambush from the theme benefit allowing them to get into the enemy army where their combination of Gang & Prey can wreck havoc on larger targets
- Hollowmen are in many ways the signature unit of Bump thanks to their unique role as Grymkin's sole ranged unit. That isn't to say that all Bump lists must include the Hollowmen, indeed it is often better to omit their inclusion to allow you to take another unit which hits harder in melee.
- Neighslayers are extremely hard hitting thanks to Armor-Piercing, able to trade up with little effort into seemingly impregnable targets. Of special note is how they interact with the Heretic's Fury spell, as well as his Prey-like arcana.
- Piggybacks are very resilient thanks to Tough & Impervious Flesh, much more so than their stats would suggest. They were the Grymkin unit most in need of help, which in Grymkin Wave 2 they got with the arrival of the Piggyback Officer. Generally speaking these big boys won't see play without the Officer, though builds which merely make use of the Death Knell do exist.
- Dread Rots are the chaff of Grymkin. Only 1.2 points per model, they are an extremely cheap source of Weapon Master which if delivered can cause disproportionate damage to the enemy. However they do need a delivery mechanism, such as Zevanna Agha's 18" Windstorm.
- The Death Knell, while a staple of Dark Menagerie, is less so in the theme which can provide it with an overabundance of corpses. The main issue with the battle engine is how long it can take before its defensive aura becomes relevant, and how much longer it can take for their to be extra corpses to pass to a Skin & Moans (or Cage Rager, or Grave Ghoul). The Death Knell is recommended, though not essential, when running lots of Dread Rots or Piggybacks (or both). +2 ARM on the Piggybacks pushes them to 19 (20 if Grymkin Wave 2 changes hold), which with Impervious Flesh makes them immune to unboosted POW 13s (or perhaps even 14s).
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Other Grymkin models
Rules Clarification : Ambush (Edit)
- When a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
- If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models [Show/Hide]
- If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
- There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
- There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter [Show/Hide]
- The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)