Buccaneer

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
As of 2022.08 Warmachine University has turned into an archive for Mk3 rules (3rd Edition).
Refer to the Privateer Press website for all modern Mk4 (4th Edition) related content.

This site has been kept online for any players who want to continue using Mk3 rules and/or anyone who wants to compare Mk4 Legacy models to Mk3 models.
Privateer Press have an official wiki that covers all their main game systems, and my understanding is that Warmachine Mk4 will be on the PP wiki.

More information can be found on the Talk:Main Page area of this wiki.

Mercenary Logo.jpg Buccaneer

Mercenary Privateer Light Warjack

Mark IV Status: Prime - This model is available in two Prime Armies,

  • Mercenary: Soldiers of Fortune
  • Mercenary: Talion Charter
    . It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

Another warjack in Captain Shae's arsenal, the Buccaneer is a nimble and sure-footed combatant. The Buccaneer is a warjack commonly carried on Mercarian League vessels and carries nets capable of entrapping an enemy warjack as easily as smaller prey. It can then close for the kill utilising its lengthy pole gaff.

Basic Info

Buccaneer
Missing Info
Buccaneer.jpeg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

Weapons

Net
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW   LOCATION 
8 1 - - Left
Gaff
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
2 4 12 Right

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Buccaneer

Buccaneer in a nutshell

A cheap little warjack that is one of the better hit fixers in the mercenary faction. It's also a fine assassination enabler. Not the scariest thing in melee, but at least it can boost. A bit of a luxury pick but often useful.

This guy's job is to assault something, knock it down, and let your other crummy MAT 6 heavies hit accurately.

Combos & Synergies

  • Captain Bartolo Montador can give the Buccaneer two Net attacks in a single turn, potentially ruining your opponent's plans.
  • Shae lets it charge for free
  • The Freebooter gets bonus damage vs knocked down models, so loves a little Buccaneer pal.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • Don't expect it to get much killing done, its Gaff has had a bit of a POW boost since MkII but still nothing to write home about.
  • Set Defense gives it a little bonus vs charges, but its low ARM means that it'll probably take a lot of damage regardless.
  • It's the only Privateer warjack that can be knocked down.
  • Knock-Down immunity ruins it's Gimmick and is pretty prevalent.
  • You can get a Talon for the same price, which is more resilient and has a Stall spear.

Tricks and Tips

  • They are excellent in the Kingmaker's theme force to knock down your caster for Feign Death on a stick.
  • The same goes for Major Harrison Gibbs in the Llaelese Resistance - throw a net on him if you want to protect Gibbs from 1st turn shooting (after he activated, of course).

Other

Trivia

Who can take this warjack?

The standard way to include a Mercenary warjack in your army is to put it under the control of one of these models. So first you need to figure out which of these models will work for your Faction.

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Note: Other restrictions may apply (such as 'Jack Marshals can't control Colossals).

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though).
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you resolve "Ends Movement" effects (such as Countercharge) before the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling).
    • If something happens at this point that changes whether a model is in/out of melee range, it does not retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

You can make an Assault shot even if you charged less than 3".

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)