Brennos the Elderhorn

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Circle Logo.jpg Brennos the Elderhorn

Circle Satyr Character Heavy Warbeast

An ancient and wizened satyr grown grey and stooped by the weight of almost three centuries, Brennos the Elderhorn commands primordial magic, harnessing the eldritch natural forces of raw elemental power. For decades Brennos has been Morvahna’s most reliable sentinel. Though his youthful vigor is a fading memory, he continues to leave the bodies of those who oppose his mistress twisted and broken on the battlefield.

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

As of 2019.09, PP has removed

Basic Info

Brennos the Elderhorn
Missing Info
Brennos the Elderhorn.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 10
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 12
ARM 18
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS 10
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Bond [Morvahna] - If this model begins the game in Morvahna's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Morvahna and in their control range, Morvahna can channel through Brennos.
  • Battle Wizard - Once per turn, when this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its activation, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one Magic Ability special attack or special action.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.

Weapons

  • Horns - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon
    • Critical Pitch - Equal and smaller-based models critically hit by this weapon can be thrown d6" directly away from this model. The model thrown does not deviate. Collateral damage POW is equal to the STR of this model.
  • Oaken Staff - 2" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon

Spells & Animus

Note: Arcane Protection is his animus, the other ones are his magic ability options.

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Arcane Protections

2 SELF (★) - Round -
While within 10" of the caster, enemy models cannot channel spells. Lasts one round.
Rite of Spring

(★ Action) - Command - - -
Remove d3 damage from friendly Circle models currently in Brennos's command range.
Purifying Prayer

(★ Action) - Command - - -
Animi and continuous effects in this model's command range expire.
Ravaging Winds

(★ Attack) 10 4 14 Round Yes
The AOE remains in play for one round, and models cannot make ranged attacks while within it.

Theme Forces

  • When taken by anyone else

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Errata - Brennos got a substantial rework

  • -2 points cost, +1 DEF, gained Battle Wizard
  • Condition replaced with Rites of Spring
  • His Arcane Suppression animus was replaced with Arcane Protection
  • Bond lets Morvahna channel, it used to let her heal when he killed stuff and/or he got damaged.

2019.07 theme remix


Thoughts on Brennos

Brennos in a nutshell

Brennos' stats are deceptive because, uniquely for a heavy warbeast, his main weapon is filed under his magic ability. With its medium range, medium AoE, hight POW, and its high accuracy, Ravaging Winds is a comparable spell to the main gun of many ranged heavy warbeasts, and Brennos should be treated as the Circle rival to the Titan Cannoneer or Ravagore rather than a strictly support heavy. Brennos, at 15 points, is also a relatively cheap heavy with melee offence about on a par with the Pureblood Warpwolf - but can use its "gun" from melee to wreck the enemy back lines even if it doesn't charge or can't line up the shot in a straight line.

He does also bring a bevy of great support options, including healing and shutting down channeling. He can also help protect against armies that use a lot of continuous effects, such as Cryx or Menoth.

Combos & Synergies

Call of the Wild or Secret Masters Combos

Anyone can take him these themes, which opens up a few more combos:

  • Grayle the Farstrider - Ravaging Winds and Wind blast can make shooting you without entering your threat ranges very difficult. Of course he doesn't show up much in Call of the Wild.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model
  • Low overall damage output
  • The range of Brennos' "gun" is nowhere near that of its rivals in the same category.
  • Rites of Spring and Purifying Prayer are very situational

Tricks & Tips

  • Ravaging Winds is great for denial against Colossals and Gargantuans who rely on their ranged attacks. With their large base size they can struggle to move completely out of the AOE, especially if they are jammed.
  • Brennos cannot buy additional melee attacks if he uses his Combat Action to cast a spell. However he can use his Combat Action to make melee attacks, trigger Battle Wizard and get a free spell, then make additional melee attacks.


Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Exigence (2014)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pitch      (Edit)

  • If you Pitch on a charge attack, then the throw damage will be boosted (but not collateral damage).
  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See the Throw article for a general recap of the core Throw rules.
    • See the Open Fist Rules Clarifications for stuff specific to a Power Attack Throw.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battle Wizard      (Edit)

  • Cavalry Battle Wizards can trigger it from their Mount Attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • This does not, however, allow them to trigger it twice in the same turn. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.

Rules Clarification : Purifying Prayer - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Ravaging Winds - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Rite of Spring - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcane Protections      (Edit)

  • This animus not only stops models being channeled through, it also stops enemy warcasters/warlocks that are within 10" channeling through arc nodes at all. Even if the arc node is outside 10". (Infernal Ruling)