Bog Trog Trawler

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Minion Logo.jpg Bog Trog Trawler

Minion Bog Trog Solo

Physically imposing specimens, bog trog trawlers easily stand out amongst their tribes. Able to wield heavy harpoon guns thanks to their great size and strength, trawlers are as cruel as they are deadly hunters. These bog trogs delight in nothing more than springing upon their foes from behind, impaling their unaware prey in a spray of crimson before reeling them in for the killing thrust.

Basic Info

Bog Trog Trawler
Missing Info
BogTrogTrawler.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 15
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 3
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Minion - Works for Circle, Legion, Skorne, or Trollbloods.

Abilities

  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • Amphibious symbol.jpg Amphibious
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy this model at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.

Weapons

  • Harpoon Gun - 8" range, POW 12 ranged attack
    • Drag - When this attack hits an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the enemy model can be pushed directly toward this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the enemy model is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against the enemy model. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its Combat Action.
  • Thrust - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee attack

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Minion models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.

Recent Changes

2021. 10 (Rebalancepocalypse):

  • Gained Quick Work.
  • Drag now triggers on a hit, instead of on damage, making it far more effective.


Thoughts on Bog Trog Trawler

Bog Trog Trawler in a nutshell

This model ambushes, shoots anyone 2" inside the killbox who's on a medium or smaller base, and drags them off to the edge of the board, keeping them busy killing the Trawler (or even not killing it). For a cheap ambusher who can mess up the enemy's game it's very hard to beat.

Combos & Synergies

  • Bog Trog Ambushers if you want a mass rush.
  • Another Bog Trog Trawler for better odds or to do it again.
  • Bog Trog Mist Speaker if, for whatever reason you deploy normally.
  • Maelok not only does he polish infantry with extra armour and undead but his mortality makes it easier to get an effective drag off

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Drag sounds good until you consider stealth, Shield Guard, Sacrificial Pawn, stuff that can’t be moved, walls/terrain/other models ... it’s a long list.
  • The model isn't terribly combat capable. It's mostly a sucker punch that the enemy needs to keep in mind. But that sort of psychological pressure is useful.

Tricks & Tips

  • Watch for a way to pull models away from the fight - it might as well be out of action in some cases.
  • This model can theoretically get infinite attacks, because each time it shoots it can (hopefully) trigger Drag and get a bonus melee attack; and each time it makes a melee attack it can (hopefully) trigger Quick Work and get a bonus ranged attack.


Other

Trivia

  • Although the box they come in calls them a Gatorman they aren't. By the rules Bog Trogs are a separate thing.
  • Released near the end of Mk2 (2016.02)

Other Theme Forces

Circle Orboros (Edit)

Legion of Everblight (Edit)

Skorne (Edit)

Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Azazello1 - Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Helga2 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh


Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks

Barnabas0 - Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow

Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries

Gatorman

Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech

Unaligned

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea

Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Farrow Sapper - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman

Barnabas0 - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Bone Shrine - Croak Hunter - Flugwug the Filcher - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor - Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Death Archon - Dhunian Archon - Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 & Dez2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kogan the Exile - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Ledfoot & Tredz - Malvin2 - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Pyg Tank - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - The Wastelander - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Tubbin - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon - Weird Wendell

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
Independent Warjack Malvin1 & Mayhem1
 
Minion - Theme Forces
Minion Faction Themes (Edit) The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Vengeance of Dhunia - Will Work for Food
Unlimited Minions themes(Edit) Disciples of Agony (Skorne) - Oracles of Annihilation (Legion) - Secret Masters (Circle)
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Ambush, then they all get to Ambush anyway. (Locked Thread)
  • Ambush and Apparition both occur at Step 5 of the Control Phase. However, Ambush specifies the "end" of the Control Phase so you cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Declaring Ambush:
    • Choosing whether a unit deploys normally or ambushes needs to happen before deployment.
    So it goes: do the starting roll, Player 2 chooses sides, Player 1 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 2 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 1 starts deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
  • Attack-Generating Abilities (Edit)
    • From the core rulebook: When a model is granted more attacks as a result of an attack it made, it gains only one. If two or more special rules would grant the model another attack as a result of making an attack, its controlling player chooses which special rule to apply.
    • If you trigger two attack-generating abilities (such as Black Spot and Kill Shot) you choose to resolve one and "lose" the other (unless you trigger it again later).
    • If you trigger two attack-generating abilities, and one of them is compulsory (such as Black Spot and Berserk), you must choose to resolve the compulsory one. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Timing
With respect to the Attack Sequence:
  • Pull is resolved at Step 12.
  • Enemy effects (such as Retaliatory Strike or Enliven) are resolved at Step 13.
  • Drag and Catch are resolved at Step 14.


Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)

  • If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
    • Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
    • Sicne it doesn't trigger, you won't get the free melee attack from Drag/Catch (even if there's something different already in your melee range).


The Movement

  • You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
  • The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
    • It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
    • They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
    • They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
  • You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
  • You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
  • You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
  • If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)


The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)

  • If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
  • If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
  • You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
    • To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
  • After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
  • After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.


More corner-case Rules Clarifications

  • Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
    • This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
    • When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
    • If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
      • Shoot the Drag weapon.
      • Drag the enemy closer.
      • Resolve the free melee attack.
      • Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
    • However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
  • Black Spot + Drag or Catch
    • If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
This combo can lead to an infinite number of attacks, but it depends on your dice.
  • Case A (Fail): Make initial ranged attack, destroy the target with the ranged attack.
Drag does not trigger.
Black Spot does trigger, and the free BS attack must be a ranged attack because you don't have any rule that gets around the core rule "models cannot make both ranged and melee attacks during the same activation" (unless you have Dual Attack).
The free BS attack cannot generate any more free BS attacks.
  • Case B (Success): Make initial ranged attack, damage the target with the ranged attack.
Drag triggers, and now you have gotten around the core rule about mixing attack types. (Infernal Ruling)
Destroy the dragged model with a melee attack, and trigger Black Spot. The free BS attack can be either ranged or melee.
So you make a ranged attack and try to Drag another one to restart the sequence.
Theoretically, if you keep managing to damage + Drag targets with the free ranged attacks, and destroy + Black Spot them with the free melee attacks, you never run out of free attacks.
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).