Dannon Blythe & Bull

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Blythe & Bull)
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Feora2 (theme thoughts) Imperatus (Dawnguard and non-vyros combos)


Mercenary Logo.jpg Minion Logo.jpg Dannon Blythe & Bull

Mercenary, & Minion, Character Solo

The bounty hunter team of Dannon Blythe and the trollkin known simply as "Bull" has gained infamy across the war-torn region for their ruthless determination and efficiency. Wielding an impressive arsenal, they often take the expedient route of delivering targets dead allowing them complete to twice as many jobs while avoiding the tedious hassle of handling live prisoners.

Basic Info

Dannon Blythe & Bull
Missing Info
DannonBlytheandBull.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Blythe / Bull
BASE Small / Medium
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 15 / 13
ARM 13 / 15
CMD 6
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 / 8
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Blythe
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Granted: Prey - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Prey. (Prey - After deployment but before the first player's turn, choose an enemy model/unit to be this model/unit's prey. This model gains +2 to attack and damage rolls against its prey. When the prey is destroyed or removed from play, choose another model/unit to be the prey.)
    • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapon(s) even while in melee, but with limitations. Click the link for the full rule.
    • Take Down - Models disabled by a melee attack made by a model with Take Down cannot make a Tough roll. Models boxed by a melee attack made by a model with Take Down are removed from play.
  • Bull
    • Trollkin - Bull is a Trollkin model, but Blythe is not, and together they are not a Trollkin unit.
    • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
    • Rapid Strike - This model can make one additional melee attack each Combat Action.
    • Take Down - As above.

Weapons

  • Blythe
    • Pistol - 8" range, POW 10 pistol.
    • Sword - 1" reach, P+S 8 sword.
  • Bull
    • Demolisher - 10" range, ROF d3, POW 12 cannon.
      • Beat Back - Immediately after a basic attack with this weapon is resolved during this model's Combat Action, the enemy model hit can be pushed 1" directly away from the attacking model. After the enemy model is pushed, the attacking model can advance up to 1" directly towards it.
      • Critical Knockdown - On a critical hit, the model hit becomes knocked down.
    • Great Sword - 1" reach, P+S 11 sword.

Theme Forces

Mercenary

Minion

Other
As a merc/minion unit they can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's theme forces. See #Other Theme Forces.

Thoughts on Dannon Blythe & Bull

Dannon Blythe & Bull in a nutshell

Blythe and Bull are a combined arms duo designed to put RAT 8, POW 14 shots onto their prey target. They seem reasonably priced for what they do but rarely see play because d3 shots is not all that many, unboosted POW 14's aren't all that high and they both die with little effort. They compete with Kayazy Eliminators in Irregulars, as well as Lynus and Edrea and Horgenhold Artillery, so they are most often seen in Llaelese Reistance armies as a cheap scoring unit that can get work done. Their ideal targets are slow, multi-wound infantry. With their cost reduction to 5 pts and the advent of Steamroller 2017 their usefulness has increased as a small unit to be used for scoring circular zones. At two points for Blythe and three for Bull they are pretty good value.

Combos & Synergies

  • They are pretty self contained, just a pair of shooters with prey and forced movement.
  • In Trollblood Kriel Company theme, they are considered Trollbloods, and fall under the Protective Aura of the Krielstone Bearer as well as Feats and Friendly Faction spells.
  • Beatback can be very handy in scenario play and since the Resistance lacks other 5pt units for scoring purposes, they are usually taken there.
  • Critical Knock Down becomes very reliable with Ashlynn’s feat. The aspect of knocking Down up to three models can be daunting for your opponent, and is also quite an awesome output for a 5pt unit.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Kill either of them and you cripple the unit.

Tricks & Tips

  • They are one of the few choices that can actually consider putting Prey on a solo - after all if the enemy keeps it back then an expensive solo costs more than they do.

Other

Trivia

  • Blythe and Bull were originally pictured on the front and rear cover of the Iron Kingdoms RPG World Guide, released in 2005.
  • They were released into the tabletop game in Forces of Warmachine: Mercenaries (2010)

Other Theme Forces

Cygnar (Edit) Khador (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth (Edit) Crucible Guard (Edit)
Trollbloods (Edit)
Note: When taken in a Kriel Company force, Blythe & Bull count as Trollblood models (instead of Minion models) and count towards free cards.
Despite this, they still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)            
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Unaligned Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dhunian Archon Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Saxon Orrik - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Underchief Mire - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Beat Back      (Edit)

  • You cannot use Beat Back if you destroy the target; because you can't advance towards a model that is no longer on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can trigger Beat Back even if the model is no longer in your melee range after the attack. For instance, if you used a Pitch to throw it away, you can still Beat it Back. (Locked thread)
  • The free advance doesn't depend on the target being pushed, but it is dependent on you trying to push them:
    • If you try to push something which Cannot Be Pushed (such as a Colossal), then it won't move and then you can advance directly towards it.
    • If you choose not to push your target, then you choose not to trigger Beat Back, so you don't get to advance.
  • Beat Back can be used to push larger models.
  • See also the clarifications on Pushes.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prey      (Edit)

  • When you declare your Prey target, it has to be used on a model that is currently on the table. You can't use it on models that are in Ambush, Burrow, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Prey bonuses apply to "non-attack" damage, such as Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you hit your Prey target, but your attack is "shifted" to a non-Prey model (via Shield Guard etc) then you don't get the damage bonus vs the new target.

Rules Clarification : Take Down - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Rapid Strike - None yet. (Edit)