Fueled by vengeance, Blood of Martyrs demonstrates an insatiable desire to unleash its twin blades upon infidels who spill Menite Blood. Only its mistress, Thyra, Flame of Sorrow, matches Blood of Martyrs’ thirst for retribution, and the two are a scything whirlwind of righteous destruction on the battlefield.
- Blade (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapons
- Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Bond [Thyra] - If Blood of Martyrs begins the game in Thyra's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. Blood of Martyrs is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Blood of Martyrs is bonded to Thyra and in their control range, BoM gains Apparition.. (Apparition - During your Control Phase, place this model anywhere completely within 2" of it's current location.)
- Hand of Vengeance - When one or more friendly Faction warrior models are destroyed or RFP'd by enemy attacks while within 5" of this model, this model gains +2 to melee attack & damage rolls for one round.
- Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.
Thoughts on Blood of Martyrs
Blood of Martyrs in a nutshell
Blood of Martyrs is an assassin. 13" natural threat range with its two Side Steps, MAT 9, and the hitting power of a Crusader. If it reaches an enemy caster with 3 focus still remaining it's lights out, even if it "wasted" its initials to Side Step into position. And Blood will kill most heavies if it tries.
Combos & Synergies
- Skirmish infantry to die and trigger Hand of Vengeance.
- Thyra, Flame of Sorrow - it's her warjack. An extra 2" of movement is always nice, and add on her feat for another 2" place and you're up to a 17" non-linear threat range. Carnage brings it up to MAT 11, which is disgusting when you add Hand of Vengeance and Choir buffs.
- Anyone else that gives it extra movement so it can get to the enemy caster from further away.
- Choir of Menoth because of course it does.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Blood of Martyrs has literally no ability that keeps it safe. And with the defensive stats of a Crusader it's squishy for the cost.
Tricks & Tips
- Look for angles for the sidestep assassination.
Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds (Edit)
- GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
- It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
- Does not affect models with the Massive rule.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
Rules Clarification : Apparition (Edit)
- If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
- Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
- If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.
- The unit commander is always "In Formation" by definition, so can be placed where he likes.
Rules Clarification : Hand of Vengeance - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Side Step (Edit)
- You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
- You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
- If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.