Blighted Trollkin Marauders

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cryx Logo.jpg

Blighted Trollkin Marauders
Cryx Unit
Jussika Bloodtongue
Character Command Attachment

Caring little for their own safety, blighted trollkin marauders swing braziers on long chains that blaze with fire fed by rendered body fat and whale oil. Marauders delight in setting fire to homes in the coastal communities they raid, waiting for the fleeing victims within to rush headlong into their waiting arms. They particularly enjoy the first bite of living flesh that has been blackened and blistered by their torches, and they find the smell of burning meat exquisite.

Feared by all in the port towns of the Broken Coast who know of her exploits as “the Queen of Blood,” the blighted trollkin Jussika Bloodtongue is a favored lieutenant of Slaughterborn, a brutal taskmaster who leads hosts of Bloodgorgers and marauders in great orgies of destruction. She has become one of the most dreaded and infamous trollkin in the Scharde Islands.

Basic Info

Marauders

Blighted Trollkin Marauders
Missing Info
Blighted Trollkin Marauders.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +1CA
COST 9 / 15 +5CA
1.5 each (excl CA)
1.8 each (incl CA)
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Fire Brazier - 8" range, POW 12 gun
    • Burning Flames - If this attack directly hits, center a 3" AOE on the model hit. Models in the AOE suffer continuous fire.
    • Thrown - Apply any modifiers to this model's STR to the POW of this weapon.


Jussika Bloodtongue

Jussika Bloodtongue
Missing Info
Jussika.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Blunderbuss - 8" range, POW 12 gun
  • Hand Weapon (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee attacks.


Theme Forces

Thoughts on Blighted Trollkin Marauders

Blighted Trollkin Marauders in a nutshell

Marauders bring variety to the options allowed in Slaughter Fleet Raiders. Much like their melee oriented counterpart (Blood Gorgers) they take buffs well with their Thrown weapons. Ranged attacks generally do very well against de-buffed targets, fitting well into the Cryxian playstyle. Going up to MAT of 7 when Gerlak is nearby means this unit is not afraid to get into melee with their chain weapons. With Ashen Veil they are the more defensive option when compared to Bloodgorgers.

Marauders are an universally good unit. They have decent stats all around, CRA, and can get caster-independent Stealth by stacking their Ashen Veil with Axiara's Prowl. They can work well with anyone.

Thoughts on adding the CA

Jussika can attach to both Blighted Trollkin units (Bloodgorgers and Marauders) and it should be clear that if you bring blighted Trollkin, you will bring Jussika as well. No Sleeping on the Job affects all Trollkin in her command range, not just her designated unit and combines supremely with Tough to keep them standing.

The question is then which unit you want to attach her to should you bring both (which is not unlikely).

Attaching Jussika to this unit makes it easier to keep her safe (as opposed to sending her with Bloodgorgers), since Marauders are likely not playing forward often. Furthermore, Vengeance is a way to unjam them so they can use their ranged attacks with impunity again, though you will incur free strikes, as it counts as advancing.

Combos & Synergies

Warcaster

  • Skarre1's feat will buff STR and thus increase their ranged attack's POW. Even more interesting, the guys you don't feat on can contribute to a CRA. So you could feat on one guy then make him the primary attacker in a 10-man CRA that'll hit at POW 27!
  • Skarre2's Black Spot will let them waterfall CRAs. How that works is:
    • First, Model A contributes his attack to Model B. Model B leads the CRA, destroys something, and gets a free attack from Black Spot. (Model A doesn't earn a free attack)
    • Next, Model B contributes his free attack to Model C. Model C leads the CRA, destroys something, and rinse and repeat.
  • Skarre3 has a spell for +2 STR, and thus increase their ranged attack. She also has Dash and Deceleration (Decel is especially mean in conjunction with Ashen Veil) to help with delivery AND bring in reinforcements. She's a prime caster for Slaughter Fleed Raiders for this.

Non-warcaster

  • Axiara can give them Prowl and, since they always have concealment via Ashen Veil, they'll immediately get Stealth. Also Tactician goes a long way with medium bases.
  • Gerlak can give them +1 to hit via Veteran Leader.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Their threat range is rather low for a ranged unit
  • Although quite adept at several roles, they aren't the most efficient at hitting high-DEF infantry (unless clumped) or cracking ARM (absent support).
  • Their power level drops off quickly if/when you lose Gerlak, Jussika, and/or Axiara.

Tricks & Tips

  • When in doubt, do a 2-man CRA. Sacrificing one attack to get +2/+2 on the other attack is worth it most of the time.
    Compared to a 3-man CRA where you sacrifice two attacks to get +3/+3 ... it is a bit of a diminishing return.
  • If something else in your army is about to take a free strike from a living enemy, move a Marauder within 2" first. That'll increase the odds of the free strike missing.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in the Black Fleet expansion (2017.11)

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Burning Flames     (Edit)

  • The weapon doesn't do blast damage.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown     (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire     (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack     (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee ... unless the target is a huge-based model or the attacker has War-Tempered.
  • If you give the attack-leader a buff to their attack (such as Guidance) then that buff applies to the combined attack (even though the other participants don't have the buff). (Locked thread)
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veiland/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment     (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
    • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
    • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
      For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
    • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
      Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
      But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
      Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer     (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tacticsvs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vengeanceand/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum     (Edit)

  • Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
  • You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
  • When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
  • Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
  • Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
  • Out of formation models cannot make attacks.
  • Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
    • If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
    • But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
  • Triggers
    • Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
    • If a CA has Granted: Vengeance then only models in formation have it. However, models that are damaged while out of formation can trigger Vengeance, they just will not benefit from it. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : No Sleeping on the Job     (Edit)

  • If a model is already knocked down, and is then affected by NSotJ, it doesn't get to stand up. The "cannot be knocked down" isn't retroactively applied.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunterand/or Overtake     (Edit)

  • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
  • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
  • An important difference:
    • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
    • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge     (Edit)