Blighted Ogrun Warspears

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1266 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Legion Logo.jpg

Blighted Ogrun Warspears
Legion Blighted Ogrun Unit
Chieftain
Command Attachment

The blight has twisted the minds as well as the flesh of these ogrun, addicting them to the joy of bloodlust. If their enemies are not killed outright from the impact of their spears, the tremendous lengths of wood dangling from the creatures’ vitals can trip them up long enough for the blighted ogrun to close and finish the job.

On the battlefield warspear chieftains direct their forces against the most dangerous of their enemies, offering every kill as a sacrament to the dragon. They incite their warspears to violence and lead them into the fray. Even the most rugged terrain poses no obstacle to these frenzied warriors. Rising to the position of chieftain among the warspears requires an ogrun to be possessed of strength and viciousness remarkable even among a race of brutal warriors who prize viciousness in slaughter.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
Special Order Models are older models which are no longer manufactured in large quantities.

Click here to read more.

Blighted Ogrun Warspears
Missing Info
BlightedOgrunWarspears.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 3 / 5 +1CA
COST 9 / 15 +5CA
3.0 each (excl CA)
3.3 each (with CA)
FA 3
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Everyone

  • Assault symbol.jpg Assault
  • Tough symbol.jpg Tough
  • Set Defense - A model in this model's front arc suffers -2 on charge, slam power attack, and impact attack rolls against this model.

Chieftain only

  • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
  • Granted: Prey - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Prey. (Prey - After deployment but before the first player's turn, choose an enemy model/unit to be this model/unit's prey. This model gains +2 to attack and damage rolls against its prey. When the prey is destroyed or removed from play, choose another model/unit to be the prey.)
  • Tactics: Relentless Charge - Models in this unit gain Relentless Charge. (Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, a model with Relentless Charge gains Pathfinder.)

Weapons

  • Thrown Spear - 8" range, POW 13 ranged weapon.
    • Thrown - Apply any modifiers to this model's STR to the POW of this weapon.
  • War Spear - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Blighted Ogrun Warspears

Command Attachment

Blighted Ogrun Warspears in a nutshell

On their own Blighted Ogrun Warspears are a very mediocre unit; slow, inaccurate, short ranged for a ranged unit, not terribly hard hitting, and not terribly tough with an Assault attack that isn't all that. And that's pretty pricey for their cost. This is why they are almost never seen without two pieces of support; the first is the Chieftain who hands out Prey making them a significant threat to some of the enemy and the second is the Primal Terrors theme which, after a CID update, grants them Vengeance (and makes them give free stuff) to improve their threat range and damage output, and make idle pot shots aimed at them a lot more of a dodgy proposition.

Like their brothers in arms, the Blighted Ogrun Warmongers, Warspears look like they can take a few hits, but these looks are deceiving - their defensive stats and only 5 boxes won't keep them alive against even mediocre guns. Against enemy charging models Set Defense lets them fare a little better, as long as those models are relying entirely on the charge to take Warpears out.

Thoughts on adding the CA

If you’re taking these guys, you want to take the Chieftain unless you really need those extra 5 points. They are able to get little work done without Prey and are dreadfully slow through rough terrain without Relentless Charge. Seriously, take the CA if you want to run Warspears.

Combos & Synergies

Beyond the Chieftan, Warspears play well with a few other faction models.

  • The Warmonger War Chief is their veteran leader, and with MAT 6 and RAT 5 against non-Prey targets they really want that +1.
  • The Blightbringer is a reliable way to boost all Warspear damage, thanks to the Thrown rule. Most guns need rely on ARM debuffs or ranged specific damage buffs, but with Thrown, anyone who buffs strength really bring up the Warspears' game. The Blightbringer has the added benefit of boosting their ARM to help keep more of them alive while going up the board with thier average/low speed.
  • Thagrosh1 can sort of make an all Ogrun army work, but you have to build for it specifically. With a pair of Warspears plus CA (preferably with a Blightbringer backing them up), Thagrosh can field a somewhat tanky army if he bricks up. Warmongers and Warspears reach ARM20 in the BB's and Thagrosh's auras.
    • If you build an Ogrun Mountain, consider the Warmonger War Chief. His Veteran Leader affects Thagrosh as well as the Warspears, so you get to double dip on this buff. If positioned well, Warspears reach MAT9/RAT8 against their Prey targets.
    • Like the Blightbringer, Thagrosh's STR upkeep plays well with the Thrown rule on their Assault attack. With Draconic Blessing, Prey, and BB aura, Warspears hit an impressive P+S19. Draconic Blessing also makes Warspears immune to fire, so it's safe to shoot your own units to place Blight Breath perfectly.
    • Fog of War and BB's ARM aura combine to make Warspears much safer on the advance at DEF14/ARM18 - just make sure it's off when it's time for your Ogrun to Assault.
  • Kallus1 can make Incubi from Warspears on his feat turn, something that's not normally possible if they're fielded normally. Thanks to the difference in base sizes, the spawned Incubi can be placed anywhere in the original Warspear base, sometimes letting the new Incubi be out of melee from whatever just killed the Ogrun before it.
    • Ignite and Dark Guidance only help Warspears with their melee attacks.
    • Unyielding can stack with the Blightbringer similar to when fielded with Thagrosh1, and the Blightbringer plays well with Kallus as well.
  • Kryssa's feat works on Warspears' Assault as it is a STR buff. Tactical Supremacy can help them get up the field to their Prey quicker, or they can be kept safer with Ashen Veil.
  • Warspears have a very fun and potentially powerful interaction with Lylyth2's feat. Their Assault order does not differentiate between ranged and melee weapons, meaning on feat turn you can choose to charge using the thrown spear, instead of the melee spear. They will still get the Assault shot, a Gunfighter thrown shot, and still allows them to take their bonus feat attack. Choosing the melee spear prevents the feat attack, as they lack Dual Shot.
    • All of the spear attacks are affected by Pin Cushion if it's on their target.
    • The risk of missing and shooting each other is much higher with this tactic. Make sure they're on their Prey target from the Command Attachment for better accuracy, or spread them out enough so they interfere with each other less.
    • Combine with a Blightbringer for all the same reasons discussed above. As an added bonus, he can put his large AOE shot down twice on feat turn, giving the Warspears more flexible landing zones for the buff.
  • Fury from Fyanna2 is pretty potent on Warspears, though she may prefer a more nimble army. They're not awful targets for Iron Flesh, and she can stack the Blightbringer too if you opt for a slower Fyanna list.
  • Bethayne turns Warspears into weapon masters on the feat and can crank their damage up even higher than normal with Disintegrate. Bear in mind the flank bonus only affects their melee attacks.
  • Everyone loves hitting harder and more accurate with Incite from Vayl1, and it double dips with Warspears since it helps ranged and melee accuracy/damage the same.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • A little pricey for what they do, especially since the Warchief is required and inflates their cost by 33%.
  • Tissue paper defenses.
  • Slow by faction standards.
  • Prey can sometimes be a fiddly mechanic - choosing the right target takes practice, and some opponents can play around it by deliberately keeping them out of range.

Tips & Tricks

  • You can still get your Assault shot even if you fail your charge. Especially useful if your Prey target is trying to hang back.
  • Prey is reassigned immediately if the current target dies. This can happen during the middle of the Warspears' activation, so use this to your advantage when you can.
  • You want to prey valuable targets and melee targets; if you prey a solo or even a light warbeast or warjack then the enemy is going to just keep it back out of range and neuter the warspears. And this goes double for ranged targets.

Other

Trivia

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2
Other Warbeast Controllers Beast Mistress
Lesser Blight Wasps - Shredder - Harrier - Stinger
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy Angelius - Carnivean - Neraph - Ravagore - Scythean - Seraph
Azrael - Golab - Proteus - Typhon - Zuriel
Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel
Blackfrost Shard
Solos Beast Mistress - B.N Shepher - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Forsaken - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - B.O. Warmonger War Chief
Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Fyanna the Lash - Craelix
Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown     (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata.
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects. (after this, you can make the ranged attack).
    • Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer     (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tacticsvs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prey     (Edit)

  • When you declare your Prey target, it has to be used on a model that is currently on the table. You can't use it on models that are in Ambush, Burrow, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Prey bonuses apply to "non-attack" damage, such as Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you hit your Prey target, but your attack is "shifted" to a non-Prey model (via Shield Guard etc) then you don't get the damage bonus vs the new target.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge     (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here