Blessing of Vengeance

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Blessing of Vengeance
Protectorate Character Light Warjack

Fluff

Basic Info[edit]

Blessing of Vengeance
Missing Info
BlessingofVengeance.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 9
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17 / 19 (★)
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 24
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 13
N/A
N/A
FA C
(★) 19 with the Shield bonus
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Bond [Severius] - If Blessing of Vengeance begins the game in Severius's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. Blessing of Vengeance is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Blessing of Vengeance is bonded to Severius and in their control range, once per turn Severius gains +2 to attack and damage rolls on spells that are channeled through BoV.
  • Defensive Strike - Once per turn, when an enemy enters and ends their movement in this model's melee range, it may make one basic melee attack against it.
  • Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.

Weapons[edit]

  • Repulsor Shield - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee attack.
    • Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.
    • Repel - An enemy model hit during your activation is pushed 1" away. An enemy that attacks this model in melee from its front arc is pushed 1" away.
  • Halberd - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee attack.
    • Powerful Charge - This model gains +2 to hit on charge attacks with this weapon.

Thoughts on Blessing of Vengeance[edit]

Blessing of Vengeance in a nutshell[edit]

  • For 3 pts over a Revenger you get Shield Guard, Defensive Strike, +1 MAT, and the bond. Generally only worth it with any of Severius's incarnations, but he will almost always be taken with either full warcaster.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Grand Scrutator Severius - Just like on a Revenger - Casting Vision on the Blessing of Vengeance ensures that its shield arm will survive a hit and push the enemy back. This can potentially space an enemy out of melee range to avoid extra primary/additional attacks, as well as give you space to move away in your next turn if desired and utilize the arc node.
  • Hierarch Severius - his Field Marshall makes this jack even more survivable, and the repulsor shield works with it. Sev2 wants to cast a lot of offensive spells so BoV is very important. Awareness allows you to arc through forests which can be a nasty surprise.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Relatively expensive point-wise - he's well into heavy warjack cost range and doesn't hit hard.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • The Blessing can be bonded to the "Junior" version, Severius0, as well as the full warcaster versions.
    • Immolation is all Sev0 can arc, so this is kind of like strapping a gun to BoV with an effective "RAT" 8 / POW 15.
  • He's one of our most accurate warjacks - if you absolutely need to stab a high-DEF solo don't forget about his MAT9 charge.
  • You can move Blessing of Vengeance past an enemy model to be a hair in the opponent models melee range and if you hit it with your shield and position right, it opens you to back strikes against it. The technique is called Biscuiting after SirBiscuit who "discovered" it.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken by Severius1 or Severius2 When taken by Severius0 When taken by anyone else
Themes for any & all bonded warjacks (Edit)
  • Cannot be taken in a theme force

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack
Elias Gade - Hand of Silence - Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Severius0 - Covenant
Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond with Severius

  • You can trigger the bonus on any one spell you arc - it doesn't have used on the first spell you arc. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Repel      (Edit)

  • A model that starts in B2B with you will end exactly 1" away after the Repel, so their 1" melee weapons will still be in range. Similarly for 2" melee weapons and being repelled twice.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Defensive Strike      (Edit)

  • If an enemy doesn't stop in your melee range, but continue all the way through it and out the other side, you won't get to make a Defensive Strike.
    You will get to make a free strike as per normal, though.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard      (Edit)

  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
  • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
  • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
  • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
  • You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.