Blackbane's Ghost Raiders

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Cryx Logo.jpg Blackbane's Ghost Raiders

Cryx Revenant Character Unit

The Ghost Raiders walk the ashen decks of the Atramentous as sinister blazing specters and over the centuries have reaped a terrible harvest of souls to increase their phantom ranks. When obliterated in battle, the ghosts’ curse draws their invisible essences shrieking back to the Atramentous’ endless flames. By the Dragonfather’s unending fire did their mortality end, and to that fire they will forever return.

Basic Info[edit]

Blackbane's Ghost Raiders
Missing Info
Blackbanes.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Blackbane / Grunts
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR N/A
MAT 7 / 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 12
CMD 8 / 7
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10
COST 11 / 17
1.7 each
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Entire unit
    • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
    • Incorporeal - This model can walk through walls, terrain, models, and just about anything else. It can't be damaged except by things which have Damage Type: Magical. When it makes a melee or ranged attack it loses Incorporeal until its next activation.
    • Apparition - During your Control Phase, place this model anywhere completely within 2" of it's current location.
  • Blackbane only
    • Blackbane has a better statline
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Granted: Reanimation - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Reanimation. (Reanimation - When Blackbane or a Ghost Raider boxes a living enemy warrior, you RFP it and add to play one Grunt to Blackbane's unit.)

Weapons[edit]

  • Cutlass - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in Maintenance phase of owner's turn until the fire expires.

Theme Forces[edit]


Thoughts on Blackbane's Ghost Raiders[edit]

Blackbane's Ghost Raiders in a nutshell[edit]

Blackbane's Ghost Raiders are a weird utility unit. Incorporeal to keep them alive and give them Pathfinder, and then using their reanimation ability to come back from the dead. An incorporeal unit is rare enough that Blackbane's Ghost Raiders see play to test whether the enemy brought enough magic weapons.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • They become a lot less useful if Blackbane dies.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • When giving the Run/Charge order it's frequently not worth attacking with Blackbane so the enemy can't kill him.
  • Incorporeal effectively allows them to ignore free strikes from non magical weapons. (Sure they still take them - but they just phase through the weapons). Getting into the enemy's back arc is pretty common.
  • They can be put in the frontlines to blockade charge lanes if the enemy lacks magical weapons. Enemy models can advance through them, but only if they if they can completely past them. Place them in positions where enemy models wouldn't have room. This is especially useful against large base models.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Other Cryx models[edit]

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates
Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghostly      (Edit)

  • Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
  • Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.

Rules Clarification : Reanimation - None yet. (Edit)