Black Ivan

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1325 articles and 89% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Khador Logo.jpg Black Ivan

Khador Character Heavy Warjack

Black Ivan is the prized companion of Kommander Harkevich, a warcaster renowned for his ingenuity on the battlefield. Armed with a bombard and an industrial wrecking claw, Black Ivan is an unparalleled instrument of war that excels at both long-range bombardment and the brutal press of melee.

Basic Info

Black Ivan
Missing Info
BlackIvan.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 12
MAT 7
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 20
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 34
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 19
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Bond [ Harkevich ] - If this model begins the game in Harkevich's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Harkevich and in their control range, Black Ivan gains boosted ranged attack rolls.
  • Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per turn. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.
  • Evasive - When this model is hit by an enemy ranged attack, immediately after the attack is resolved this model can advance up to 2".
  • Point-Blank - During its activation, this model can make melee attacks with its ranged weapon, with a melee range of 0.5". Do not add this model's STR to damage rolls with ranged weapons. Charge attacks made with ranged weapons are not boosted.

Weapons

  • Bombard - 14" range, 4" AOE, POW 14 ranged attack
    • Arcing Fire - When attacking with this weapon, this model can ignore intervening models except those within 1" of the target.
  • Bear Claw - 1" reach, POW 4, P+S 16 melee attack

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2019.07 Oblivion theme remix

Thoughts on Black Ivan

Black Ivan in a nutshell

Black Ivan is a boosted version of the Destroyer. It has improved RAT and with Harkevich all his shots get boosted attack rolls, which is nice, but where Black Ivan is much improved over the Destroyer is in melee. Between an open fist, bulldozing, and being able to make point-blank shots, Black Ivan does not have the same difficulties the Destroyer has when it comes to choosing between melee or ranged combat. Black Ivan can have it all.

The Destroyer has one definite edge over Ivan, and that is when fighting a Gargantuan. On a critical hit, the whole branch of a Gargantuan gets filled. Against other targets, Amputation gives an average of 2,5 extra damage against beasts and jacks, while Brutal Damage delivers an average of 3,5 extra damage against anything.

Combos & Synergies

  • Harkevich - obviously, and even then going for a vanilla Destroyer is probably more cost efficient. Still, an auto boosted RAT 5 on the Bombard even on Broadside attacks will enable Black Ivan to hit the broadside of a barn,which is pretty huge in Khador where jacks have notoriously low RAT. The combination of Mobility and Bulldoze is also pretty neat, if you ever want to commit a P+S 16 jack to melee duty, that is...

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Absolutely overcosted and he will rarely, if ever make his points back.
  • Black Ivan largely doesn't fill in any hole in a Khador army that another jack couldn't fill out better.
  • Only marginally better at range than a Destroyer (unless paired with Harkevich).
  • At close range, Black Ivan falls behind other combined arms warjacks like the Devastator or Destroyer due to his disappointingly low P+S. The former especially has two P+S 16 melee attacks and two open fists and can rain death on top of it.
  • The Bond doesn't apply to Point Blank attacks and you can't make Broadside shots while in melee. Aka you never want him to be engaged, even though half his card encourages you to do so and these abilities inflate his cost.
  • You need to manually boost the bear claw attacks if you want to crit fish, because the bond only applies to ranged attacks.

Tricks & Tips

  • Got an enemy model in a zone that you don't like, but don't feel like killing them this turn? Bulldoze them out, and if that doesn't work pick them up and throw them the rest of the way.
  • Remember that Point-Blank is actually a melee attack, and make sure you add modifiers (such as Unyielding) accordingly.
    • Point-Blank attacks don't benefit from the bond with Harkevich.
  • Due to Arcing Fire only a huge-based model can screen a target from your Bombard Cannon - in every other situation you'll clip it, either with the blast damage, or with a direct hit via arcing fire (a medium AoE has a 50,8 mm radius, 0,4 mm larger than a large base's radius plus the max 1" distance where arcing fire won't trigger). Don't forget that other targeting restrictions still apply.
  • Keep track of how many guns the opponent has left when you make Evasive moves. Don't risk losing him by advancing into precarious threat ranges just because you want some extra threat on your turn.

Other

Trivia

Originally released in Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Other Khador models

Khador Logo.jpg       Khador Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2

Warcaster attachments

Khador: War Dog - Greylord Adjunct
Mercenary: Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Malakov1 - Sorscha0
'Jack Marshals: Man-o-War Kovnik - Greylord Forge Seer

Heavy Warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos

Greylord Adjunct - Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Sorscha0 - Yuri

Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Khador Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcing Fire      (Edit)

  • Arcing Fire lets you ignore models but not terrain. You don't ignore clouds, forests or buildings.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Brutal Damage and/or Brutal Shot     (Edit)

  • Brutal Damage/Shot only applies to the damage vs the model directly hit.
    It does not affect blast damage.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Bulldoze      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

(A) People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
(B) Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.

Bulldoze - General

  • Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly, refer to the section on moving models, below.
  • You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
  • The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model bulldozes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
  • Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes full advances, runs, charges, and slams, but doesn't include stuff like Reposition or Energizer.
  • You can't make free strikes against models you Bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
  • Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
  • An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
  • If you contact a model you want to Bulldoze while overlapping another model or an obstacle, then you can "pause" on top of that other model/obstacle while resolving the Bulldoze, then continue your movement off the other model/obstacle. (Locked thread)


Bulldoze - Charges / Slams

  • If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane but it does not move far enough, you can't Bulldoze again. You will continue your charge, contact it again, and stop.
  • You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
    • Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
  • If you Bulldoze your charge target out of your melee range, this doesn't break the "once in your melee range the target must stay in your melee range" rule. Bulldoze is an exception. (Infernal Ruling)


Bulldoze - Moving the models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A. But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:

  1. Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
  2. If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
    • And in this situation, a model beside the pushed model is effectively behind it unless you're pushing at a perfect tangent.
  3. A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Evasive - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Point-Blank      (Edit)

  • Number of attacks
    • Point-Blank gives you an extra initial melee attack (even though, RAW, it doesn't meet the criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you can make additional melee attacks, these can be Point-Blank attacks regardless of the weapon's ROF. (Locked Thread)
    • If you have the option of choosing between ranged or melee attacks (for instance you combined Point-Blank with Gunfighter), then you need to declare whether you're making melee or ranged attacks this activation, then declare the weapon and the target. (Infernal Ruling)
  • AOE & Spray
    • Point-Blank AOEs work just fine. You hit with a melee attack, and then place an AOE. If you miss, the AOE will deviate per normal (although only a very short distance).
    • Point-Blank sprays don't work. The rules for Point-Blank overwrite the range of the spray weapon, and the range is/was the spray template. So instead of putting the spray template down, you make one melee attack.
  • Other
    • Since Point-Blank only works during your activation, you can't use it on free strikes or other out-of-activation melee attacks.
  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.