Basilisk Drake

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?


Skorne Logo.jpg Basilisk Drake

Skorne Light Warbeast

Basilisk Drakes unleash waves of entropic energy that slough skin from bone and part muscles as if roasted. Their attack severs the fundamental connections binding matter together and can grind stone to dust and shear through metal. The Drake's gruesome bite destroys armour and flesh with equal ease, and its very presence causes nearby Basilisk Kreas to fight with greater ferocity.

Basic Info

Basilisk Drake
Missing Info
Basilisk Drake Fixed.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 8
MAT 5
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 9
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee attack

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Lurker

1 SELF - - Turn -
Caster gains Pathfinder and Bushwhack.
Bushwhack - During its activation, this model can make its Combat Action before its Normal Movement. If it does, it must make a full advance as their Normal Movement this activation.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Basilisk Drake

Basilisk Drake in a nutshell

The Basilisk Drake is effectively a tank destroyer. A light warbeast with a gun hard enough hitting to belong on a heavy and a bite that, with Paingiver Beast Handlers, is a good weapon for a light warbeast.

Combos & Synergies

The Drake is good on its own.

  • Paingiver Beast Handlers - When Enraged, the Drake can actually put up a fight in melee.
  • Basilisk Krea - The Krea flanks with the Drake, giving a significant melee threat as well as the ranged threat and ranged protection.
  • Lord Arbiter Hexeris - The Drake's spray works really well with Black Spot.
  • Xerxis, Fury of Halaak - Field marshal to get good angles, and a feat that buffs both its hitting and its damage chance.
  • Dominar Rasheth - a DEF and ARM debuffing feat really helps in all directions.
  • Primus Jalaam - Jalaam likes to shoot. Gaining lurker lets him do that, then move away after shooting. Never underestimate bushwhack!
  • Makeda & the Exalted Court - Def 13 means it makes good use of Bulwark, and Incite makes them hit extremely hard.
  • Any warlock can benefit from pathfinder; either because they are slow, or because they want to assassinate and rough terrain's a problem.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Lightly armored - surprisingly low POW shooting (or any charging) can wreck it

Tricks & Tips

  • Normal spray tricks - what do you aim at to position it?
  • Bushwhack is seldom useful, but can slingshot the Drake into melee after shooting to set up for a flanking Krea, or give him pathfinder.


Other

Trivia

Released way back in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Other Skorne models

Skorne Logo.jpg       Skorne Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Hexeris1 - Hexeris2 - Jalaam1 - Rasheth1 - Makeda1 - Makeda2 - Makeda3 - Mordikaar1 - Morghoul1 - Morghoul2 - Morghoul3 - Naaresh1 - Xekaar1 - Xerxis1 - Xerxis2 - Zaal1 - Zaal2 - Zaadesh2
Lessers & Attachments Aptimus Marketh (Warlock attachment) - Zaadesh1 (Lesser Warlock)
Lesser

Agonizer - Aradus Scarab - Reptile Hounds - The Terrorizer

Light Basilisk Drake - Basilisk Krea - Cyclops Brute - Cyclops Raider - Cyclops Savage - Cyclops Shaman - Razor Worm
Heavy

Aradus Sentinel - Aradus Soldier - Archidon - Chiron - Bronzeback Titan - Despoiler - Molik Karn - Rhinodon - Tiberion - Titan Cannoneer - Titan Gladiator - Titan Sentry

Gargantuans Desert Hydra - Mammoth
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Cataphract Arcuarii - Cataphract Cetrati - Cataphract Incindiarii - Immortals - Legends of Halaak - Nihilators - Paingiver Beast Handlers - Paingiver Bloodrunners - Praetorian Ferox - Praetorian Karax - Praetorian Keltarii - Praetorian Swordsmen - Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer - Venator Catapult Crew - Venator Flayer Cannon Crew - Venator Reivers - Venator Slingers

Solos

Abidan the Keeper - Ancestral Guardian - Aptimus Marketh - Extoller Novitiate - Extoller Soulward - Hakaar the Destroyer - Immortal Vessel - Mortitheurge Willbreaker - Paingiver Bloodrunner Master Tormentor - Paingiver Task Master - Tyrant Rhadeim - Venator Dakar - Void Spirit - Zaadesh1

Battle Engines Siege Animantarax - Supreme Guardian
Theme Forces
Disciples of Agony - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Skorne Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.01

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lurker      (Edit)

  • If you lose Lurker halfway through your Combat Action (for example casting another animus between attacks) then you don't get your Normal Movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Lurker is not retroactively applied. (You cannot "skip" your movement, make an attack, then cast Lurker, then "get your movement back".) You have to cast it before Movement & Attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Pathfinder (Edit) - Pathfinder does not apply to involuntary movement (pushes & slams). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bushwhack      (Edit)

  • Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)