Barathrum

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1251 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Dawnguard Destors (1 year review) Dawnguard Destor Thane (1 year review) Defenders of Ios (1 year review) Bump in the Night (Casters)


Cryx Logo.jpg Barathrum

Cryx Character Heavy Warjack

Barathrum is a mechanized terror born from the nightmares of a lunatic, and Lich Lord Terminus has claimed this helljack as his own. Barathrum burrows with its massive talons to await its prey, then explodes from the ground to seize its victims and drag them screaming beneath the earth. Committing to slaughter with reckless abandon, the ’jack cleaves men in two with its talons and impales others on its tusks.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Barathrum
Missing Info
Barathrum.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Bond [Terminus] - If this model begins the game in Terminus's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Terminus and in their control range, Barathrum gains Unyielding. (Unyielding - This model gains +2 ARM against melee damage rolls.)
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
  • Drag Below - During this model's activation, immediately after resolving an attack in which it boxed an enemy warrior model, this model can use Drag Below. The boxed model is RFP'd and this model can immediately make a full advance and then perform a Dig In special action, then its activation ends. This model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.

Weapons

  • Talon (x2) - 1" reach, POW 7, P+S 17 melee weapons
    • Feedback - If this weapon damages a warjack that is part of a battlegroup, the warjack's controller suffers 1 damage point.
  • Tusks - 1" reach, POW 12, P+S 12 melee weapon
    • Hard Head - This model can add this weapon's POW to its head-butt and slam power attack damage rolls.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.01


Thoughts on the Barathrum

Barathrum in a nutshell

Barathrum is yet another beatstick heavy in the Cryx arsenal. This time with a bit of extra DEF from Dig In, and extra mobility from Countercharge + Drag Below + Advance Deployment. Feedback is just icing on the cake. He is quite popular amongst players, because he is relatively durable and heavy-hitting at his price bracket.

Some people view him as a slightly tougher version of the Seether, because they both have Countercharge, but other than that there's not really much in common.

Combos & Synergies

  • Lich Lord Terminus naturally - Unyielding makes Barathrum ARM 20 vs melee - which is pretty effective.

Scourge Combos

Any warcaster can take Barathrum in the Scourge of the Broken Coast theme, which opens up a few more combos:

  • Feedback combines well with the Backlash spell (Skarre1 or Skarre2) to really make a mess vs a Warmachine opponent.
  • He contributes to saturating Feedback threats with Satyxis Raiders and Gunslingers.
  • Admonition from Skarre2 allows Barathrum to move away from an enemy advance and then Countercharge.
  • If you're planning to move and Dig In, rather than run, you'll need a caster that can increase his speed: Asphyxious3 has Mobility, Mortenebra1 has Overrun, Mortenebra2 has Locomotion, Aiakos1 has Escort, Coven has Infernal Machines, Scaverous has Telekinesis.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It's a special order model.
  • As with most Cryx jacks, he doesn't hit super hard at P+S 17, and doesn't brawl well in a toe-to-toe fight vs other faction's heavies.
    • However, at least he isn't the least pillow-fisted, like Erebus or Malice.
  • In comparison to the Seether, it isn't as focus-efficient. In comparison to a Slayer, he actually does less damage vs anything that is ARM 19 or higher.
  • DEF 13 ARM 18 is a useful defensive line but not one that really stops anything. Sure you can gain +4 DEF if you move and Dig In, instead of running, but then you're slow.
  • The only Cryx jack with hand-like weapons that aren't actually Open Fists - he can't throw models.

Tricks & Tips

  • Deploy as far forward as possible but dug in. You've two turns of avoiding shooting as the rest of your army catches up.
  • Drag Below can be used to go behind the enemy lines, protecting you from infantry charges.

Other

Trivia

  • Originally released in the Warmachine: Reckoning expansion (2015)
  • Nicknames = Shovel hands, Bathroom
  • Barathrum means "pit" in Latin - referring to the narrow deadly kind of pits you get in mountains. It might also be translated as "Abyss" in this context.

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Feedback      (Edit)

  • Feedback only triggers on damage, not on hits. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Feedback doesn't affect 'Jack Marshals, because they don't have a battlegroup.
  • If Feedback is on a CMA, it will only be triggered once (not once per participant). Because it's only one attack.
  • Warcasters can spend focus to negate Feedback damage.
  • Backlash + Feedback (Edit)
    • If you stack Backlash and Feedback on the same enemy warjack, then the warcaster will take two damage every time the warjack is damaged.
    • Furthermore, the warcaster has to spend two focus to negate this damage.
      Because it's two different effects which are both resolved at Step 10a of the Attack Sequence (Apdx A of core rulebook) but have to be resolved one at a time (refer 'Triggers' in the core rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hard Head      (Edit)

  • You can add the POW even if the weapon system is crippled.
  • Hard Head doesn't get applied to collateral damage, because that is a separate type of roll. Refer page 45 of the mini rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).

Rules Clarification : Unyielding - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge within your own activation ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model somehow triggers their own move. For instance, you move towards a model with Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dig In      (Edit)

  • Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
  • Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Drag Below      (Edit)

  • You cannot use an "anytime" ability (such as an animus) during an attack that involves a Drag Below. This is because Drag Below is resolved during Step 12 of the Attack Sequence and causes your activation to end, and you can't use an "anytime" ability until after finishing step 14. (Infernal Ruling)