Category:Battlegroup Controller

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from BGC)
Jump to: navigation, search

Battlegroup Controllers (aka "Journeyman Warcaster" aka "Junior Warcaster") are essentially mini-warcasters. They share the same rules except 1) they don't have a feat and 2) they are a solo model instead of a warcaster model. The later is relevant for spells/abilities that interact only with warcasters or only with non-warcasters (such as Black Arts, Parlay, Seduction, etc).

In mk2 they were known as Journeyman Warcasters, but this led to confusion with the actual Journeyman Warcaster which is a Cygnar model, so they were renamed in mk3 to the much less intuitive title.

The equivalent rule in Hordes is Lesser Warlock. The limited Faction Infernals has a similar, but slightly more powerful version Master Infernalist.




Battlegroup Controller - This model is not a warcaster (it's a solo) but has the following warcaster special rules: Battlegroup Commander, Focus Manipulation, Power Field, and Spellcaster. This model must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup at the start of the game. Edit description
Lesser Warlock - This model is not a warlock (it's a solo) but has the following warlock special rules: Battlegroup Commander, Fury Manipulation, Healing, Spellcaster, and Transferring Damage. This model must have at least one warbeast in its battlegroup at the start of the game. Edit description
Master Infernalist - Princess Regna is not an infernal master but has all the special rules of an infernal master except that she has no feat. Regna can have only non-character Infernal light and lesser horrors in its battlegroup. Edit description


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
    • Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is not a warcaster
  • Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
  • When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.