Axiara Wraithblade

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1330 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cryx Logo.jpg Axiara Wraithblade

Cryx Satyxis Character Solo

Admiral Axiara Wraithblade is one of the most feared women on the Meredius and oversees countless pirate flotillas from her flagship, the Morbid Angel. Wraithblade earned her moniker from the blood-consecrated sword Anathema she wields. The weapon is a relic of Satyx, purified by blood priestesses in a ritual of carnage to infuse it with occult power. When she cuts enemies down by its edge, the spilled blood allows her to become as insubstantial as smoke, letting her bypass enemy defenses to close on her chosen foe.

Basic Info

Axiara Wraithblade
Missing Info
Axiara Wraithblade.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR 6
MAT 8
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 14
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Tough symbol.jpg Tough
  • Battle Plan - This model can use one of the following plans at any time during its activation. A friendly Faction model/unit can be affected by only one plan each turn.
    • Serpent's Grace - RNG 5". Target friendly living Faction model/unit. If the model/unit is in range, it gains Dodge for one round (as below).
    • Sneak - RNG 5". Target friendly living Faction warrior model/unit. If the model/unit is in range, it gains Prowl. Models are not affected while out of formation. (Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.)
    • Special Orders - RNG 5. Target friendly living Cryx model/unit. If the model/unit is in range, it gains Reposition [3"] for one turn. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
  • Dodge - This model can advance up to 2" immediately after an enemy attack that missed it is resolved unless it was missed while advancing. It cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
  • Tactician [ Living Cryx ] - While in this model's command range, friendly living Cryx models can ignore other friendly living Cryx models when determining LOS. Friendly living Cryx models can advance through other friendly living Cryx models in this model's command range if they have enough movement to move completely past them.

Weapons

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Axiara Wraithblade

Axiara Wraithblade in a nutshell

Axiara is a support solo who can kick ass in melee, too (but only if you're sure it's worth the risk). Tactician is great, just for how it simplifies your order of activation issues, and her battle plans are always handy. She'll (almost) always be the first free pick for free solo in the Scourge of the Broken Coast theme.

On the charge, she hits like a brick (P+S 13 + 4d6 = 27 on an average roll) and has the possibility of going Incorporeal and/or using Reposition on herself to stay safe the following round.

Combos & Synergies

  • As a purely infantry oriented support solo, she's good for everything you'd want to take in the two themes she's available in, especially the medium-based Black Ogrun and Blighted Trollkin because Tactician lets them unpack more easily.
  • Any high DEF living caster could do with a timely Dodge late game.
  • Reposition on Deneghra1 allows her to leverage her feat then reposition back to a safer position.
  • When Tactician is paired with Severa Blacktide's Run and Gun, Satyxis Gunslingers become extremely mobile; walking through your frontlines, shooting then darting back.
    • You can even put Reposition on the Gunslingers for more darty-ness, because they stack (unlike most bonus moves).

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • She's one of those solos that has no apparent downside. Her abilities are either passive or can be used at any time, and her stats are good. Her points cost would be a downside, except you'll be taking her for free in theme.
  • If you do commit her to combat, her Tactician aura will end up in an odd place and you'll end up with your other troops crammed. Especially if she dies after comitting.
  • She is a little bit squishy, with not quite enough DEF or ARM. And the lack of pathfinder can be annoying.

Tricks & Tips

  • If you have no better target, she can use a Battle Plan on herself. Repositioning yourself after putting yourself somewhere stupid is like a "Get Out of Jail Free" card.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in the Black Fleet CID (2017.11)
  • She ranks just under Skarre in the chain of command.
  • "Anathema" means vehement disliking, or strong curse.

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood Shadow      (Edit)

  • If you make another attack after triggering Blood Shadow (for example, a Blood Witch making a horn attack) then you will immediately lose incorporeal.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battle Plan      (Edit)

  • A model can issue a Battle Plan to itself (assuming it meets the 'model type' criteria).
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Warcasters/warlocks/etc can normally cast a spell or use their feat "At any time". However, there is a core rule saying they cannot do so on the same activation that they run. So, they are subject to all the same restrictions listed above, plus they can't cast/feat before running.
    9. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after they run (Infernal Ruling) or fail a charge. Because that makes that specific model's activation to end even though the unit's activation is still ongoing, and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • You can use an "Any Time" ability before running, however.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Serpent's Grace - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sneak      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Special Orders      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
    • Some end-of-activation abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability, and some don't. Either way, you can never do anything extra during or after triggering an end-of-activation ability. You cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
    • If you start resolving an end-of-activation-movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's end-of-activation-movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one end-of-activation ability, you have to choose which one to resolve, then your activation ends and you cannot use the other one.
    • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactician and/or Operations Command     (Edit)

  • Applying the LOS and Movement bonuses work like mirror opposites:
    • LOS: The models you draw LOS through do not need to be in the Tactician bubble. The model drawing LOS does need to be in the Tactician bubble.
    • Movement: The models you move through do need to be in the bubble. The model moving does not.
  • The "can ignore for LOS" is not optional. You cannot opt to "turn off" your ability to see through models, in the hope of getting a free strike or some such. (Infernal Ruling)