Avatar of Menoth

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1327 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Protectorate Logo.jpg Avatar of Menoth

Protectorate Character Heavy Warjack

A sanctified instrument of divine wrath, the Avatar of Menoth is a warjack guided by the Creator’s will alone. In its right hand the Avatar wields a Sulese blade named Burning Wrath that is wreathed with holy flames. In its left hand it bears the Divine Shield, consecrated to turn away blades, gunfire, and the touch of heathen magic.

Basic Info

Avatar of Menoth
Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
STR 12
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19 / 21 (★)
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
(★) 21 with the Shield bonus
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Avatar - This model cannot be part of a battlegroup or be 'jack marshaled and does not have a functional cortex. This model can have up to 4 focus points at any time. During the focus allocation step of your Control Phase, this model receives d3+1 focus points.
  • Menoth's Gaze - This model can spend 1 focus point at any time during its activation to use Menoth's Gaze. For one round, enemy models that begin their activation within 8" of this model and in its LOS can advance only toward this model.
  • Sacred Ward - This model cannot be targeted by enemy spells.


Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2019.08

Thoughts on the Avatar of Menoth

Classic sculpt

Avatar of Menoth in a nutshell

The Avatar of Menoth is a heavy beatstick warjack that stands apart from a battlegroup and generates its own focus. One of the hardest hitting warjacks around, the Avatar is also the most expensive around.

Combos & Synergies

Caster specific:

  • Cyrenia can boost its offense and defense with Positive Charge and Inviolable Resolve, respectively. Being able to generate its own Focus is a big boon for Cyrenia, who is often Focus-strapped. Lastly placing a rock wall in front of the Avatar and having Gaze force the enemy to advance through the wall is a very crippling combo for any troops that don't have flight of pathfinder, so with careful placement and Gaze, you can prevent many opponents within 8" from being able to engage it in melee. It is also gains +2 DEF during her feat, which can be really obnoxious when you park a Menite Archon right next to it for Ashen Veil induced DEF 14.
  • Kreoss3 gives it Assail for extra threat range or Assail for extra hitting power. He doesn't have any battlegroup buffs either.
  • While Durst's feat doesn't work on it, the Avatar is a big fan of Boundless Charge, and Hallowed Avenger is no longer battlegroup-only.
  • Thyra and Reznik2 also provide speedups.

Non-caster specific:

  • The Avatar can be included in a Faithful Masses theme force and will get a caster-independent MAT and damage buff from Hand of Vengeance.
  • Choir of Menoth naturally.
  • Hand of Silence can provide it with Focus if he's got souls on him.
  • Vassal of Menoth - They can top it of if it rolls low during the control phase.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Avatar is never part of a battlegroup, so he never benefits from battlegroup spells. Also he can't be paid for with warjack points, meaning some lists might be short of support units.
  • Random focus means that murphy's law is likely to trip you up just when you want to go in fully loaded.
  • Expensive.
  • The Gaze only applies to models the target can see; a smart enemy will use a couple of models to block LoS to the Avatar.

Tips & Tricks

  • Bring a Vassal to top the Avatar off before he enters combat, or give him Enliven to escape combat. Two fully-boosted hits will hurt but are unlikely to kill him.
  • If any systems have been taken out, a Mechanik will always repair a minimum of two boxes, guaranteeing a fully functional Avatar (the Avatar only has 3 systems, and if all 3 are out, he is dead).

The Gaze:

  • Use the Gaze to mess with order of activation and protect a side from reinforcing or contesting. Use Rough Terrain, Forests and Walls to your advantage against non-Pathfinder heavies.
  • The Gaze gets more powerful the longer the game goes on, less models to get in the way and less models available to contest means that every one you can lock out of scenario counts much more.
  • Don't bother to Gaze other heavies unless you are preventing them from contesting or can hide behind enough terrain to stay out of threat range; enemy heavies want to hit high-value targets, and the Avatar is the highest value target most Menoth armies field outside a colossal.



Other Protectorate Models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)          
Battlegroup & Similar

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Feora4 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest


Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.01

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flame Burst      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • If you deploy in fire hazard terrain (Burning Earth), then you get set on fire before the game starts.
Deploying a model in a hazard counts as being "put into play" in the hazard. Being put into play counts as "entering". When you enter a hazard, you trigger the hazard.
  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Avatar      (Edit)

  • The Avatar of Menoth can be disrupted. In this case it will not get any focus from the "Avatar" rule. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The Avatar of Menoth can benefit from Empower if it is Disrupted. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The Avatar can spend focus even though it doesn't have a "functional cortex". (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Menoth's Gaze      (Edit)

  • The entire movement needs to be towards the Avatar; you can't start 3" away, move to within 1", then continue moving and end your movement 2" away, and try to claim "2 is less than 3 therefore I moved towards it". Refer to the definition of "towards" in the core rulebook. (Locked Thread)
  • The model(s) don't have to move directly towards the Avatar. This means moving in a "slowly tightening spiral" is an acceptable option.
  • Whether this spiral needs to be measured as a series of straight lines, or whether you just accept the "mathematical solution of a perfect curve" and move the model directly to its final position is a hotly debated topic. (Link to discussion). The general consensus is, though, that it's up to your opponent.
    • If they are willing to accept your mathematical proof, no dramas. You're both on the same page.
    • If they're not, then you need to move the model in accordance with the rules: Straight lines and rotations. You can make each movement 1/16 of an inch and each rotation 1/10 of a degree, but it needs be measurable and confirmable by both players.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Warcasters/warlocks/etc can normally cast a spell or use their feat "At any time". However, there is a core rule saying they cannot do so on the same activation that they run. So, they are subject to all the same restrictions listed above, plus they can't cast/feat before running.
    9. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after they run (Infernal Ruling) or fail a charge. Because that makes that specific model's activation to end even though the unit's activation is still ongoing, and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • You can use an "Any Time" ability before running, however.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.