Protectorate Character Heavy Warjack
A sanctified instrument of divine wrath, the Avatar of Menoth is a warjack guided by the Creator’s will alone. In its right hand the Avatar wields a Sulese blade named Burning Wrath that is wreathed with holy flames. In its left hand it bears the Divine Shield, consecrated to turn away blades, gunfire, and the touch of heathen magic.
|Avatar of Menoth
|| 19 (21)|
|(★) 21 when you include the Shield bonus
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Divine Shield - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
- Shield - This weapon is a shield that gives the model a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. A model does not gain this bonus while the weapon system with the shield is crippled or when resolving damage that originates in its back arc.
- Burning Wrath - 2" reach, P+S 19 melee weapon.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Avatar - The Avatar can't be in a battlegroup or controlled by a 'Jack Marshal. It doesn't have a cortex, but can hold up to 4 focus points. It automatically receives d3+1 focus points each turn.
- Menoth's Gaze - At any time during it's activation, the Avatar can spend 1 focus to use his Gaze. For one round, enemy models that begin their activation within 8" and in his LOS can only advance towards the Avatar.
- Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.
Thoughts on the Avatar of Menoth
Avatar of Menoth in a nutshell
The Avatar of Menoth is a heavy beatstick warjack that stands apart from a battlegroup and generates its own focus. One of the hardest hitting warjacks around, the Avatar is also the most expensive around.
Combos & Synergies
- Choir of Menoth naturally.
- Any warcaster that's trying to run an ARM-skew list/wall of steel but doesn't have battlegroup spells (for example because their spells are single target buffs or debuffs).
- Kreoss3 gives it Assail for extra threat range. He doesn't have any battlegroup buffs either.
- While Durst's feat doesn't work on it, the Avatar is a big fan of Boundless Charge, and Hallowed Avenger is no longer battlegroup-only.
- Thyra and Reznik2 also provide speedups.
- The Avatar can be included in a Faithful Masses theme force, providing an independent Warjack bringing his own focus for casters that don't want to give out extra (Thyra/Vindictus), and can get a caster-independent MAT and damage buff from Hand of Vengeance.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Avatar is never part of a battlegroup, so he never benefits from battlegroup spells. Also he can't be paid for with warjack points, meaning some lists might be short of support units.
- Random focus means that murphy's law is likely to trip you up just when you want to go in fully loaded.
- The Gaze only applies to models the target can see; a smart enemy will use a couple of models to block LoS to the Avatar.
Tips & Tricks
- Bring a Vassal to top the Avatar off before he enters combat, or give him Enliven to escape combat. Two fully-boosted hits will hurt but are unlikely to kill him.
- If any systems have been taken out, a Mechanik will always repair a minimum of two boxes, guaranteeing a fully functional Avatar (the Avatar only has 3 systems, and if all 3 are out, he is dead).
- Use the Gaze to mess with order of activation and protect a side from reinforcing or contesting. Use Rough Terrain, Forests and Walls to your advantage against non-Pathfinder heavies.
- The Gaze gets more powerful the longer the game goes on, less models to get in the way and less models available to contest means that every one you can lock out of scenario counts much more.
- Don't bother to Gaze other heavies unless you are preventing them from contesting or can hide behind enough terrain to stay out of threat range; enemy heavies want to hit high-value targets, and the Avatar is the highest value target most Menoth armies field outside a colossal.
Originally released in Warmachine: Apotheosis (2005)
Other Protectorate Models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler (Edit)
- The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
- In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
- You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Flame Burst (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
- Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Avatar (Edit)
- The Avatar of Menoth can be disrupted. In this case it will not get any focus from the "Avatar" rule. (Infernal Ruling)
- The Avatar of Menoth can benefit from Empower if it is Disrupted. (Infernal Ruling)
- The Avatar can spend focus even though it doesn't have a "functional cortex". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Menoth's Gaze (Edit)
- The model(s) don't have to move directly towards the Avatar. This means moving in a "slowly tightening spiral" is an acceptable option.
- Whether this spiral needs to be measured as a series of straight lines, or whether you just accept the "mathematical solution of a perfect curve" and move the model directly to its final position is a hotly debated topic. (Link to discussion). The general consensus is, though, that it's up to your opponent.
- If they are willing to accept your mathematical proof, no dramas. You're both on the same page.
- If they're not, then you need to move the model in accordance with the rules: Straight lines and rotations. You can make each movement 1/16 of an inch and each rotation 1/10 of a degree, but it needs be measurable and confirmable by both players.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
(Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an Any-Time ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.