Attendant Priest

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1213 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Crucible Guard Assault Troopers (one year review) Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (one year review) Cinerators CA (one year review) Exemplar Warder (one year review)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Attendant Priest

Protectorate Command Attachment

The attendant priest brings the strength of Menoth to mercenaries who choose to receive the deity’s light and truth. Through his earthly vessel, Menoth blesses the weapons of those who do battle in his name, moves aside obstacles in their path, and wards them from the heathen magic of their enemies. Under his watchful gaze, mercs learn to act in concert with Menoth’s legions.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Attendant Priest
Missing Info
AttendandPriest.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 4
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Attachment: [Small- or Medium-based Mercenary] - This model can be attached to a Small- or Medium-based Mercenary unit.
  • Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Protectorate of Menoth models instead of Mercenary models.

Abilities

  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Prayers - This model can use one of the following special rules at any time durimg each of its unit's activations. Each model in the unit gains the benefits listed.
    • Aegis - Affected models become immune to continuous effects for one round.
    • Imbued Force - Affected models gain Magical Damage on their weapons for one turn.
    • Warding - For one round, models in formation can't be targeted by enemy spells.

Weapons

  • Battle Staff - 2" reach, P+S 7 melee attack.

Theme Forces

The Attendant Priest is allowed in all the Protectorate themes (as of 2019.04), because every theme allows a Mercenary unit and their attachments.


Thoughts on Attendant Priest

Attendant Priest in a nutshell

The main purpose of this guy is to transform a unit of Mercenary models into a unit of Protectorate models, so the rest of your army can cast "friendly Faction only" buffs on them.

He also provides his Mercs a little protection from enemy tricks thanks to abilities like Warding - which can be really useful against certain enemies (such as Deneghra2), but you need to know your local metagame.

Combos & Synergies

  • In The Faithful Masses theme force, his Mercenary unit will also count towards free points.
    • There is a bug in Warroom that means it's not calculated properly, though.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model.
  • The Attendant Priest gets no real work done, and makes Mercenary units more expensive.

Tricks & Tips

  • Even though he's FA 2, the way theme forces work means you'll only ever need one.

Other

Trivia

Released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

It is as of yet unexplained how he is able to make elves or dwarves convert to the Creator of humanity

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
    • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
    • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
      For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
    • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
      Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
      But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
      Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Ranking Officer      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* General
    • If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
      For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
    • A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
    • You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
    • The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Nyss Hunters giving Hunter).
    • Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
      This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
    • You can't add a Ranking Officer to a unit that already acts as a Partisan for your Faction.
  • Themes
    • If your theme allows a Merc and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless of what the theme's "Allowed models" are. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you do attach the Ranking Office, that Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Ranking Officer death
    • The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
    • The merc unit will keep any spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
    • If the merc unit was handing out a buff to 'friendly Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap factions' too.
      For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same faction as her, not whatever was friendly at the time of casting. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If the Merc unit got a Faction-specific theme benefit (such as Cygnar models getting Immmunity Electricity in Storm Division) then they keep that benefit even after the Ranking Officer dies. (Infernal Ruling)
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prayers and/or Follow the Leader and/or Tactical Flexibility and/or Witchcraft     (Edit)

  • All models get the benefit, regardless of whether they're in formation or not.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Units: Before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    3. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    4. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    6. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    7. You're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an Any-Time ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    8. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Aegis      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Imbued Force      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warding      (Edit)

  • Models can still be affected by spells that target someone else, such as AOEs and sprays.