Archduke Alain Runewood, Lord of Fharin

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Archduke Runewood)
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg Archduke Alain Runewood, Lord of Fharin

Cygnar Character Solo - ('Jack Marshal)

Among Cygnar’s greatest living battlefield generals, Archduke Alain Runewood has given up the comfort and safety of his estates in aid of his country and his king. Wherever his command fights, Runewood leads from the heart of battle. His tactical acumen is finely honed, and his inspiring presence pushes his sword knights to fight fearlessly in the face of even the most dangerous foe.

Basic Info

Runewood1
Missing Info
Runewood.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • 'Jack Marshal - This model can control a Faction warjack, albeit in a limited manner. Click the link for the full rules.
  • Drive: Reposition [5"] - While in this model's CMD range, a warjack under its control gains Reposition [5"]. (Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.)
  • Battle Plan - This model can use one of the following plans at any time during its activation. A friendly Faction model/unit can be affected by only one plan each turn.
    • March - RNG 5. Target friendly Faction warrior model/unit. If the model/unit is in range, it gains Pathfinder for one turn.
    • Path to Victory - Target friendly Faction warrior model/unit within 5" gains +2 to charge attack rolls for one turn.
    • Reveille - Knocked down friendly Faction models in this model's command range immediately stand up. Models that became knocked down this turn are not affected by Reveille.
  • Veteran Leader [Sword Knight] - While in this model's command range, other friendly Sword Knight models gain +1 to attack rolls.

Weapons

  • Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun.
  • Vindicator - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Hearts of Darkness. Archduke Alain Runewood, Lord of Fharin can only go in this theme if Sloan is leading the army. It becomes an Infernal model in this theme.

Thoughts on Archduke Alain Runewood, Lord of Fharin

Archduke Alain Runewood, Lord of Fharin in a nutshell

Runewood is a support piece for melee-centric Warcasters and units. You primarily want to use him for his Battle Plans, most notably Pathfinder, and the occasional hand cannon shot. He's capable in Melee, but only as a last resort to defend other models behind your front line.

Combos & Synergies

Most of Cygnar's melee units love Path to Victory to make their charge attacks truly stellar. But notable beneficiaries include:

  • Sword Knights start to go from fairly average to more elite warriors when near Runewood. When combined with Flank: Faction Warjack, their MAT is effectively among the best in the game.
  • Lord Commander Stryker likes to have his charge attack hit, particularly when using Overload. By using Path to Victory, he doesn't have to rely on Positive Charge to take on high DEF casters. March can also be used to circumvent any difficult terrain between Stryker and his target.
  • If you want to make use of his drive there are a small handful of jacks where being marshaled is actively superior to being run by a warlock/warcaster.
    • The Sentinel is a cheap shield guard with multiple attacks - and with Reposition it can move out, shoot, then move back to a shield guard spot.
    • The Cyclone is never going to have the focus to boost all its shots. But can get a flat to hit or damage bonus on both.
    • The Hammersmith likes the way it can get up the table faster with Reposition - and Strike True gives it a better chance of getting its chain attack to work than focus would.
    • On paper the Stormclad works well if you can use its Accumulator and Captain Arlan Strangewayes' Empower alongside the Crush! order for 4 P+S 21 attacks.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • His defensive stats are fairly average, he doesn't want to be near the front line.
  • While his Drive is useful, he doesn't do anything fantastic for any of the Warjacks he can control. For controlling a Stormclad, the Stormblade Captain can offer the same Drive as well as the source for Accumulator without needing a 3rd model or unit.

Tricks & Tips

  • Battle plans aren't an action. This means you can use them before running, after completing a successful charge or in addition to making ranged or melee attacks.
  • His Drive with the Hurry command can yield a surprisingly mobility for SPD4 jacks. Trample forward 4+3", then reposition another 5; that's 4" more than you would get with running.

Other

Trivia

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal     (Edit)

  • If a warjack gets a marshal benefit (such as Crush) but then moves out of the marshal's CMD range, it keeps the benefit. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Marshals can control character warjacks. (Closed thread)
  • Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
    • They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous.
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Drive     (Edit)

  • If the Drive is on an Officer model, and that model dies, then the new unit commander does not inherit the Drive.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition     (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battle Plan     (Edit)

  • A model can issue a Battle Plan to itself (assuming it meets the 'model type' criteria).
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : March     (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Path to Victory - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Reveille - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader     (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
    • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)