Arcana

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

Arcana are unique to the Grymkin faction, and are used by their warlocks in lieu of feats.

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Since they were released after the launch of mk3, the rules for Arcana are not within the core rulebook.

Nevertheless they can still be downloaded for free from PP's website - you just need to look for the "New core rules" download instead of the "Rules" download.]

Arcana Core Rules

Instead of feats, Grymkin warlocks have Arcana cards. Arcana cards can be played at any time during a game in accordance with the rules on the cards. Each of a warlock’s Arcana cards can be played only once per game. A warlock can play only one Arcana card per turn.

There are two types of Arcana cards: regular Arcana cards and Trump Arcana cards. Each Grymkin warlock has one Trump card that can be assigned only to that warlock. The remaining Arcana cards can be assigned to any Grymkin warlock.

Before either player’s deployment at the start of the game, a Grymkin player assigns each of his warlocks three Arcana cards and reveals those cards to the opponent. One of these three cards must be the warlock’s Trump card. The other two cards can be any non-Trump Arcana cards, but each card can only be assigned to a single warlock in the army once. In other words, no duplicate Arcana cards are allowed within an army.

Regular Arcana

You can trigger it when an enemy model ... What it does
 

Labyrinth

... advances and ends its movement in the warlock's control. For one round, enemy models beginning their activations in the warlock's control suffer –2 SPD that activation.
 

Pandemonium

... non-warcaster, non-warlock model issues an order while in the warlock's control. The model’s unit is not affected by that order. Can not affect a Warlock Unit/Warcaster Unit.
 

Ruin

... targets a model in the warlock's control with a spell. The spell does not take effect, but is still considered to be cast and its COST remains spent. Additionally, all enemy upkeep spells in the warlock’s CTRL range expire.
 

Sacrifice

... destroys a friendly Grymkin model in the warlock's control. After the destroyed model has been removed from the table, you can remove all damage points from each friendly Grymkin model in the warlock's control.
 

Ill Omens

... destroys a Grymkin warrior model in the warlock’s control. For one round, enemy models suffer –1 to attack and damage rolls.
 

The Shadow

... advances into and ends its movement in the melee range of a smaller-based friendly Grymkin model in the warlock's command. Immediately add to play one Grymkin heavy warbeast to the warlock's battlegroup, placing it anywhere completely within 5˝ of the smaller-based friendly Grymkin model. The warbeast cannot advance. The warbeast is removed from play after one round.
 

Fortune's Path

... misses a friendly Grymkin model in the warlock’s control with an attack. For one round, friendly Grymkin models gain +1 to attack and damage rolls against enemy models in the warlock's control.
 

Shroud

... destroys a friendly Grymkin model in the warlock's command with a ranged attack. ... For one round, friendly Grymkin models gain stealth while in the warlock's control.
 

Accursed

... damages a friendly Grymkin model with a corpse token that is in the warlock's control. ... For one round, while in the Warlock's control, enemy models lose incorporeal, tough, and undead, and can't have damage removed. Also, enemy non-warbeast models lose Construct while in CTRL.
 

Desolation

... ends its Normal Movement in the warlock's control. ... Centre a 4" AoE on the enemy model. Choose whether it's an acid bath, burning earth, forest, hill, rubble, or shallow water. You may remove this at the start of any of your turns.

Trump Arcana

Refer to individual warlocks for their Trump cards, and any associated rules clarifications.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Arcana     (Edit)

  • Normally Arcana can only be triggered during the enemy turn. However, sometimes a free strike will allow you to trigger an Arcana during your own turn.
    • This can potentially lead to having two Arcana active at the same time.
  • Arcana can be triggered/used while the warlock is knocked down.
  • Any given warlock can't have duplicates of the same Arcana.
  • In a multi-warlock game, each warlock can't have duplicates of the other's Arcana.
  • In a Steamroller tournament:
    • You choose your Arcana cards before the start of each game.
    • You choose them on your clock. ie during your deployment time.
    • In a Grymkin vs Grymkin mirror match, one player chooses on his clock, then the other on their clock, then both reveal, then deployment starts.

The Heretic - Reckoning - None yet

The Dreamer - All Fall Down   [Show/Hide]
  • Once triggered, there is no range limit to which models can be affected. An enemy model could be fighting a Grymkin model on the opposite side of the board from the Dreamer, and it'll still get knocked down.
The Child - Wrath   [Show/Hide]
  • Determine which warbeasts are currently in The Child's CTRL range before increasing her CTRL range. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can trigger this if The Child herself is damaged.
    • Say you have a warbeast at max fury that you want to transfer to. You cannot have The Child suffer damage, then trigger Wrath, then transfer the damage to the now-not-at-max-fury warbeast. Because, as per Appendix A Timing Sequence, damage transfer occurs at step 9g, but damage to The Child that lets her trigger the Arcana occurs at step 10a.
  • You can trigger this if a warbeast out of your CTRL range is damaged (although they won't get the benefit).
  • When your FURY stat drops back down to normal, any excess fury tokens are discarded.

The Wanderer - Divergent Path - None yet

The King of Nothing - Taste of Ashes   [Show/Hide]
  • There is no range limit on who gets damaged. If the nearest model(s) is 48" away, it'll get damaged anyway.
  • The warbeast that you trigger the Arcana on will also cause d3 damage to d3 models. It's not just "from then on".
  • You roll a separate d3 damage for each damaged model.
  • If multiple warbeasts are killed by a single attacker (such as with an AOE) you resolve the "d3 damage" sequentially, one warbeast at a time.
    If the original attacker is destroyed by this damage, the rest of the "d3 damages" fail to trigger because the attacking model is no longer in play. (Infernal Ruling)

  • Note that The Shadow and the Shroud Arcana have the trigger tied to your lower CMD range.
Ill Omens   [Show/Hide]
  • Note that there is no range limit on the effect of Ill Omens.
Ruin   [Show/Hide]
  • For Ruin, refer to the clarifications on Arcane Vortex. It's essentially the same in-game effect and has the same clarifications.
Sacrifice   [Show/Hide]
  • Kreuger1's feat puts AOEs in play which causes damage immediately, then damages anyone walking around in them later. Sacrifice can be triggered by the damage when the AOEs are first put in play, but not from damage taken when walking around in the AOE. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrifice can be triggered from damage taken the Sunhammer spell. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrifice can be triggered from stuff like Electro-Leap and Chain Lightning. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If your warlock transfers damage and that kills a warbeast, it doesn't count as the enemy destroying the warbeast and Sacrifice can't be triggered. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrifice can be triggered from a Steamroller objective, or can be used to heal an objective. (Infernal Ruling)
The Shadow   [Show/Hide]
  • The model that is advanced into must be smaller-based than the enemy model doing the advancing.
  • The only restrictions on the new warbeast are what are stated. You can cast spells on it, force it, give it corpse tokens, whatever you like.
  • You cannot trigger this by taking control of an enemy model, because it's not an enemy model while under you control.
  • If you trigger it during your opponent's turn, the warbeast will be in play for the remainder of your opponent's turn, you can activate it during your next turn, and it'll expire at the end of that turn.
  • If you manage to trigger it on your own turn (an enemy model got an Admonition move, or something) then you can activate the warbeast this turn, and it'll expire at the end of your opponent's next turn.
  • Whether you need the actual physical model for something that is only in play for one round, or whether you can use a marker instead, is a decision that must be made by the Event Organiser. A PP event will always require the correct model. (Infernal Ruling)
Accursed   [Show/Hide]
  • Enemy models can regain the abilities they lost. For instance, having Zombify cast on them.

Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04