Alexia, The Undying

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Alexia, The Undying

Mercenary Character Solo

Shadows obscure her every movement, but the name Alexia Ciannor is known across the war-torn Iron Kingdoms. She has garnered a reputation for pitilessness, blasphemy, and sorcerous power that seems out of proportion for her youth. There is no question she has chosen a side in the looming conflict, and she stands with humanity, much to the surprise of those who once sought to end her. She brings the undead against a greater evil, and the Witchfire’s power flows through her. Those who look into her cold eyes perceive a woman who seems no longer entirely human or mortal.

Basic Info

Alexia

Alexia3
Missing Info
Alexia 3.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 4
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. 8
DEF 15
ARM 15
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Mercenary - This model will work for Cygnar and Khador.

Abilities

  • Elite CadreUndead solos ] - Friendly Undead solo models gain Shield Guard. (Shield Guard - When a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of a model with Shield Guard, you can choose to have the model with Shield Guard directly hit instead. It is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. A model can use Shield Guard only once per round and cannot use Shield Guard if it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary. The Shield Guard special rule can only trigger once per attack roll.)
  • FlankUndead ] - When this model makes a melee attack against an enemy model in the melee range of a friendly Undead model, this model gains +2 to attack rolls and gains an additional damage die.
  • Magic Ability [ 8 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Passive Necromancy - Once per turn when another living warrior model in this model's command range is destroyed by an enemy attack, you can choose to remove the boxed model from play and replace it with a Thrall Warrior model. The Thrall Warrior must forfeit its combat action the turn it is put into play.
  • Spell Ward - This model cannot be targeted by spells.

Weapons

Witchfire
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 8 12

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Hellfire

(★ Attack) 10 - 14 - Yes
Models disabled by Hellfire cannot make a Tough roll. Models boxed by Hellfire are removed from play.
Null Magic

(★ Action) - CMD - Round No
For one round, models cannot cast spells while in this model's command range.
Power of Death

(★ Action) - CMD - Turn No
While in this model's command range, friendly undead models gain +2 STR. Power of Death lasts for one turn.

Thrall Warrior

The Thrall Warrior is a separate solo. You start with 0, but can end up with a theoretically infinite number of them via Passive Necromancy.


Thrall Warrior
Missing Info
Thrall Warrior.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

Great Sword
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 4 10


Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2021.10 Mega Update

  • Shield Guard gains a clause to say "once per attack" so you can't chain multiple Shield Guards together to move an attack halfway across the table.

Thoughts on Alexia3

Alexia3 in a nutshell

Alexia3 continues to build upon the classic Alexia package, which is to say she is a strong spellcaster with some skeleton summoning built in.

This version features perhaps the most powerful summon, Passive Necromancy, which just ... happens. This can really mess up your opponent, since suddenly a Thrall Warrior might just pop up in an inconvenient spot!

She also synergizes well with Undead models (she was released at the same time as the Legion of Lost Souls) with Flank and Power of Death. Lastly, her sword has some niche anti-Infernal tech.

Combos & Synergies

  • Synergizes with Legion of Lost Souls, allowing her to be sure she'll have access to her Flank ability. Equally importantly they are also one of the few options who can take advantage of Power of Death (aside from her Thrall Warriors, of course). Since they have Partisan: Cygnar you can threaten to combo this with Fury if you are running someone with access like Colonel Markus 'Siege' Brisbane, putting them at a comfortable P+S of 17. Essentially you can make your defensive shieldwall infantry a serious threat to most targets.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The biggest downside for Alexia3 is that she is an Alexia model, meaning if you run her you can't also run Alexia1 or Alexia2.
  • Null Magic applies to all spellcasting, not just your opponent's - plan your turn accordingly if you intend to use it.
  • If you bring don't bring Legion of Lost Souls with her, you are missing out on a big part of her kit and should probably look to Alexia1/2 instead.
  • Passive Necromancy means she can pretty reliably pop out two Thralls per enemy turn, using one of your models during the enemy's turn and one enemy model during your turn. Her previous incarnations can pop out more if you manage to fuel them well and don't RFP your destroyed models.
  • Passive Necromancy RFPs models, meaning you cannot bring it back with Blood Bound or Revive. That means she actually has some skornergy with the unit she is supposed to support. On the bright side, the opponent cannot bring back their stuff either.

Tricks & Tips

  • Remember that Passive Necromancy works on both yours and your opponent's models.
  • Try to use this ability before using Stryker2's feat. Although they can't activate fully on the turn they come in, Thralls can still use the 3" move and attack it grants.

Other

Trivia

Released 2019.10

Other Theme Forces

Cygnar (Edit)

Khador (Edit)

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Elite Cadre      (Edit)

  • Elite Cadre bonuses persist even after the model dies.
  • Elite Cadre bonuses can apply to teammates in multiplayer games.
  • It is possible for a model to receive multiple Elite Cadres. All will benefit the model (excluding receiving the same benefit twice). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Elite Cadre applies to both singular and plural. For instance Elite Cadre [Daughters of the Flame] will apply to Thyra even though she is only a Daughter of the Flame. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian     (Edit)

  • You can't use this ability vs spells.
  • You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
  • Shield Guard only
    • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
    • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
    • The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flank      (Edit)

  • You can gain the Flank bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
  • Melee range is measured from your front arc so you cannot trigger Flank on models in your back arc.
  • The target enemy doesn't need to be in the Flanker's LOS, just their melee range.
    • Most of the time if something is in your melee range then it is so close it's in your LOS too, and the difference is meaningless.
    • But if you have 2" reach and you're jammed up in B2B with a bunch of closely-spaced enemies, you'll find your LOS is blocked. In this case, you might be able to trigger Flank on an enemy model that is "hiding" behind that front row of jammers, even though you don't have LOS to it.
  • Flank is not tied to a specific weapon, so Mount attacks and Power Attacks can benefit as well.
  • If you have two sources of Flank they are still giving you the bonus from the Flank rule so do not stack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If the target moves in/out of the Flanker's melee range between the attack roll and the damage roll (for instance if you throw it) then you need to reassess whether you get the Flank bonus for the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
  • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make initial ranged or initial melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
  • You cannot buy additional melee/ranged attacks after using a MA special attack. Refer to the core rulebook, "Special attacks listed as a rule of the model itself are neither melee attacks nor ranged attacks. The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any."
  • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability without using their Combat Action. These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
  • Models with Geomancy or Necromancy can use a Magic Ability at "any time" just like a warcaster/warlock.
  • Models with Battle Wizard or Necrophage can make melee attacks then get a bonus "free" spell.
  • Models with Combat Caster can cast a spell before charging, then do a normal charge + melee attack.
  • Note that Battle Wizards, Combat Casters, etc have the option to use their Combat Action to cast a spell. Their special rule is in addition to the normal spell casting, not instead of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Passive Necromancy      (Edit)

  • It should say destroyed, not boxed. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Even though this causes RFP, the model still reaches the destroyed step. As such a model that is destroyed and replaced by Passive Necromancy still is destroyed for effects such as Overtake and Berserk.(Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Devour Essence - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Hellfire - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Null Magic - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Power of Death - None yet. (Edit)