Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Infernal Logo.jpg Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash

Infernal Solo

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Infernals. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

Once among Cygnar’s most noble and competent military commanders, Alain Runewood has forsaken his nation and his soul to enter the service of the infernals.

Basic Info

Runewood2
Missing Info
Mordecai.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Insidious Plans - This model can use one of the following plans at any time during its activation.
    • Curse [Horror] - Choose an enemy model/unit in this model's command range. Friendly Horror models gain +2 to attack rolls against the chosen model/unit. Curse lasts for one turn.
    • Shadow - Choose an enemy model/unit in this model's command range. If the enemy model/unit advances during its activation, one friendly warrior model in this model's command range can immediately make a full advance. Shadow lasts for one round.
    • Valley of Woe - Choose an enemy warrior model/unit in Runewood's command range. The enemy model/unit loses Pathfinder and cannot gain it for one round.
  • Intelligence - You gain +1 to the starting roll determining the order of deployment and play.
  • Marked Soul - This model is a Marked Soul.

Weapons

Hand Cannon
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
12 1 - 12
Infernal Blade
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
2 6 12

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash

Alain Runewood, Lord of Ash in a Nutshell

Runewood is a master tactician who turns his opponent's plans against them. Intelligence is worth the price of entry, but he also brings Insidious Plans, which are kind of like opposite-Battle Plans, affecting enemy models with effects like Curse to help your horrors hit higher def, or removing pathfinder in Valley of Woe, or a Pursuit-style ability called Shadow.

Combos & Synergies

  • Hearts of Darkness features squishy front-line-to-mid-line casters almost exclusively. The Shadow plan can be used to keep them safe.
    • If Valin Hauke extends his Tactician bubble, the caster can advance through your own models on this move.
  • Shadow is amazing with Omodamos, as any extension to his threat range results in a substantial increase to his damage potential.
  • Dark Legacy offers him Reposition3 which allows him to escape back to safety after using his insidious plan.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He is pretty squishy and his abilities will put him in charge range of whatever he targets if he has already moved and is not in Dark Legacy.
  • In Hearts of Darkness his curse ability is quite lacklustre

Tricks & Tips

  • Because his plans choose an enemy model rather than targeting them, you don't need LOS.
  • Because his plans occur at any time you can declare them - then move away or engage at your leisure.
  • Consider bringing Umbral Guardian or The Wretch to keep him safe from shooting.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction release (2019.06)
  • Prior to release, PP hid the identity of Runewood2 from players. His concept art was "unfortunatley not complete in time for CID" and he was called a completely different name (Mordecai, Master of Arms). He was revealed via a revealed via a "Wanted Poster" placed on Facebook in the week just before the Faction was released.

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Battlegroup
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment (1) Lord Roget d'Vyaros
Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Light Lamenter - Shrieker Colossal Guardian of Souls - Harvester of Souls
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros (Attachment) - Lynda the Forgotten - Nicia2 - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - Runewood2 - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s

This index was last updated: 2021.07

(1) - Note that an Infernal Master Attachment is not part of the battlegroup, they are merely listed there for convenience.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Insidious Plans      (Edit)

  • Because his plans choose an enemy model rather than targeting them, you don't need LOS.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Warcasters/warlocks/etc can normally cast a spell or use their feat "At any time". However, there is a core rule saying they cannot do so on the same activation that they run. So, they are subject to all the same restrictions listed above, plus they can't cast/feat before running.
    9. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after they run (Infernal Ruling) or fail a charge. Because that makes that specific model's activation to end even though the unit's activation is still ongoing, and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • You can use an "Any Time" ability before running, however.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Curse      (Edit)

  • Curse applies to all attack rolls, including Impact Attacks and Magic Attacks (spells)
  • Curse is an ability, not an attack. Thus it can be used against stealthed models. (You can't auto-miss when you never need to roll to hit.)
  • Curse is an ability, not a spell. Thus it can be used against spell-warded models.
  • You don't need LOS, because it 'chooses'.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Warcasters/warlocks/etc can normally cast a spell or use their feat "At any time". However, there is a core rule saying they cannot do so on the same activation that they run. So, they are subject to all the same restrictions listed above, plus they can't cast/feat before running.
    9. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after they run (Infernal Ruling) or fail a charge. Because that makes that specific model's activation to end even though the unit's activation is still ongoing, and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
      • You can use an "Any Time" ability before running, however.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pursuit and/or Shadow     (Edit)

  • Pursuit/Shadow do not grant immunity to free strikes.
  • Pursuit/Shadow trigger off any in-activation movement (such as Sprint or Reposition). It doesn't trigger on out-of-activation movement (such as Locomotion).
  • If put on an enemy unit:
    • The unit's Normal Movement will trigger it once (not once per trooper).
    • "Unit-wide movement" (such as Reposition) will trigger it once (not once per trooper).
    • "Individual movement" (such as Overtake, Side Step, etc) will trigger once per individual movement.
    • (Infernal Ruling for the above points.)

Rules Clarification : Valley of Woe - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Intelligence      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Marked Soul      (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.