Agrimony, Crone of the Dying Strands

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1330 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cryx Logo.jpg Agrimony, Crone of the Dying Strands

Cryx Revenant Character Solo

The terrifying and ghostly witch Agrimony, more often whispered of as the Crone of the Dying Strands, is herself enslaved to Captain Rengrave, the first citizen of Cryx. She is nearly as old as her master, once having ruled her own island and standing apart from the pirate kings of old, who feared her curses.

Basic Info

Agrimony, Crone of the Dying Strands
Missing Info
Agrimony.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 4
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Incorporeal symbol.jpg Incorporeal
  • Undead symbol.jpg Undead
  • Apparition - During your Control Phase, place this model anywhere completely within 2" of its current location.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Tactician [ Revenant ] - While in this model's command range, friendly Revenant models can ignore other friendly Revenant models when determining LOS. Friendly Revenant models can advance through other friendly Revenant models in this model's command range if they have enough movement to move completely past them.

Weapons

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Black Waters

(★ Action) - (★) - Round No
While within 5" of this model, living models lose Tough and treat open terrain as shallow water. Black Waters lasts for one round.
Bone Shaker

(★ Attack) 8 - 12 - Yes
When Bone Shaker boxes a living or undead non-warcaster, non-warlock enemy warrior model, you can immediately take control of the model and make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then the boxed model is removed from play.The boxed model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
Sigil of Power

(★ Action) CMD - - Turn No
Target friendly model/unit. If it is in range, its weapons gain Damage Type: Magical. Sigil of Power lasts for one turn.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Agrimony

Agrimony in a nutshell

She is a support solo for Revenants, and as such is a premium choice in a Ghost Fleet list. The tools she brings (anti-Tough bubble, magical weapons on a stick, and ranged RFP) will be very much appreciated as that theme force is otherwise fairly restrictive.

Combos & Synergies

  • Tactician [Revenant] will make the activation of your Revenant Units much easier - especially when you consider you're likely to run around 30 of them in a regular Ghost Fleet list.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • She only really works in a Ghost Fleet theme.
  • She has no weapon so she can't charge to speed herself up.

Tricks & Tips

  • Ranged Remove From Play (via Bone Shaker) is a great tool to have. One of the prime targets for those abilities are units with Leader-only special abilities (like the Revenant Crew, Croe's Cutthroats or Black Ogrun Ironmongers).
    • If you RFP the Leader, it is not Field Promoted (you designate a new unit commander instead), so that unit will lose the Leader-only special rules forever.
  • As her only attack is a Magic Spell, she will remain Incorporeal all the time, unless your opponent has a way to remove it (like the Krielstone).

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2017.12 as part of the "12 Factions of Christmas"

Other Cryx Models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Apparition      (Edit)

  • If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
  • Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
    • If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.
    • The unit commander is always "In Formation" by definition, so can be placed where he likes.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Black Waters      (Edit)

  • This spell doesn't have a target, so it can't be stopped by anti-spell stuff that triggers on "target" (such as Arcane Vortex).
  • "Treat Open Terrain as..." (Edit)
    • This ability doesn't change the terrain type, just how models treat it. (In comparison to, say, Rapid Growth which creates a forest.)
    Because it doesn't change, models that get a benefit for being near terrain (ie the Earthborn Dire Troll) need to instead be inside the affected area to gain the benefit. If it's outside the area, then from its current point of view the area is open terrain.
    • If you have two overlapping effects like this (such as "treat open as rough" overlapping with "treat open as shallow water"), the area is treated as both terrain types.
    • If you then have a model that ignores one of the overlapping effects (such as Amphibious trying to treat shallow water as open terrain) they'll still suffer the effect they're not ignoring. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bone Shaker      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]

General

  • Several abilities start with the sentence "Take control of a model" then a full stop, then a bunch of stuff you can do with that model. You can't uncouple the first sentence from the rest of the "do stuff" sentence(s), in other words if you want to "do stuff" then you have to "Take control". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.

Attacks

  • Many "Take Control" abilities allow a basic melee attack. Some allow a basic attack. Gunfighters cannot make a ranged attack unless they're allowed the later.
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sigil of Power      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactician and/or Operations Command     (Edit)

  • Applying the LOS and Movement bonuses work like mirror opposites:
    • LOS: The models you draw LOS through do not need to be in the Tactician bubble. The model drawing LOS does need to be in the Tactician bubble.
    • Movement: The models you move through do need to be in the bubble. The model moving does not.
  • The "can ignore for LOS" is not optional. You cannot opt to "turn off" your ability to see through models, in the hope of getting a free strike or some such. (Infernal Ruling)