Ace

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Cygnar Logo.jpg Ace

Cygnar Character Light Warjack

Designed in secret by the Cygnaran Armory to carry out covert operations for the Cygnaran Reconnaissance Service, Ace was built as a one-of-a-kind prototype. The machine integrated an experimental mechanikal device intended to camouflage the warjack, rendering it almost invisible in the field. Though the original chassis of the ’jack was destroyed during an operation in Llael in 596 AR, Allister Caine was able to recover Ace’s cortex. Since the warjack’s reconstruction, Caine has relied on it during a number of CRS missions requiring an abundance of both discretion and firepower.

Basic Info

Ace
Missing Info
Ace WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 15
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 24
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 10
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Infiltrate - Once per game, Ace can gain stealth for one round. While its battlegroup controller is B2B with this model, that model also gains Stealth.
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.
  • Bond [Caine] - If this model begins the game in Caine's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Caine and in their control range, Ace gains 3 new Attack Types on its Rune Shot Cannon:.

Weapons

  • Battle Axe - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
  • Rune Shot Cannon - 14" range, POW 12 gun.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.06

Thoughts on Ace

Ace in a nutshell

He's a shooty light, normally only seen with one of the various Caines. Despite being built on the Hunter chassis, he's not an ARM-cracker. Instead he prefers to be go after key support models, generally solos, that lurk near jacks or behind units.

Besides being a solo hunter extraordinaire thanks to True Sight, Ace is good for clearing out small Stealth units from long range using Trick Shot. Ace is also handy for getting a reliable Shadow Fire onto a key model blocking Caine2's line of sight by virtue of using his Power Up focus to boost to hit - because if you're taking anything in Caine's army, chances are it's to help him kill the opponent's Warcaster or Warlock.

Combos & Synergies

As a rule of thumb, Ace is a very self-sufficient warjack with any version of Caine. It is usually satisfied with the power-up focus, and you will usually use it to boost the attack roll to land an important hit on key targets with Shadow Fire, or Trick Shot.

With Caine0
Caine0 has to bring a warjack, and Ace is an excellent choice with great synergy and relatively low cost. Ace lets Caine0 keep most of his focus for his own guns and helps keep him safe with Infiltrate. Together they're fast, independent, and efficient solo hunters.

With Caine1
Ace can allow Caine1 to be extremely aggressive with his feat, as you run both of them forwards first turn (declare Infiltrate before starting the run) to get Caine positioned for a deadly, or at least wickedly inconvenient, feat on turn 2 that his enemies can't ignore. Sure, Caine1 can be this aggressive all on his own but Ace can make it a safer and more appealing prospect to try and pull off.

With Caine2
Shadow Fire attack can help Caine get a clear view on a hiding warcaster. And it is also another source for Trick Shot beside Caine's guns.

With Caine3
Ace is a considerable point burden, with its 10 point he is only slightly cheaper than another Cyclone, a jack which is considered to make the most out of Caine3's feat. However, Caine has to play forward to reliably deliver Calamity, and occasionally the stealthy aura from Infiltrate is all he needs to be safe from retaliation. Watch out that it only cloaks Caine, and not the B13 members.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • 90% of its field performance is tied to shooting (apart from occasional infiltration bubbles, and running for scoring). Anti-shooting techs make him really sad.
  • The melee weapon is there for looks; if you're using it you're probably wishing you weren't.
  • The gun, and by extension the entire jack, is really only interesting if it's getting the sweet buffs from the Caine bond. Off-themes it is usually too expensive for what it does.

Tricks & Tips

  • The "Bounce-off" - if you can't see a certain squishy support model, aim at something you can see and then Trick Shot into your real target.
  • Trick-shot is great against lynchpin models with Sacrificial Pawn or Sucker! (like Kovnik Joe, or Madelyn). Because even if the initial shot has been re-assigned, the bouncing POW10 hit will get them. And the 4" radius of the Trick Shot surpasses the range limits of both abilities.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in Warmachine: Reckoning (2015).
  • Ace's first use by Caine is told in The Warcaster Chronicles: Volume One: The Way of Caine by Miles Holmes (April 30 2013)

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ace & Caine3    (Edit)

  • When Caine3 is taken in a Cygnar army, Ace can go in his battlegroup as per normal.
  • When Caine3 is taken in a non-Theme Mercenary army, Ace cannot go in his battlegroup because they're different factions.
  • When Caine3 is taken in a Theme Mercenary army, Ace can go in his battlegroup because of the special rules about Themes & Character jacks.
  • (Infernal Ruling for all of the above)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack     (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Infiltrate     (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth     (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight     (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond     (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attack Typeand/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
  • If your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (ie a Menoth warjack with Passage), you can first choose the correct Attack Type (ie Magical Damage vs Passage) and then that allows you to target it. The Attack Type selection and target declaration both occur at Step 1 (Refer Appendix A). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shadow Fire     (Edit)

  • Shadow Fire vs Roadblock (Edit)
    • If you use Shadow Fire vs a Roadblock model then the Roadblock will still grant cover to nearby models; even though you can "see right through it".
    • Because the rule for getting cover from an obstacle is simply: does a line pass between the attacker and target that goes over/through the obstacle? Is the target within 1" of the obstacle on that same line?
    • In other words, whether the obstacle actually blocks LOS or not isn't relevant.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thunderbolt     (Edit)

  • If you have multiple effects that resolve on "hit" (such as Thunderbolt & Electro Leap), then you get to choose the order.
    • Thus, you could trigger Electro Leap first (and bounce from their initial position), then move them via Thunderbolt.
    • Or trigger Thunderbolt first, move them, and then Electro Leap (and bounce from their final position).
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
  • RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Trick Shot     (Edit)

    • Trick Shot triggers at Step 8 of the attack sequence, after stuff like Shield Guard, so will bounce from the Shield Guard model not the original target.
    • Not considered an attack / Pure damage roll (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
      • Some attacks create a "secondary damage" roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap); while other abilities just tell you to make a "pure damage" roll without mentioning attacks at all (such as Vent Steam). In terms of interacting with 'attack triggers' (such as Vengeance) "secondary damage" and "pure damage" work the same.
      • When one attack triggers a secondary damage roll, the original attack and damage is definitely an attack and triggers stuff normally.
      • Secondary/pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
      • Secondary/pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
      • Secondary/pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
        1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
          • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
          • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
        2. It is a damage roll from a model so: